Adjusting My Focus

 

I have so much going on in my life right now, I just realized this week that I’m losing my focus!  With the two funerals last week (on the same day, no less!), wedding stuff to be done, and parents to be cared for, the fact that this Sunday is Resurrection Day has been way down on my list!  So yesterday I committed to putting my eyes back on Jesus, and really focusing on what this week in history means to me and to all of us as Believers.  That doesn’t mean I’ve canceled all other events in my life.  I’m just trying to use what time I can to think about Jesus’ death, burial, and resurrection.  It has been hard at times, but I believe He will help me, and I will be prepared for congregational worship this Sunday.

A few years ago, I went to the theater to see “The Passion of the Christ”.  Normally I don’t watch those things – I was raised by a man who has very definite ideas against people portraying God or Jesus, so some of that leaked out to me!  But I truly felt led to go see that movie at that time.  I needed a reminder of the horror of the Cross.  And God gave that to me through that movie – I was deeply convicted about my blase’ attitude toward Christ’s death. 

This year, the cares of my life have clouded the glory of Christ’s resurrection.  By “cares” I don’t necessarily mean bad/sad/hard things.  I just mean all the stuff that makes up my life right now.  So, rather than leading me to view a poignant movie, the Lord is leading me to “Be still, and know that He is God.”  I think this is much harder!  But I am trusting Him to get me there!

I will have lots to post about soon – bridal portraits, Little League, and beautiful granddaughters!  But today, I’m just going to Be Still…

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Adjusting My Focus

  1. suezzzque says:

    Sounds like a wonderful idea.

  2. i want the little facebook “like” button to be transferred to xanga. that way people who have nothing witty or helpful to comment, but would like to say “YES! AWESOME! ME TOO!” can just say:     *poking button*  “like!”hmm…maybe Pam needs a “like” button to carry with her everywhere. 🙂

  3. ABAHM says:

    Yes!! I have felt this too.  I am taking time to make a few sketches this week of Christ and the cross…resurrection too.  I do not have much time …so only 15-30 min sketches as I contemplate scripture.  But just what God is leading me to in meditating on HIM.  We are going to watch the passion with the Youth group this week…several have asked, as they were too young when it was released.  It is always impactful.  We prepared them by showing the Jesus film, as that is all the Gospel.  Also talked about how Jesus blood covers us….  Lord bless you this week…It is good to focus our eyes on Him!

  4. ALDOG1 says:

    First, your new background is absolutely beautiful!  You brought the obvious into focus.  We all get so many things on our mind that we let the most important thing of all slip into the crevices,  Easter, like so many things, has arrived so quickly this year for me.  And it is not even an early Easter.  I am just not well prepared for anything this year.  God has been so good to my family.  He deserves so much better than what I give Him.  I am going to try to slow my mind and think about Him and the greatest gift of all time.  I also saw Passion of the Christ.  I could never watch it again.  I probably should just to have it burned into my mind again but I could not bear it.  As I cried desperately all the way home that night, all I could think of was what our pastor had said the previous Sunday. that the movie could not even portray the beating as vividly as the reality had been.  That it would not have passed the censors.  After seeing the film, that truth was overwhelming.  We only glimpsed a bit of what Christ endured for us.  We are so blessed that he does not expect anything but our love and acceptance of Him.  There is no payment large enough.  Praise God that He loved us so much He gave His only begotten Son for us.I love you, Sister!

  5. I saw that movie, too. I have to say it was a great experience for me, but I never want to see it again! At least not for a very long time! It’s been however many years — it was still in theaters at the time — but I still remember so much of it. I could hardly bear to watch it. Any time I feel unloved or insecure, it helps to remember what He suffered for me. Loving someone to that degree… I think it’s beyond all human ability!Still I must say, thanks to that movie, I think I’ll never be able to shrug off what Christ did for me and all of humanity. There is something about having a visual of what he endured. It will change you. Countless people saw that movie and then said (I heard many of them), “I don’t believe it was that bad.” Well, I agree in a sense. I think it was worse, based on what I understand of the Bible. My pastor preached an excellent sermon tonight ending with much of the content featured in your blog — putting our focus on our Lord.I can only pray that God will instill in me an appropriate sense of gratitude for this season, not just this Easter, but every single one. For that matter, every day!Sorry this is so long. God bless!

  6. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – @PrincessOfSeptember – I’m not sure that I could ever watch it again, either – it was VERY hard!  But as we’ve all said, it really made an impact on me to get that visual of our Lord’s suffering – for me!!!

  7. pettybunch says:

    @ABAHM – Amazingly enough, I’ve never seen The Jesus Film.  We have a copy, but I’ve never taken the time to see it.  Perhaps I should…  I love your idea of the sketches.  It made me wish I could do the same.

  8. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – Pam doesn’t need a button – it pours out of her naturally!!  I really did train her differently – she’s even taken 2 speech classes!!

Leave a Reply

