Funeral-ed Out!

 

Today we have another funeral of a dear one to attend.  Sadness abounds!  I’m not real sure my emotions can handle much more ofthis!  Amy’s grandfather passed away earlier this week.  A very sad day.

Life is moving at lightning speed toward Pamela and Will’s wedding day.  We are getting programs ready, sending out Bridal Brunch & Rehearsal Dinner invitations, checking and re-checking our lists, and trying to stay calm in the midst!  I think if I were rich, I could be calm a lot easier – but since I’m not, it takes work to stay calm!  I have to say, though – our God has supplied every single need we have had, and has done so MIRACULOUSLY many times! 

Example:  Pamela has been sick (severely allergic to Houston, Texas) since she has been home from Pensacola.  We have only taken her to the doctor one time because now that she is out of school, she is no longer covered by our insurance.  Well, of course she has gotten worse and worse, until we finally had to make the hard decision to take her in to see her Otolaryngolist.  Well, let me re-phrase that – it is not hard to go see him, because we count him among our dear friends.  She has been going to this doctor since she was 11, and he has performed 5 major surgeries on her sinuses, plus innumerable office surgeries.  We know and love this man dearly, as he does us!  But we also knew that given his profession, it would cost several hundred dollars for Pamela to see him!  His office told us not to worry, we’d work something out, so we went in this past Tuesday.  I told him before he even sticks a scope in her nose – just know this is all coming out of our pockets!!! 

Well, to make an already long story shorter, this precious man told his beloved Pamela that these next few treatments were “on him”, because she had to be well for her wedding!  Seriously!  He did some office surgery, gave her medication, made an appointment to see her next week, and told her, “Now this isn’t your wedding gift – I’ve got something else for that!” 

I am always humbled when God gives us gifts such as this.  You may say that it is Pamela’s doctor giving the gift, but Dr. A would readily say that God is the Giver of all good gifts, and he is just a channel through which God works.  We indeed serve an awesome God.

We received the news this week that Nathanael and Emily have decided to move back to Minneapolis.  We’ve know it was a possibility, and at times have thought it was forthcoming, but now the decision has been made.  They are not sure of their timing, just that the move is imminent.  I can’t really talk about it yet without tears, but I am honestly blessed that Emily’s family will have the opportunity to enjoy them as we have for the past 3 years. 

Well, I need to finish my work on the Wedding Programs!  We are trying to get everything completed before we go to Florida for Pam and Will’s graduation on May 6th.  The wedding will be 3 days after we get back, so we want as much as possible done ahead of time!

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Funeral-ed Out!

  1. Wow, poor Pam! It sounds like she really goes through it with those sinus issues.I am sure you will miss Emily, Nate, and Ruly terribly, but hopefully their visits will be frequent. 🙂

  2. 😦 I wish it wasn’t so bittersweet. We’ve made such sold, deep relationships here, and it will be inexpressibly hard to drive away. The only thing that makes this whoooollllle families-living-1200-miles-apart thing okay is that we KNOW that God led us here, kept us here, and is now leading us there—and that He will orchestrate as many visits and vacations as possible!! 🙂 (Plus, we’re going to have moolah. So yeah. We can work something out. *wink*)

  3. Abbiegirl says:

       Mrs. Petty, I’m sorry that Emily and Nate’s moving here is so bittersweet for you, i can’t emagine what your going through, we have happily shared her with you for these last few year, im so glad you guys love her so much, im so glad God has blessed both of our family’s with my amazing sister, we are so happy she will be coming home again, we will be praying for you, and this hard time for your family.    I Love You,       Abigail

  4. Thank y’all so much for coming to Grandpa’s memorial service and for singing for us. It was beautiful! Time is flying at lighting speed isn’t it!!! April first was just yesterday right? I am praying that all of the wedding planning continues to come together. (I can remember going through all that just like it was yesterday.) It’s going to be such a WONDERFUL wedding…! I can’t wait! Nate and Em’s moving is so bittersweet… Like you said I am so happy for her and her family but we are going to miss them so much… : (

  5. suezzzque says:

    Wow! Sounds like quite the emotional rollercoaster in your neck of the woods. No wonder you haven’t had time to post much. Thinking of you in the coming weeks as you world changes yet again.

  6. ALDOG1 says:

    Bless your heart!  I would have my head in the oven.  Actually I would be sabataging both their vehicles, figuring out some way to kidnap Rue, something.  I know your pain, sweetie.  When Matt and Colleen moved to the Dallas area I nearly died and that was only four and a half hours away.  Then the greatest day was when they moved back home and lived in our subdivision.  They both missed Spring.  I don’t know any of the details so am wondering if Nate got transferred or was offered a better job.  I can’t imagine how they are going to more money living up there otherwise.  The cost of living is so much higher up there and good Lord, the cold!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  That baby was born a warm-blooded Texan.  I pray they will visit you real often.  I love you and feel so bad for you.B

  7. MegletTX says:

    Hey Mrs. Petty!  I don’t know if you guys are interested at all or not but I’ve been going to a chiropractor who has done amazing things for my allergies (although they aren’t as bad as poor Pamela has had!).  I don’t know if you guys have ever used one or not but we used to have one and didn’t realize there was a difference between those who are pain managers and those who actually help you keep your spine aligned so that nothing gets pinched and signals can flow freely through the nervous system.  If you are interested his website is http://www.abundantlifechiro.com/.  Everyone I know who has gone has had amazing results and my allergies have dramatically improved.  I usually have to take stuff when I go to my granny’s cabin and even so I’m still miserable–but this last time I didn’t take anything and only sneezed once or twice!!  And I’ve had ZERO allergies since the spring began here at home.  whoo hoo!! 

  8. ABAHM says:

    So sorry you have been through so much, and are grieving another loved one.  Keep going to the Lord for strength through this month. That was wonderful to hear of the Doctor’s goodness to Pamela!

  9. ALDOG1 says:

    Well, I just wrote sister woman about Nate and Em and she was as blown away as me.  Fortunately there is a max size for font in emails or she would have been limited to one word a line!  What she and I call email HOLLERING.  ha  Of, course her first thought was like mine, what about Ruly?   How were you going to stand it?  Us grandmas think alike.  We all know you are so much nicer than Motts and I but it would have taken me at least a month before I could have any generous thoughts about any family but mine.  And Motts’ favorite expression has always been, “Why couldn’t both my kids marry orphans?  Life would be so much simpler.”  Seriously, you have had to deal with more than any one should ever have to, especially this past year.  God bless Bill Petty.  He is at your side, holding your hand.  I love you both, Nina and Bill.

  10. @ALDOG1— I do hope you don’t mean to imply that we would make a decision such as this for the purpose of injuring or depriving our precious families! We have been in much prayer and consideration of the direction of our lives for a great deal of time, and have only begun the process at the clear direction of the Lord. We would never desire to “put our parents through” anything hurtful. Arulai will certainly be kept in as much contact as humanly possible with her set of Texas grandparents. She already has solid, from-birth relationships with them, and we are very grateful for that. We’ve always wished that our families could somehow live within a few miles of each other, but it simply isn’t possible. I’m sure my parents shared many of the same emotions when we felt the leading of the Lord down to Texas, but they used those emotions to build relationships with Mama and Dad, rather than to shut them out. It isn’t some kind of “who gets the grandbaby?” competition, and gratefully, both sets of her grandparents fully understand that.

  11. maryhurlbut says:

    Dear Abba, please bring your precious stillness and peace to my sister in Christ’s heart and mind. Help her find quiet moments to draw near to You and find comfort. Thank you for Your provision for dear Pamela’s health and wedding. In Jesus’ name. Amen

  12. pettybunch says:

    @broncomom – Thank you so much!!!  What a blessing you have been to me!

  13. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – Thanks, B.  God’s grace is truly sufficient – so much so that I am truly able to be okay about this.  The tears still come occasionally, as they probably always will, but I really am happy for Em’s family.  They have missed her so much, and don’t really know A.J. much at all.  It is there turn!  Bill says vacations will be wonderful!!!

  14. ALDOG1 says:

    @pettybunch – Sweetheart, you know I never would accuse you of not being the most generous person in the world.  Unfortunately Emily misread what I was saying to you.  You can understand something and accept it but it doesn’t mean the pain is not in your heart.  You are so sweet and as I said, much nicer than Martha and I.  But you also know that I was writing in the typical over the top way that Martha and I tend to write to you and each other and others who know how to take what we are saying.  We just are the goofies that we are.  Example:  When our friend’s husband cheated on her and they were divorcing, the group of us best friends would sit around with her and plan his murder.  Now we weren’t going to kill anyone but it sure was fun to laugh about arsenic and powered sugar doughnuts and such “fun” things as that.  And it was great pressure release for her in a terrible time in her life.  And when it was called for we could also be very serious and supportive.  But laughter can get you a long way.  I can just see you out there putting sugar in their gas tank. ha ha ha  JUST KIDDING, everybody! 

Leave a Reply

