Forced Rest


I knew this would happen.  My Mama has been telling me it would happen for weeks now.  Her most common advice to me is, “You’d better slow down – you’re gonna get sick!”  Well, I didn’t know how to slow down, and I did get sick.  Last Tuesday, something hit me like a ton of bricks.  At first I thought it was the flu, but the heavy duty aches and fever only lasted about 24 hours.  It did slow me down some, but I still sang at Mr. Andrews’ funeral Friday, helped Bill and Dannye Reigh with a wedding Saturday, and went to church yesterday.  Sunday night, though, I crashed, and I have been on “forced rest” these past two days.  After the funeral I lost my voice, and just found it last night.  It’s not 100%, but much better.  I probably have a sinus infection, and now a chest cold, but I do feel somewhat better, and hope to get back to real life tomorrow.  There is still so much to do!

Sunday was Pamela’s last shower before her wedding.  Our church gives beautiful showers for the young ladies, and Pam’s was no exception.  We try to design the showers to fit the bride’s personality, so the hostesses did Pamela’s in a summery beach theme.  I don’t have pictures yet, but it was sooooo cute!  They had set up a colorful beach umbrella at the front of the room with two “bag” chairs and a table of sorts.  Normally, the groom-to-be comes in after the devotional, but since Will is in Florida, Pamela’s maid of honor, Dannye, sat with her.  All the tables were set with picnic baskets, a beach towel as a table runner, little beach parasols, etc.  And everyone was encouraged to wear their flipflops!  We had so much fun!!

Our dear friend, Jennifer, brought the devotion.  She was one of the first young ladies from our church that our family had to privilege to see go through courtship and then marriage, and what a blessing that couple has been!  Jennifer was about 18 or 19 when we first came to NBBC.  She won my heart our first Sunday there as she befriended my very shy Dannye Reigh.  And what a beauty she is!!  I have always called her “My Most Beautiful Girl” – she is unbelievably gorgeous.  I mean one of those girls you see in magazines that you know is photoshopped and airbrushed to look that good, only Jennifer does in real life!  But the most wonderful thing about Jennifer is that her beauty is not only skin deep.  She is kind, gracious, and loves the Lord Jesus.  She has the greatest laugh, and you hear it often, for her heart is full of joy!  She and her hubby now have two little ones.  She is a wonderful wife and mother, so was the perfect one to give Pamela’s devotion.  She spoke on “The Joy of Marriage”, and you could see that she spoke from her heart, and she truly experiences joy in marriage.

Pamela received many wonderful gifts at this shower, as she has all of the previous showers.  She was excited to complete her tableware set, and she received towels, cookware, and picture frames.  We laughed as she opened 3 different clocks – and she already had one from a previous shower!  Someone asked me if she has a thing about clocks!  But I think Pamela was more excited about one gift than all the others – a dear friend gave them a Shop Vac!  Will had registered for it, and Pamela was so excited to call him to say he’d received a gift at this shower!  He was truly blessed!

Well, this is too long already.  I wish I had pictures, but don’t as yet.  I just got DSL internet at Mama’s, so hopefully will have more chances to upload pictures here and to our photo sites.  We’ll see!

God bless your day!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Forced Rest

  1. Awww, feel better soon. Man, everyone’s coming down with this junk. It’s no fun!That sounds like an awesome shower! I can’t wait to see the pictures.

  2. Abbiegirl says:

        I will be praying for you, i hope you feel better soon. We miss you guys, i’m glad the shower went well, any pictures coming? i hope you have a good day, and that you feel better soon.Love You!       abs

  3. ALDOG1 says:

    I am so sorry you got sick but I knew it was going to happen.  Now pay attention!  This always happens to you, doesn’t it?  You go and go and go until God sticks out his foot and trips you one more time.  I remember years ago when Matt fell from the tree what Chloe told him.  She said, “Matt, God keeps trying to get your attention and you just don’t listen so he has to try harder next time.”  Now the basis of the statement was slightly different but it still involved the way he was living his life and this is because of the way you are living your life.  You are not Superwoman.  You know you are not but you feel compelled to just try to do one more thing!  You will go further in the long run and get more done if you slow down your pace.  Remember the turtle?  Slow and steady won the race.  I am going to tell Bill to just go ahead and bully you!  You deserve a little loving bullying!  On a lighter note, the shower sounds absolutely delightful.  I know Pam loved every moment of it and how precious to share it with her sister since Will could not be there.  Pam is such a precious angel and she and Will are going to do great things with their lives.  I just know it.  She is so deserving of these “showers of blessings”.  I can’t wait to see pictures of this shower.  The idea for it is so creative.  It had to be beautiful.Love you.  Please rest and take care of yourself.

  4. suezzzque says:

    It wasn’t too long. I enjoyed reading every detail! I can just picture how cute the beach themed shower was. Can’t wait for pictures. Sorry your are sick. Resting doesn’t come natural, does it?

  5. the shower was so lovely! i think ruly especially was pretty thrilled to be included. :)i’m glad you’re resting—even if resting meant a lonnnnnng walk’n’talk with me! my couch is still yours to claim for the next couple of days. pam and i can definitely sort out the decorations while you put your feet up and kiss hyper-baby! 🙂 ((hugs)) love you, Mama!

  6. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – Bill must have felt your vibes – he told me this morning that I had to rest all day and go to bed early tonight.  No more late nights, he said!  I’ll admit that it’s been pretty easy to obey him today!

  7. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – A truly refreshing walk ‘n talk!!!  I feel much better this evening than I have in a week!

  8. ALDOG1 says:

    Way to go, Mr. Petty.  Now, Mrs. Petty, please learn from this.  The last thing you want is to be sick the week of the wedding.  Keep reminding yourself of this.  I love you!

  9. maryhurlbut says:

    Even we get older, mom is still always right! Hope your feel better now that you were forced to rest The shower sounds wonderful…bring on the pictures!

Leave a Reply

