Late Nights


I try to get to bed at a decent time, but let’s face it:  I’m a night owl.  I’ll admit to being an old and tired night owl, but a night owl just the same. 

Pamela and I worked all day on the programs for the wedding.  We had lots of trouble with the set up – I want to blame Microsoft Word – I think it’s possessed.  I’m not super adept with the program, though, so it may well be operator error!  We had a template, and on the computer the pages were beautiful – but they just would not print correctly!  ARGHHHHHH!  We worked on them for about 2 hours – Kakie even tried to help us.  She finally had a brilliant idea which fixed the problem; well, actually it just circumvented the problem.  But Pamela was more pleased with the final product than she had been with the first, so perhaps it was worth all that frustration.  We didn’t get them all assembled, but I stayed after the girls had to leave – first Kate, then Pamela – and got them all printed. 

I left the office around 10 p.m.  I really needed to go to Walmart & pick up some stuff for Dad and Mama, but decided I will go in the morning.  They don’t get up until close to noon (they’ve become night owls, too!) so I should have plenty of time to go get Dad’s bacon and eggs and stuff.  I’d like to get back before they get up, but we’ll see.

I am really looking forward to tomorrow.  It is the first weekend in I don’t know how long that we don’t have anything planned!  Oh, there will be plenty to do, I’m sure.  But no schedule, no outside responsibilities… I told Mama that I hope to stay here all day.  I may be needed over at our house, but perhaps not.

Emily and Arulai left for Minnesota this morning.  Em is helping give her sis Sarah, who is getting married in June, a wedding shower.  I know her family is excited to have them there, and I know the shower will be wonderful!  Emily has told me some of the incredible foods they are having – it will be fabulous!  She and A.J. won’t be home until just before we go to Florida for Pam and Will’s graduation. 

It’s crunch time in the wedding planning, and I’m getting a little nervous.  I have great people helping us, though, so I know it will be fine.  I will confirm plans with the caterer, the photographer, and main decorator (Dannye Reigh), this weekend.  I’ve already done the Florist.  Mike and Gen are doing the Rehearsal Dinner, so no worries about that.  Amy offered to help decorate for the rehearsal dinner, so that’s taken care of.  Bridal Brunch is planned and I’ve already received some RSVPs for it – I just sent the invitations out this week!  Musicians are practicing, Pastor’s secretary has prepared his notes… Sounds like it is coming together.  I might be able to talk myself into a calm night!

Speaking of which, I’d better get to bed.  I’m alone tonight – Bill is staying at the house.  It’s funny; Ginger wasn’t fit to be any kind of protection for months before she died – she’s been stone deaf for several years, and was going blind as well.  But I feel more vulnerable without her somehow.  Kinda strange…

I hope you all have a great weekend!

God bless your day!!


 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Late Nights

  1. ligsar says:

    I must contend- the food at the shower was so fabulous, I wanted to stay at the house all weekend to enjoy the leftovers.    And Emily was a delightful hostess!

  2. ALDOG1 says:

    I am still kicking myself for not bringing home a plate of the incredible food from Pam’s shower.  Karla offered me one and I was being “nice”. ha ha  I don’t think I even got to sample everything.  But what I did was wonderful.  Is your dsl set up yet?  I assume it is.  I am anxious to see pictures of the church shower.  Enjoy your weekend!

  3. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – Yes, the DSL is up, but I rarely have access to the pics, so I’m slow in getting them!

  4. I feel more vulnerable being alone without Micah than I do when it’s just he and I. Perhaps somehow I know deep down that my protective instincts when he is present are stronger than my self-preservation instincts when I am alone.It’s amazing how God made us!

  5. suezzzque says:

    Loving these long newsy posts! Makes me feel almost like we’ve been talking face to face.

  6. pettybunch says:

    @suezzzque – I keep hoping that one day I will get to meet you face to face – it may be in heaven, but I will love it whenever it is!!  I finally got internet at Mama’s, but don’t have continual access to photos yet, so I tend to use those “thousand words” that a photo represents!

  7. maryhurlbut says:

    Well a week passed since this post, hope all is going smoothly! When is the wedding date? I want to keep you all in prayer (((HUGS)))

  8. pettybunch says:

    @broncomom – We are traveling back from Florida (Pamela’s graduation) and the wedding is Saturday!  Thank you for your prayers.

Leave a Reply

