Graduations and Weddings

Well, we’re on our way home from Florida.  We’re almost to Texas, but the last leg of the journey is the longest.  Miles and Miles of Texas is no exaggeration!!!  And this drive through Louisiana is just about as long a distance as from the Texas border to our home.

Katie (Kakie) Watt is spending Wedding Week with us.  I am so glad she is here, but I told her I may need her presence more next week after Pamela is gone!!!  But what fun we have together, and the only thing that could make it better would be if Melody (Mo) were able to be here, too.  Both of them are just extensions of our family, and how we love being together.  So Kakie is taking this long, quick trip with us.

On the trip over to Florida we began making the cones for the rose petals.  We got about a third of the way done on that part of the trip.  We just finished them on the way back home.  They weren’t hard, and with the assembly line of one glu-er, one roller, 2 staplers, and one bowti-er, it went rather quickly.  I think they turned out rather nicely.  I know it’s nice to have them done!!

Our trip over was one long rainstorm.  It rained harder and harder the closer we got to Florida.  We arrived at the same time as Will’s family, and were able to check in to the same hotel.  The rain subsided before it got dark, which gave us hope for the rest of our time in Florida.  Our plan was for Dannye, Kakie, and I to go to the beach on Tuesday while Pamela and Will went to graduation dress rehearsal.  We sure hated to go without Pamela, but I think all of us needed the R&R. 

Tuesday wasn’t particularly sunny, but it wasn’t raining, so Bill took the three of us girls to the beach.  Dannye and Kakie even swam some, but I have particularly bad luck with jellyfish, so I stayed on the beach.  Well, I got my feet wet, but nothing more. 

There were these little purple jellyfish things washing up on the shore – many dead ones and some already dried up in the seaweed.  After looking them up on the computer, we’ve determined they were “By-the-wind-sailor Jellyfish.  I didn’t particularly care what they were – I wanted to avoid them!  We did find one that was inflated, and Mitchel put it in a crab hole.  I hope the crab won!

Tuesday evening was what PCC calls Commencement.  It was wonderful!  There was a fantastic string ensemble, and an amazing young woman performing a dramatic interpretation from “God’s Trombones:  Seven Negro Sermons in Verse” called “Go Down Death – A Funeral Sermon”.  Oh, my word, it was one of the most moving things I’ve ever heard!  She was fantastic.

There was a performance of a choral ensemble, and the top two competitors (from the Preaching Contest they hold each year at PCC) gave short sermons, which were both good. 

After the Commencement, Bill took us to Marble Slab Creamery.  Yummy!!

When we got back to the room, Dannye organized us to be ready to leave right after Convocation.  This morning was a little easier because of her forethought.

This morning (Wednesday) was wonderful.  Will and Pamela both received their degrees, and the ceremony was beautiful.  PCC had graduates from all 50 states, as well as many other countries and territories.  5 continents were represented on that stage.  It was amazing.  I would like to add photos, but I’m not sure when I can do it. 

Tomorrow, Dannye, Emily, Kakie, Mo, me, and several others are going to the church to decorate for the wedding.  There is a little complication – there will be someone installing stage lights in the sanctuary in the afternoon – but we can deal with it.  It just may take a little longer.

Well, Bill is falling asleep, so I guess I’d better drive for awhile!  We are almost to Houston, so this is the downhill slide. 

God bless your day!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Graduations and Weddings

  1. Abbiegirl says:

    Praying for your safe return… i hope you have a beautiful wedding this weekend, tell pam i say Congrats! what day are they getting married?love you!

  2. txaffamily says:

    What a special time!! I wish we could’ve been there for the wedding!! Please give them our best wishes

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Abbiegirl – Pam is getting married this Saturday.@txaffamily – Thank you, Rhonda!  I wish you all could be here, too.

  4. ABAHM says:

    Oh blessings on the rest of your week.  i will pray for you.  Look forward to hearing all about it!

  5. ALDOG1 says:

    Can’t wait to see you Saturday.  We are planning to get home Friday in plenty of time to see Adam’s final ball game.  If you didn’t hear about Tuesday’s game, they won in the final inning and are still undefeated!  Marty is hoping he can get all his brothers to be at the game.  It would be wonderful for Marty and for Adam.  Love you, Sis!

  6. I hope the wedding planning, decorating, finalities, etc. are all coming together with as little stress as possible! I am sure that’s a large hope to have for any wedding — it is a lot of stress — but hopefully there is as little as possible and it all goes off wonderfully. I can’t wait to see photos of this long-awaited day! 🙂

  7. maryhurlbut says:

    thanks for all the details…now I’m going to go look at all the pictures!above this post!!

Leave a Reply

