Back to Wedding Week…Rehearsal Dinner!

 Now that there is a short break in family celebrations (actually, there is no break since tomorrow is Bill and my 28th wedding anniversary, Tuesday is Daddy’s 89th birthday, followed by Dannye Reigh’s 25th birthday a week later, but we’ll pause for this anyway!) I will get back to my Wedding Week Report. 

 

As I said last time, the rehearsal began late, but we finished in record time!  Since Will’s folks live such a distance from Texas, they decided with Pam and Will to ask my brother-in-law, Mike, cater the Rehearsal Dinner at one of our local parks.  Pamela and Will wanted a relaxing afternoon of food, fun, and fellowship, and that’s what we had! 

Rehersal and dinner 300.jpg

Just arriving…

Rehersal and dinner 312.jpg

Special hugs for Pam’s “other Mom”, Terri (Mel & Kakie’s Mom, and my dear, dear friend!)

Rehersal and dinner 382.jpg

Lisa and Andrew

Rehersal and dinner 341.jpg
Volleyball is always a good idea!

Rehersal and dinner 334.jpg
Will’s brother Josh, Aunt Lori, and sister Jenni (Lisa and Andrew in the background)

 We were all in quite a hurry to get to the park, where Uncle Mike’s barbecue awaited us!  Traffic was horrendous, so most of us were late getting there, but the barbeque was A.MAZING! 

Rehersal and dinner 364.jpg

Mike (my brother in law) makes the best barbeque I’ve ever had, and he always tells us how it could be better – but we never think it can get any better!  He was so worried that having to keep it warm longer than hoped would cause it to be dry, but it was perfect!  He also cooked pinto beans on his pit at Pamela’s request. 

Rehersal and dinner 363.jpg

Gen (my wonderful sister) made the potato salad – in the words of our dearly departed Uncle Ken, “As only she can make it!”  She also made Pamela’s favorite dessert, what we call “Roast Rabbit”, which has nothing whatsoever to do with any rabbit other than Bugs Bunny, and my crazy brother’s tall tales to his son.  “Roast Rabbit” in our family means Pound Cake with Strawberries and Whipped Cream.  Long story – another post, maybe!

Rehersal and dinner 332.jpg

I can’t find my picture of Amy and Michael – must be on my home computer! – but we couldn’t have done the Rehearsal Dinner without them!  Michael always helps his Dad cook, and Amy did all the decorating, plus helped Gen (and vice versa, I’m sure).  I wish we had photos of the pavillion before all the guests arrived, but all the photographers were at the rehearsal!

Rehersal and dinner 304.jpg

Rehersal and dinner 373.jpg  

Bill asking the blessing…

Rehersal and dinner 383.jpg

Time to eat!!

Rehersal and dinner 386.jpg

Rehersal and dinner 416.jpg

Rehersal and dinner 485.jpg

Still best buds

Rehersal and dinner 440.jpg

My beautiful Grandbaby!!
Rehersal and dinner 445.jpg

    After we ate, and ate, and ate, we watched a slide show that Dannye put together for Pamela and Will, and they gave out gifts to their Bridal Party. 

Rehersal and dinner 463.jpg

Here’s one for the Flower Girl

Rehersal and dinner 466.jpg

It doesn’t take long for them to figure out what this is all about!

Rehersal and dinner 481.jpg

Mel and Kate, Pam and Dannye’s best friends for many years

Rehersal and dinner 513.jpg

A special gift for Emily – couldn’t have done it without her!

Rehersal and dinner 525.jpg

I’m not telling what was in that bag…

Rehersal and dinner 527.jpg

but she liked it!!!

Rehersal and dinner 575.jpg

Andrew got a gift – obviously tickled him to death!

Rehersal and dinner 578.jpg

Rehersal and dinner 529.jpg

Will gave his groomsmen pocket Bibles – the same type he uses in his soul-winning outings

Rehersal and dinner 544.jpg

Both the slideshow and the gift-giving were very poignant events, especially Will’s tribute to his Dad, who was also his Best Man.  I had been holding back tears all year, knowing that because of the emotions of this time, if I started crying, I might not stop for days.  But I had a hard time controlling myself when Will honored his father. 

Rehersal and dinner 548.jpg

 

Rehersal and dinner 554.jpg

We all chuckled at the “Super Giant Print” for his Dad instead of the pocket version!

Rehersal and dinner 570.jpg

My new son-in-law is quite a speaker/writer – made quite evident as he read his tribute to his Dad – and the love between Will and his Dad is very obvious !

Rehersal and dinner 564.jpg

 

Rehersal and dinner 594.jpg

Pam and Will also gave their parents a gift – a photo book of their growing relationship.  It is just beautiful!

 

  By this time of the week, I was absolutely exhausted.  I truly didn’t know how I was going to go back to the church Friday night to finish decorating.  We had really let this aspect of the wedding fall through the cracks after our original decorator had to back out on us.  We just didn’t have the time or mental energy to get help!  I’m really grateful for Jackie and Emily Dawn – they called and offered, and really wouldn’t let us forget them in our busyness!  But here it was Friday night, the night before the wedding, and the decorating was not finished! 

But my daughter-in-law came to my rescue!  After clearing it with her own hubby, she told Bill and I that we were in no uncertain terms to go back up to the church that night.  We were to go home with Pamela and spend her last night at home with her – and sleep!  I truly can’t tell you how good it felt to sleep all night!  After visiting with Pamela for a little while, we all went to bed (while Emily, Dannye, Melody, and Kakie worked at the church until after 1 a.m.) by 10:30!  And did I ever sleep!!!!!  I awoke the next morning more refreshed than I had been in over a week, and ready to face whatever challenges and emotions the day might hold.  And it did hold some challenges – but that will have to wait for the next installment.  I’m out of time!

 

God bless your day!!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back to Wedding Week…Rehearsal Dinner!

  1. I love these!! Yay for happy pictures, happy tears, and lots of good sleep. 🙂

  2. Bettyeboop says:

    When I read posts like this I get very sad that I am not at my home.  We do miss out on a lot.  I would have loved to be there to see you receive your photo book and cry.  And all the other stuff that went on that would have had me bawling, too.  I am a little wet eyed just from reading your post and looking at the photos.  And you throw in a couple of pictures of that precious baby and my heart just melts.  What an expressive little doll she is.  I am so glad you are journaling the entire experience.  Once you get it all posted, you should print each post and put them in a book.  I think Pam would love it.  I miss you very much, Sis!  Oh, meant to add, aren’t Jeanne and Amy just a match made in Heaven?

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I really thought about inviting you & Scooter to the rehearsal dinner, but was afraid it would be too much after you driving in from the River, then the wedding the next day.  You would have loved it, I know.  The Swems are such neat people, and so much fun.And, yes, Jeanne and Amy are a match made in heaven.  Michael tells them often how much alike they are!

  4. auntkarl says:

    Hey here’s another thing you can add to the list of celebrations KENNY TURNS THE BIG 20!!!!TOMORROW MAY 31ST..

  5. AuntGen says:

    @auntkarl – We even honored K.D. on Mamaw’s date board!  I hope he had a great 20th birthday. 

Leave a Reply

