28 years and counting!

As I mentioned briefly in my last post, Bill and I celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary yesterday, May 30th.  We have questioned our wedding date decision many times over the years – we rarely get to celebrate our anniversary in a big way, since we got married on Memorial Day, and any and everything else in our lives seems to happen on or around Memorial Day!  For years, our homeschool training conference went through Memorial weekend; then the Boothe side of our family decided to have their annual reunion Memorial weekend.  Bill has always greatly disliked crowds, so we don’t do any popular vacation things for our anniversary either.  And for the past few years, we have celebrated our anniversary by celebrating our children’s lives with them – Nathanael and Emily got married May 19, 2006; Arulai was born May 27, 2007; and Pamela and Will got married this year, May 9th – we haven’t actually recovered from that one yet!

This year, we spent our anniversary with our kids again – this time at the movies!  My husband doesn’t really like movies much – well, at least not when you have to pay nearly $10 to see it anyway!  And other than “The Passion of Christ”, Bill and I haven’t been to a movie together in more than 20 years!  But Dannye wanted him to see “Night at the Museum II” with her, and so we all (Dannye, Nathanael, and Emily, Bill and I) went together for the matinee showing.  The movie was hilarious, clean, and lots of fun!  Bill and Dannye laughed and laughed together, and the rest of us laughed at them as much as at the movie!

After the show, we all went to Red Lobster for an early dinner.  The food was really good, and the fellowship even better.  We had such a good time, and hated to go home.  Dan came home with Bill and I for a little while, though, which extended our visit a bit. 

bill and nina aniversery

Dannye Reigh2 (1204 x 800)

DSC_7227  

Even though we didn’t go on a trip, or spend days at a hotel, or do anything exotic, we had such a wonderful day!  Spending our anniversary with our children so much fun!  God has fully blessed our marriage in many ways!

I am forever grateful to our Heavenly Father for putting Bill Petty into my life, and for helping him love me more each day!  I can’t imagine living without him! 

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 28 years and counting!

  1. ABAHM says:

    Aww, so sweet.  I love the sound of your day…we would love the same kind of day! I love the pictures of you all, and especially you and Bill! Our Anniversary was this week too, May 27th, but with Nana’s passing we just had a few quiet moments of saying I love you.  Our days are difficult with Dad/Grandpa right now, looking to the Lord for what He desires in this.  

  2. pettybunch says:

    @ABAHM – I can only imagine how confused he must be.  The last couple of days have been hard for Mom and Dad, too, but we have no idea why.  They are both more confused than usual.I am praying for you during this time.  And so glad you took the time for those “I love you”s on your anniversary!

  3. suezzzque says:

    Happy anniversary!

  4. Many congrats to the two of you! Twenty-eight years is quite the marital feat — especially nowdays!Here’s hoping for twenty-eight more and still more after that!

  5. This is a little late! Happy Anniversary!!! What a fun day! The two of you are such a great example to us and so many others!

  6. Bettyeboop says:

    Ah, you are just a couple of pups!  Wait until the 50th is approaching, like us.  ha  Seriously, I have no doubt you will one day celebrate the most wonderful 50th anniversary with a phenominal celebration planned by your wonderful, loving children.  I plan to call Dad for his birthday around 1 tomorrow.  Is that a good time?

  7. Gallagators says:

    Happy Belated Anniversary! Sounds like a fun day! We were married July3rd of ’04, and I’m already questioning if it was a good day to get married on! It’s squished in-between my mom’s b’day, 4th of July and my hubby’s b’day 3 days later! At the time it seemed fun, but now it also seems BUSY!

  8. happy anniversary! it was so fun to celebrate with y’all. 🙂

  9. Bettyeboop says:

    Hey Sis, I did not realize I had turned off comments on my post.  You know me better than that. ha  I took a couple of days writing it and had made it private until I finished it.  In the process I must have unchecked comments or some other good like that.   I am glad you love my hubby and you know how I feel about yours.  I have always been so proud of how the entire Allen family loves my husband.  He might as well have Allen blood in his veins.  They accept him as such!  Please comment on my post whenver you have time.

Leave a Reply

