Happy Birthday, Dannye Reigh – & More!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DANNYE REIGH!!
You are a grace-gift to me – an undeserved blessing from our precious Lord!

Dannye by Sara.jpg

Now, about my day…

I used to love to watch/listen to Archie Campbell tell stories.  He was a regular on Hee Haw, a country/redneck weekly TV variety show my family never missed.  One of Archie’s skits was as a barber, where he would tell his stories to his “captive” audience, the client. 

 

Often he would begin a tale, and the client, usually Roy Clark, would comment, “Oh, that’s bad…”  To which Archie would reply, “No, that’s good!”, and then go on with the tale by telling what good happened from the bad.  Of course, each phase of the story would get a “That’s good” or “That’s bad” comment from Roy Clark, to which Archie would come back with the opposite and go on with that part of the story.

 

So here’s my “Bad –Good” story:

 

Yesterday evening, I reminded Bill that my current mode of transportation, my parents’ van, was running real hot on my way home from work.  This has been an on-going problem that we have just been babying along for a couple of weeks now.  He went to check it out, and after flushing the radiator, he discovered it has a pretty good-sized crack – water pouring rather than dripping out of it.  So, I had no transportation to work today.

 

“Oh, that’s bad!”

 

“No, that’s good!”

 

See, I had called my boss last night to ask if I needed to come in today since we aren’t busy right now, and he’s out on an inspection for the week, but I only got his voicemail.  I was hoping to hear from him before I got dressed & ready to go this morning, especially since Bill was going to go in late so he could get me to work.  And then I was going to have to find another way home, which was not going to be easy!

 

But Billy didn’t call me last night.  So Bill waited for me; I didn’t get to sleep in, and got ready for work. 

 

“That’s bad!”

 

“No, that’s good!”

 

Because even though I still had to get up, and Bill was late for work, we were going to be together for an extra couple of hours this morning!!

 

“Oh, that’s good.”

 

“No, that’s bad!”

 

Because now I had to figure out who could come get me from work to take me home!!  And I had really been looking forward to sleeping in!  And I needed to make a couple of stops on the way home, and now I would be at the mercy of someone else’s schedule!

 

Well, just as I was ready to get in Bill’s truck to go to work this morning, my boss called. He’d just gotten my message, and gave me the day off!  And I could have slept in!!!!!!!!!  I mean, I’m wide awake, dressed, hubby waiting for me, late for his own work day.  Arghhhhhh!

 

“Oh, that’s bad!”

 

“No, actually, that’s good!”

 

Because, after a quick phone call to my sweet sis, Gen, I got to jump in the truck anyway and am spending the entire day with Bill!!!!

 

And that’s the end of my story, because there is NEVER anything bad about that!!

 

THANKSGIVING!!!! 125.jpg   

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Happy Birthday, Dannye Reigh – & More!

  1. maryhurlbut says:

    That’s great! And I love the picture of you two!

  2. ABAHM says:

    Now that was a good ending!  Great pic of you two.  Happy Birthday to Dannye Reigh!

  3. That’s good! I love this post! So sweet… just like the two of you! 🙂

  4. AuntGen says:

    Happy Birthday to Dannye Reigh, Indeed!  And happy outing with your precious husband today as well.  Love, Gen

  5. Awwww. That’s awesome. Y’all have so much fun!!

  6. I’m glad it ended on a “that’s good!”

  7. Abbiegirl says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DANNYE REIGH!!!

  8. Bettyeboop says:

    First, I hope my niece had a wonderful birthday!  Give her my love.  Second, you two are so sappy.  ha  Such sweet sap.  That is the most beautiful picture I have ever seen of you all.  Wonderful picture!  I assume Dan took it.  Love you both bunches.

  9. auntkarl says:

    HAPPY HAPPY BDAY MY SWEEY NIECE!!!!

  10. wondering04 says:

    Oh, that’s good – a good story that is.Heather

Leave a Reply

