Routine Life


We are beginning to settle into a routine around here.  I go to work each morning (Monday – Friday), often run errands on the way home, begin supper preparations while watching the local news and Wheel of Fortune, then eat when the Astros begin their nightly games. 

HOU astros logo

We all go to bed happy when they win, grumpy when they lose or aren’t playing!

 

47b7cc07b3127cceb2c7a892e17700000036100BcNnDlszasX

I knew Dad would enjoy watching the games with me.  He can’t see everything going on – macular degeneration – and he can’t hear very well at all, but he gets a kick out of me yelling and carrying on.  He can see some of the plays, and usually asks me to verify what happened, and we have a good time.  If we’re behind, Dad and I eat a Popsicle to rally the team!  (I think we need to get one now – the Rangers just tied the game!)

 

47b7cc07b3127cceb2c7aa3fe1db00000036100BcNnDlszasX

The thing I didn’t expect during our nightly games is Mama’s enjoyment.  She really has a good time watching with us – and she doesn’t like bad umpire calls!!  She sometimes gets confused as to which team is which, and I have to tell her who is batting or pitching several times during the game, but we do have fun.  And Mama’s favorite player is Lance Berkman.  Every time he comes up to bat, she says, “Oh, I like him!” 

 

Mama has a pretty bad UTI again (possibly never got rid of the last one, who knows), and when the infection gets bad, her dementia gets much worse.  One issue with her watching these nightly games is that because of her dementia she now believes she KNOWS Lance Berkman.  She tells me often, “he is always nice to me when he sees me.”  Tonight she asked me how and when we met Lance.  I told her I didn’t know him, and didn’t know how she would ever have met him.  She finally said maybe she just dreamed it, which I thought was a good sign.  She got a shot and oral antibiotics yesterday, and seems to feel a little better today.

 

Well, back to our routine, after the game, I set up Dad’s TV in his room because he’s never ready to go to bed when I am.  In our early days here, Dad would ask me every night, “You’re not leaving me alone, are you?”  I think that was because of the hallucinations he was having.  Now, the hallucinations seem to be gone, and he seems to be getting more comfortable with our routine.  He even turned the news on tonight while I was over in my house.  I was impressed that he was interested (and courageous) enough to try it!

 

After Dad is settled in his room, I turn on the dishwasher, turn out the lights, and head to my house.  For those who don’t know, my parents’ house is a mobile home, and many years ago they brought in a second mobile home for my grandparents, and built a room to connect the two.  Bill and I live in “Nana’s House”.  It is slowly becoming our house, sort of.  Bill is often just done in the shower when I come in for the night, so I get ready for bed, he goes and gets us a Popsicle, and we watch “Hogan’s Heroes” while catching up in cyber space on our laptops!  Life is good!

 

Of course, every night isn’t easy, but for the most part things run very smoothly.  We are very blessed to have this opportunity to spend this time with my folks.  I’m thankful their health is not such that we can’t handle their care.

 

[Well, we lost in the bottom of the 10th inning – Shoot!]

 

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Routine Life

  1. ABAHM says:

    Oh, sweet stories…and yes, I sure can relate.  Your parents are cute!

  2. AuntGen says:

    And I was just getting used to having Lance as part of the family!   (Mom told me that she was sure she has seen him in the last year, but couldn’t remember where.)  I kinda have mixed feelings about y’all’s life here with Mom and Dad, but I am so thankful for your willingness to sacrifice your own lives for them.  It is such a picure of “losing your life for My sake”, as Jesus demands.  I am seeing so much good coming from your company and assistance to them.  They are showing some signs of progress, or at least less distress at regression(?)  God is so good to give us the opportunity to be with them during this time, and to let them not face these things alone!  Another picture that is being presented by Dad and Mom’s situation is the principle of sowing and reaping.  Their care for Nana and Papa is coming back to them sevenfold!  Love you, Gen

  3. The pictures of Mamaw & Granddad made me smile! Nate talks about learning baseball from Granddad all the time (yes, still!) and it’s fun to hear about how much he still enjoys it. Eat a popsicle for me! 🙂

  4. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I have to be careful about those popsicles – they are sugar-free/fat-free, almost calorie free (10, I think), and I could eat them all night!!  Then I get indigestion…..

  5. Bettyeboop says:

    Tell Nate Daddy taught me how to play baseball, too.  Since he didn’t have a son for the first eight years and I was the oldest, I was the “chosen” student.  Actually Michael was about 3 when I remember Dad and I practicing catching, throwing and batting.  If I did one of them incorrectly he would say “not like that; you’re throwing like a girl, or swinging like a girl”.  I would say, “Well, I am a girl, Dad” to his reply of “Doesnt mean you have to throw like one.  ha  I would have learned anything to have my dad spend time with me, one on one.  He discovered that even though I am right handed, I was a left handed picture.  And he took advantage of my ambidextrousness by teaching me to switch hit.  I loved those days.

  6. Bettyeboop says:

    I hope you all know that my brain meant left-handed pitcher, not picture as my fingers typed it!  DUH!!!!! 

Leave a Reply

