It’s Not Fair…


…to be sick when my emotions are already being stretched beyond what I thought were their limits!  I was at work Monday morning, sneezed a couple of times, and by the time I got home I was terribly ill with congestion and an awful sore throat!  Tuesday morning I awoke without a voice, and this morning the congestion has settled in my chest.  My family has been wonderful to take up the slack I’m leaving while in the sickbed.  Dave even came over this morning to fix Dad and Mom breakfast so I could stay in bed.  Gen will be here in a little while, and I am so thankful.

My precious son and daughter-in-law are officially moving.  Well, they sort of already have.  It was odd how quickly it seems to have happened, even though their original announcement to us was Easter.  I think we all got lulled into a false sense of security because nothing happened to further their move until last week.  Friday, Nathanael got word that he has a job waiting for him in Minneapolis.  He and Emily had set certain standards that had to be met to confirm their desire to move, and this job was over and above their mark. 

This Friday, Emily’s sister Sarah will be married, so Bo, Em, and Arulai went up for wedding week.  He will begin his job next week, then come home in about a month to move all their stuff.  I’m hoping for a week with Arulai and Emily (I heard rumors her mom might come, too!) while they pack up.  I think I can keep A.J. out of their way – what do you think?!

Nathanael left yesterday (Em had left Sunday).  It was really hard to let them go.  There are all kinds of thoughts and feelings going around in me, but I won’t write it down.  It wouldn’t serve any purpose.  I will say, as I have stated before, that I am truly thankful that we’ve had these three years with them, and that her family will now share the joys with them that we have had.  I picture Arulai playing with her Grandmommy in that special way they will develop.  I see her Granddaddy doing “Uppies” with her.  And I see Arulai surrounded by more cousins than she can imagine, having the time of her life!

Bill says vacations will be wonderful!  We will have Nathanael’s family in Minnesota, and in two years Will and Pam will be in Michigan.  Summers will find the Bill Petty’s invading the north!  It is beautiful in both their home states, especially in the summer!  Well, the early Fall might be nice, too!

This is probably more sappy than you wanted to read.  Sorry about that!  Change of subject:  while I’ve been sick, I finally updated our website!  The site link pettyphoto.com will eventually be developed – when time and money allow!  But for right now, that address is linked to our shutterfly site “Petty Family Photography.”  I’m still not finished adding all our recent photoshoots, but it’s getting close.  Probably my favorite shot of all is the one of Emily on the home page.  She is so beautiful!  Of course, my grandbaby is adorable, too!  You’ll see a few of her there, as well.  Most of my additions, though, were the weddings and senior shots we’ve done this spring.  Oh, and one great family shoot – a dad and his two kids.

I guess that’s all for now.  God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Not Fair…

  1. Bettyeboop says:

    Nina, I am so sorry you are sick.  Its all connected, you know.  Our bodies just work that way.  Please take good care of yourself and know in your heart how much I love you and am praying for you.  You are a good, good person, Charlie Brown!

  2. Aw, it really is insult to injury to heap sickness upon emotional aching! I know Emily, Nate, and that grandbaby will be sorely missed but hopefully there will be many, many visits and fun memories made in the northernlands together. 🙂 And Arulai will always have a special relationship with you because of all the time you spent together!

  3. ligsar says:

    I am just one of the many that will be looking forward to your Minnesota visits!!!  And I’m hoping to be able to help with the move if we can work it out too. 

  4. i cried from conroe to centerville. 😦 we miss you guys already!!

  5. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – What a blessing to see your picture pop up here!  I miss you so much – boy have I been sick.  I think I lost a week, haven’t been to work since Monday.  Was the wedding wonderful??!!  Post and tell us all about it!!!!!

  6. i just finished the post! there are a handful of pictures that i borrowed from Abbie and Ally, but that’s all i have so far. i’m really not sure that we will EVER feel rested again! it was a wonderful series of events, though. you would have loved the wedding!! mom and dad added to the necklace ceremony—they replaced her promise necklace (after they gave it to micah) with a string of pearls, representing beauty and value forming through trials and irritations! it was SO beautiful. now there’s the influx of emotion that none of us had time for before the wedding!! (what night is it tonight???? SOFTBALL. yaaay.)we miss you guys too! i’ll let you know when we have any developments as far as timing goes for the trip back. nate starts work tomorrow, and we still have company and events and farewells for the next five or six days. i don’t know much except when we’re eating next and how long i have to wait until i can drink another Spark! *wink* love you! hope you continue to feel better!!

Leave a Reply

