Back among the living!

 

After a very long week of illness, I think I am back among the living!!  This illness was really very strange in that it came on me so quickly.  Of course, it didn’t leave so quickly, but lingered on for days and days!  I still have a little congestion and cough, but I feel so much better that I think it will all be gone very soon.  I am hoping no one else in my family gets this virus, or whatever it was.  Several have suggested it was simply stress related, and perhaps so.  In that case, it was not contagious.  But Gen wasn’t feeling very well yesterday – not that she doesn’t have enough stress to push her right into the hospital, but her stress has acted out in a different way physically.  So, all that to say I hope she isn’t coming down with the junk I have/had.

 

I don’t think I have mentioned this, but I took the 90 day Summer Challenge the first of June of reading the Bible through by the end of the summer.  I am actually listening to the Bible in 90 days, since there is little time for me to read, and I have at least an hour of drive time every day in which to listen to the CDs. 

 

I got a couple of days behind on my first weekend, and was working on catching up when The Illness struck.  Now I am about 5 days behind.  I decided, though, that I am just going to keep going as though I am on track, perhaps gain a little ground if I can, but not worry about being behind.

 

Reading (listening) to the Bible in this kind of volume has been really wonderful!  (It is kind of like trying to drink from a fire hydrant!)  Although I have been a student of the Bible all my life (thanks to Godly parents who lead me on the path of righteousness from birth), I am hearing things I don’t remember having heard before.  I am also hearing the beautiful, familiar things; those stories I have known from childhood, which taught me the power, love, and wisdom of Almighty God.  What a blessing this has been!

 

Dannye, Emily, and Gen are also reading with me.  They have all given testimony to the blessings they are receiving from the Word.  As we share our thoughts and experiences with each other, I am blessed and convicted by turn.  Dan and Emily both said, at different times, that reading through Leviticus and Numbers was very trying, as the main thing they received from it was how thankful they are for the work of Christ that freed us from the Law.  I was so convicted upon hearing this, because as I was reading all this I was thinking 1) how faithless those stupid Israelites were to turn away from God so quickly; and 2) how much I fail in righteousness, and I need to do better!  Now, first of all, how can I point a finger at the Israelites when I am the MOST faithless of God’s children??!!  He has done great things in my life and in my family, yet I doubt His power at the first sign of trouble!  And second, Jesus fulfilled the Law so I don’t have to, and covers ME with HIS righteousness.  Why do I insult Him by trying to do what only HE could?  I really had to ask forgiveness, and ask for new ears to hear JESUS through all of this rather than WORKS.

 

I am currently in 2 Samuel, which is one of my favorite areas of Scripture.  I am often shocked at the gore involved in all of these kingdom takeovers, etc., but I love David’s faithfulness and love for the Lord.  Obviously I haven’t gotten to his fall, but even then, he comes quickly back to his Heavenly Father.  How I long to have his heart – “a man after God’s own heart.”

 

I will leave you with one of Bill’s sunrise captures.  The scripture says alot about my life right now – whether the sun is rising or setting in life, the name of the Lord shall be praised!!

Sunrise 2007 w Scripture.jpg

God bless your day!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Back among the living!

  1. Glad you are feeling better!  And that Scripture reading sounds like such a wonderful blessing – going through the Bible in a summer!  Wow!  May God bless you richly through it!

  2. pettybunch says:

    @piecedtreasures – You know you were my inspiration for this.  When I read your post about your summer reading, I loved the idea, but couldn’t decide what I wanted to do.  Then I heard a spot on our local Christian Radio about the 90 Day Summer Challenge, and I knew that was it!  So thanks for getting me started in this direction!

  3. ABAHM says:

    So neat to hear about your summer reading /listening program.  I am sure that going through so much will be a whole new blessing.  I have done the reading through in a year program and found that pretty full at times, but all is good.  Hope you gain strength and feel better soon. Sounds a lot like what David came down with. He was real sick but once he got better he just had a bit of cough for a short time.  

  4. So glad to hear you’re feeling better Aunt Nina!

  5. i’m glad you’re feeling better!! Ruly’s been asking for “nonnie-roowee” for every naptime and bedtime this week. 😦 poor baby. I’m stuck in Joshua, with the wedding weekend and everything, but I’m hoping to see Ruth and Samuel by the end of the week. they seem like such niiiice peeeople. 🙂 love you!!

  6. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – Just wait until you read of Samuel killing Agag – WOW!I’m ready to sing “Nonnie – Roowee” any time she’s ready to listen!!

  7. Bettyeboop says:

    So glad you feel better.  Why not send Roo a tape of you going through whatever you two do for naptime.  You can sing her song, tell her its naptime, etc.  I think she would love it and you could feel comfort that she was listening to your little naptime song.  When Allen was little he loved “Cuppy Cake, Gum Drop:, so I recorded it on my computer and sent it to him in an email. He freaked out the first time he heard it.  Where was Grammy?  He could hear me!  He asked to have it played very often for a while.

  8. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – What a great idea!  I’ll have to get one of those recordable cards and send to her!

  9. Bettyeboop says:

    That is a good idea.  She will enjoy opening and closing that card and hearing your voice.  Another idea is to record a number of books for her.  Then you send her the first book with the cd and maybe a new book every month or two.  They can play the cd for her while they help her look at the book.  As she gets older, they can even help her point at the words as she hears them.  I learned to read by listening to my Auntie Sis and Mom and Dadreading books to me.  Auntie Sis lived with us when she and Daddy both worked at Consolidated, building bombers.Hey, maybe now that you are living with them, while you all are doing your ballgame watching, you could get the rest of Dad’s history.  I wish I had just had you record it.  Then I could have taken the recordings and put everything together in chronilogical order.  We missed this newsletter but I sure would love to put it in the next one.

  10. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – Good Idea – A.J. loves to read!  I am trying to get back to putting that history together.  Pray that Dad will stay alert enough to get it finished.  We are going today to Red Lobster to take them to lunch for their 53rd anniversary – it was Sunday and I was too sick to do anything.  They want to do something, but neither one of them really want to “go” anywhere.  Love you!

  11. AuntGen says:

    I am really enjoying our Bible reading and am being blessed and convicted by turn.  I am overwhelmed with the fact that I see not only my own failures, but the failure and ultimated judgement of our nation in what I am reading.  It is by God’s great MERCY that we are not CONSUMED!!!   By the way, I am fine.  I think my congestion was the caustic cleaning fumes from Sunday afternoon.  I used to make tapes for my nursery babies so that they would be used to me and not be afraid to stay with me @ church.  It was a hit, too.  Love you and glad you are better.  Gen

Leave a Reply

