53 Years!

Dad and Mom 53 years! 002a.jpg
Sunday,June 28, was my parents 53rd Wedding Anniversary.  They never dreamed they would have this many years together as they were both older when they married.  Daddy was 36, and Mama was almost 28.  Daddy had been married before, hence my wonderful older siblings, but Mama was just a single lady having a great time until it was the right time for marriage.  I love to hear the story of their meeting – they each tell a little different version, both of them smiling that secret smile that lovers have together. 

I think one of the hardest things about Daddy and Mama’s aging has been their diminishing communication ability.  They used to talk about everything together.  They enjoyed many of the same things, and even as they aged there was still much to talk about.  Neither of them can keep up anymore, so it is rare to hear them actually converse.  I miss that so much!

Since I was sick and Dave worked on Sunday, we decided we would take them out for a late lunch yesterday.  Dave, Karla, Gen, and I took Dad and Mama to Red Lobster for their anniversary dinner, and we had such a good time.  Mama was a little lost, but she was a trooper and tried to enjoy herself.  Dad ate more than I’ve seen him eat in months!  And we had the same waitress that Bill and I had on our anniversary, Val.  She has been at our Red Lobster for many years, and is a good, sweet waitress.  She brought them dessert with candles, and had 2 of the other waitstaff join her in congratulating Dad and Mama.  It was really nice!

Happy Anniversary, Dad & Mama!!

***********************************************

I got to talk to Arulai yesterday!  She was so sweet, and jabbered my ear off.  Of course, I’m not sure of all she said, and she seemed particularly interested in telling me about her socks, but we also discussed Kelli, Amy, Annie, Grandmommy, Granddaddy, and Papa.  Then when the little girls came upstairs to see her, she quickly forgot Nonnie and went to play.  That was okay, though, because I got to talk with Emily for a good bit.  They really haven’t been able to adjust to the move yet, since they just finished such a busy time with Sarah’s wedding, and Nathanael just began his job this week.  Emily is still very tired.  It won’t be long, though, until they are settled in their own home, and having a blast!  I just asked them not to plan their trip back here to pick up their stuff during the time we are taking Pam and Will’s stuff to Florida for their move, please!  They both said of course they wouldn’t!!  Good Answer!!!

Better go.  The Astros play today at 2:00 rather than a night game, so I need to be home so Daddy and I can help them win!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 53 Years!

  1. ABAHM says:

    Congratulations to your parents…what a sweet picture!

  2. it was so good to talk with you yesterday! i’m under orders to rest as much as possible for the rest of the week (my internet is even being restricted, lol), so your good advice brought about some really, really good fruit! i’ll let you guys know as soon as we have an idea of the weekend we’ll be coming down—it’s still so unknown right now. give Papa a kiss from AJ, and if the bawk-bawks ask where she is, tell them that she wants a fowlish lullaby! (“Nonnie-Roowee? Papa-Roowee? Bawk-bawk Roowee?”) Hahahahaha. 🙂 Love you!

  3. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – You make me laugh!!!  I love you, too, and promise to relay the message to the bawk-bawks!!

  4. AuntGen says:

    The date with Mom and Daddy was so much fun, and I thought they really did well.  I am loving these times of taking them out and letting them have a change of scenery and giving them something to actually talk about!  Their world has become so very “small”.  What fun to listen to you and A.J. talking yesterday!   I am anxious to see her and her precious parents when they come for their moving visit.  (I am sure that the “bawk bawks” are anxious to see her, too.)

  5. AuntGen says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – Emily, I thank God for you and I love how you love my sister!   Love and miss you, Gen

  6. Happy anniversary to your parents! That is a wonderful number of years together. Hopefully Emily, Nate, and their girl can get settled quickly. Limbo + exhaustion is no fun!

  7. I’m so glad that y’all got to take them out for thier anniversary! Val is our favorite waitress! We have had her every time we have been there except for once. She’s great!

  8. Bettyeboop says:

    The picture of Dad and Chloe is precious.  Dad is as handsome as ever and Chloe looks lovely in that rich orchid color.  It makes me smile when I realize that they have been married a whole 3 years longer than me, Dad’s oldest daughter. ha  He was a regular cradle-robber, wasn’t he.  I am so glad you all got to have lunch together.  I know that was a very special outing for all of you.  Kiss them for me and give them my love.  I am so glad you got to talk to your baby..  Sounds like it was too much fun.  I love to hear babies jabber on, assuming that you can understand every word they are saying.  Sweet baby girl!

Leave a Reply

