To Party or Not to Party – that is the question!


Today is Independence Day, and I’m torn.  We have been invited to a party, one we’ve been to in the past.  This party is attended by many of our church family members, so there’s lots of food, fun, and fellowship going on!

 

What I’m torn about is that a day at home sounds soooo good!  I have a brisket to cook if we stay home, and Gen made a luscious coconut cream pie for dessert!  (Well, I can’t have any pie, since I’m dieting, but I also have a little watermelon that I am allowed to have!) 

 

I know Bill is torn – he has a new workshop here at Mama’s, and has been loving it!  He brought a bunch of stuff over here from our house, and doing what he does best – make something from a bunch of nothing!  He’s already finished one generator (it’s hurricane season here, you know) and has others to piece together as well.  On the other hand, there will be hundreds of photo ops at the party, including a fireworks display (if the burn ban hasn’t precluded that!)

 

I think Dannye Reigh may be torn, as well.  She always loves a good game of volleyball, and church fellowship is always sweet.  But we are having a 4th of July celebration at church on Sunday, and again, a day at home can sure be good, especially after a busy week! 

 

Our church calls this holiday “Dependence on God Day”.  We are reminded that we are nothing apart from God’s grace.  Often, our Children’s Choir gives a program, and there is always a lot of special, patriotic music during our services.  I’m not sure what we have in store for us this Sunday, but I know the Lord will be glorified.

 

So back to my decision – what to do, what to do?!?!

 

Well, I will let you know later what I decided!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to To Party or Not to Party – that is the question!

  1. I really think y’all should just stay home, rest, relax and spend some time together! Party with your church family on Sunday! That’s what we are doing and I’m really looking forward to it! : ) Love, Amy

  2. auntkarl says:

    STAY HOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. I vote stay home, too!! We’re headed to my grandma’s for some swimming and grilling later on, but we’re just resting and hanging out (and making cappuccinos, of course) until then. Hugs to all of you!! (PS> look for a pic of Ruly on your phone before lunchtime—my hilarious child is all decked out!)

  4. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I can’t wait to see it!!!  We did decide to stay home, and Kunk, Aunt K and the kids are coming over here.  Dave is usually not off for holidays, choosing instead to get holiday pay by working, But this holiday snuck up on him and he didn’t get his bid in on time, so we get him instead!  I glad we decided to stay home, I rarely get to see Karla anymore!  Should be a fun day!

  5. AuntGen says:

    @pettybunch – I am so glad you decided to stay and celebrated with D, K and family!  I know y’all will have fun and will have the chance to rest and enjoy each other.  Kiss my Mommy and Daddy for me and enjoy the pie!

  6. AuntGen says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – Any chance A.J.’s picture could come to Gen’s phone as well?

  7. suezzzque says:

    Everyone is napping but me. We’re having a BIG celebration out at the inlaw’s tonight. Expecting about 50-60 people. Just stopping by to wish you a blessed weekend celebrating the hard won freedoms in our land and thanking God for them!

  8. Yay for staying home! I need to see this picture of A.J. too! : )

  9. pettybunch says:

    @suezzzque – Thanks for stopping by – I’ve been missing you! 🙂  We did end up staying at home, and my brother and family came over.  A rather uneventful day, but a blessed one.  Hope your’s was, too!

  10. Bettyeboop says:

    I hope you all had a good, restful day.  Lola and I did.  The camp is full and Scooter was busy most of the day but she and I did not stick our heads out the door.  Well, she had to a couple of times but I didn’t. ha  This afternoon I gave her a bath and after I finished my shower, I brushed her and brushed her teeth and forced her heart worm pill down her throat.  ha  She can take that pill out of the middle of anything and spit it out when you are not looking so I just stick it in her throat and hold her shut until she swallows.  Not our favorite time. ha  What would I do without my sweet baby girl.  She loves to press her ear against my mouth while I sing quietly, “Mommy loves Lola; Lola loves Mommy.”  Pitiful, huh?  I hope your chruch service tomorrow is another wonderful Independence Celebration.  I’m sure it will be.  Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

