My Weekend


I felt a little like I was back in school when I typed the title to this post.  It made me think about those writing assignments you get in grade school! 

We had a good weekend, but I must have been somewhat out of sorts.  I felt a little down, or grumpy, or something.  Saturday, as my previous post comments indicated, we ended up staying home.  Kunk and his family (minus Kenny, who had to work) came over, and my Dannye Reigh also came.  We had brisket, buttered potatoes, corn on the cob, salad, and rolls for a late lunch, early supper.  Gen had made a coconut cream pie, and K brought a triple chocolate cake from Walmart.  I didn’t have any of the desserts, but they looked yummy, and everyone else seemed to enjoy them!!

Daddy and I were vexed that our Astros weren’t shown on TV, but they ended up losing so badly to the Giants, I was glad I didn’t have to watch it!  They had lost to the Giants the previous day when we did watch, and it was horrible!!  Thankfully they beat them on Sunday, and while that doesn’t completely redeem them, at least they saved face a little.

I had a fuss with my Mama Saturday night, which I rarely do, and that just about ruined my whole weekend!  She got ugly with me, and rather than just letting it go, I got ugly right back.  It kills me to do that – I was taught to honor and respect my parents, and that did neither!  I think that may be the hardest part of this phase of life we are in.  They need my help, they forget so much, and it is so much easier to patronize them than to find a way to leave them with the honor of elder. 

Mama forgot about it very shortly after she stormed (as well as she can with a walker) into her bedroom, but I had to go to bed with the weight of hurt and frustration all over me!  Before I went to bed I went in to give her her night time pills.  She was fine; I told her I loved her, and she told me.  It doesn’t do any good to bring the situation back up to ask her forgiveness because she had completely forgotten it almost immediately.  I try to “[Forget] those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things that are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3:13-14)  But it sure is hard sometimes!

Sunday, we were able to got to church for the entire day!  Most of you know that our church stays all day anyway, but yesterday we had our “Dependence on God” celebration, so there were more festivities than normal.  The Sunday School lesson was so good, convicting me to the quick.  So often, we want to blame the ills of our nation on the evil people within, but the Lord God doesn’t.  He says, “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”  Truly a convicting lesson, and I don’t know if this makes sense, but I am always blessed when God takes the time and trouble to convict me!

We had patriotic music and the reading of the Declaration of Independence for the afternoon service.  I was blessed by that, as well. 

The church provided hot dogs for the evening meal, and we all brought chips and desserts.  It was so hot outside, but I had the opportunity to eat in the fellowship hall with Dannye Reigh and our friend, Jennifer.  I have probably written about Jen in the past – perhaps many times – but I call her “My Most Beautiful Girl” because she is, both outwardly and inwardly!  She welcomed my family, and specifically my shy Dannye Reigh, into the church family from our very first visit.  She was only about 16 or 17 at the time, not outgoing by nature; but it seems to be her ministry to make folks welcome.  I got to be a part of that yesterday, as she welcomed a couple of young ladies into our fellowship at the table.  She is easy to talk to, and makes everyone feel so at ease.  She even got our Missy to talk to her, almost a miracle, during fittings for Pam’s wedding (Jennifer is our amazing seamstress)!  Jen was just another blessing God added to my day yesterday!

Bill and I have been leaving church a little early on Sundays so Daddy and Mama don’t have to be alone too long, but it was really hard to leave yesterday.  Dannye was playing volleyball, and I love to watch my kids play!  They also had children’s games going on, which is usually a big draw for Bill and his camera; but he wasn’t feeling well, so I tore myself away and came home.  Dad and I watched most of the Rangers game (the Astros had already played) but Dad couldn’t keep his eyes open, and I was worn out, so we went to bed before the game was over. 

For some reason I had a bit of a meltdown after I went to bed.  I had been really doing well in regard to my kids being up north, but I think having everyone a church express their love for them and missing them kind of brought it all back to the surface.  Emily’s dear friend at church, Steph, asked me if seeing her brought too much pain .  I told her that I’m okay, but the first time I see her hubby, Jared, who is Nathanael’s longtime dear friend, they would probably have to bury me!!  We had a good laugh together, which always helps.

I’m okay today, although perhaps a little melancholy.  Monday’s have always been my favorite day of the week, as it seems to be a time of starting fresh, as Anne of Green Gables says, “a new day with no mistakes in it yet!”  This week promises a full workweek, a 30% probability of rain, and very slightly cooler temperatures – that’s a good start!

I’d better get off here.  I need to get the latest report in the mail and get home.

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Weekend

  1. 😦 I’m sorry you had a tough weekend! Holidays aren’t supposed to be fraught with emotion and complication. I decided. 🙂

  2. AuntGen says:

    You don’t know how well you honor Mom and Daddy on a daily basis.  You always go out of your way to make them know that they are still a vital and important part of life every day.  From letting Mama help in the kitchen to asking Daddy questions about the ball game, players, etc., you are careful to include them and to treat them with the respect and honor that is theirs.  I know the frustration of trying to discuss issues with Mama and of trying to seek her forgiveness when we lapse into selfish or unkind responses to her behavior.  It isn’t that she is hesitant in any way to forgive.  She simply doesn’t remember your offense and is confused by the discussion. As for your melt-down and missing your children…I wish that I could fix it for you.  We have had this discussion and we both wish there was a way for both families to have the full benefit of their presence, but alas, it is just not possible.  I know that you genuinly rejoice in the Stranze family’s good fortune and that you are leaning heavily on the Everlasting Arms to carry you from visit to visit.

  3. ABAHM says:

    oh I so relate in every way.  Praying for you dear sister in the Lord.  We had a meltdown here today, and I felt some sadness over the weekend for the constraints and difficulties.  Grandpa for some reason got very frustrated and was very mean with David while I went out to the garden and to the store today.  He used very bad language and was ordering David around while he was trying to make him lunch, even took a swing at him.  I told him that was wrong and was NOT ok to act that way when David was loving him by serving him.  He has a hard time understanding so I know a lot is frustration, but he never does that to us, only to someone he sees as so young.  Ahhhh, made the whole afternoon feel so sad. I did tell him I loved him and prayed with him.  Then he appologized to me but only said “Peace” to David. It is so hard isn’t it?   Keep looking up to our good Lord, I know He will give us grace in our jobs as caretakers, as well as mommies missing our grown kids! 

  4. Abbiegirl says:

    Mrs Petty, I’m sorry your having such a hard time with Emily , Nate, and Roo being gone, i know what that’s like, i want you to know, i know your pain… and im sorry it’s so hard, im praying for you… mabye you guys could come up North this summer for a visit, it’s nice and hot here       love and prayers…Abs

  5. pettybunch says:

    @Abbiegirl – Thank you for your care and concern, Abs.  I am really doing fine – it was just a minor melt-down.  God is so good to lift me up and bless me immeasurably!@ABAHM – Jenny, you’re sympathy means so much, knowing you are right there in the trenches with me and my Sis.  I’m so sorry you’re precious FIL and David had a hard time.  It is so hard for our kids, even when they understand, it still hurts to see your beloved grandparents behaving in a way that, in their right minds, they would never behave.  Thank you for your prayers.  I am praying for your family, too. 

  6. Bettyeboop says:

    I love you, Sister, and all you have on your plate!  No one can understand a grandmother’s heart complelely but another grandmother.  Just do those special things that you can to stay fresh in her mind.  Have you gotten her the recordable card yet?  Don’t forget about sending her some books that you’re recorded your reading.  Also lots of pictures of you and Bill and the rest of the family, too.  You can make her a picture book, composed of people and places and animals down here that she loves.  Love you so much!

  7. Sounds like you have had a packed few days, physically and emotionally.  Don’t let the difficulties with your mom get you down – look at all you do for them and the many ways you show honor, respect, and love!

Leave a Reply

