Worries and Blessings

Edit

We took Mama to see her pain management doctor Tuesday because the last shots she got in her back don’t seem to have made a difference.  He did a couple of X-rays and has ordered an MRI just to see where we stand at this point.  

Today we got the results of the labs – NORMAL!  That’s great if you feel well, but kind of vexing if you feel lousy and nothing shows up!  We are now trying to get an appointment with a gastrointerologist.  Please continue to pray for wisdom for us.  We get frustrated with the system, but I know Mama’s doctors wish it were easier, too!  

Thanks!

********************************************************************************
We took Mama to see her doctor today.  She has been losing weight very rapidly the past couple of months, and we are more than a little concerned about her.  Just since her last visit last month she’s lost 15 lbs!  All told, she’s lost about 30 lbs. since the beginning of the year.  She thinks it’s a good thing – she’s always wanted to lose weight and not have to diet!  But Jeanne and I know it is not a good thing – we’re worried!  Dr. S doesn’t know right off what the deal is, but did a full lab panel and a chest X-ray.  He also ruled out a UTI, which is good news, as she had been fighting one for many months before this.  We will see what the labs tell us, and then possibly have upper/lower GIs done.  I hate the thought of that because she is so easily confused now.  Tomorrow, she goes to see her pain management doctor, who will hopefully have some kind of answer for her back pain.  If the Lord brings her to your mind, lift her up in prayer.  This is a very hard time for her.

Today I got to talk to Arulai!  She really talked to me this time.  Well, I’m not sure of all she said, but she seemed very sure, and was very excited about it.  She also sang me a song – in her quiet singing voice and in her loud singing voice!  It was absolutely the most precious thing!  Then she had me go through several verses of “Nonnie-Ruly”, which is our special bedtime song.  It was such a sweet blessing, and I didn’t even cry!!!  That is a major victory, if you ask me!

I am so thankful that Emily took the time to call.   After A.J. gets tired of the phone, she gives it to Emily and we get to talk.  Em and I love to talk, especially to each other!  There is much to talk about, too, with them house-hunting, trying to settle into their temporary situation, having fun with her family and friends, catching up on her loved ones here in Texas.  It seems like there’s never enough time, and Arulai, like every other child I’ve ever been acquainted with, uses Mommy’s phone time as a chance to explore the unknown, or the forbidden!!!  This time it was 3 flights of stairs and Diatomaceous Earth!  Boy, listening to Emily discover her goings-on brought back memories!  Jeanne used to say she hated talking to me on the phone unless my kids were in bed – I was forever being distracted!

I think I’ll head to bed.  Bill is still not home, so I won’t be going to sleep, but I am in the middle of the First Season of The Wild, Wild West, and need to see what James and Artemus have in store for me tonight!  If only I had a Popsicle!!!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Worries and Blessings

  1. ABAHM says:

    Praying for your mom…so hard to go through tests and waiting.  Grandpa has had bruising on his arms, he says, oh that is always there, but it was worse this week.  It is so hard to get him to the doctor, sometimes Nana would get him all the way there and he would refuse to go in!  You made me smile at the end…hope you enjoy your Wild wild west shows!!  Oh, Love the green and yellow.  David’s bedroom as a baby was green, yellow, and red…reminds me of that…it had sunflowers, cows, fields, red gingham.

  2. Praying right now for your mother, for wisdom for the doctors, and for you as you take care of her and minister to her.  

  3. Aw, I hope they find out what is going on with your Mama in short order so that it can be remedied.It’s fun to talk to little ones on the phone. They can go from lots to say to disinterest in the phone in a millisecond. LOL. It sounds like A.J. likes to chatter with her Nonnie. 🙂

  4. pettybunch says:

    @PrincessOfSeptember – It is so good to hear from you – I’ve been missing your posts and comments!

  5. @pettybunch – Thanks! I have hardly been online other than to use it to watch favorite tv shows while curled up on the loveseat. I am having some better days, thankfully. It’s too soon to know if it’s marked improvement or just a little break. Either way, I’m thankful for the gift of functionality, even if it’s not total wellness!

  6. Haha. I wish you could have seen Arulai’s faces while she was talking to you! She was truly having a real conversation—gesturing wildly, pointing, raising her eyebrows. It was way too amusing. 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to talk with me for so long! I miss you so much, but we don’t need to dwell on that. (noidonotknowwhatdenialmeanshush.) Love you!

  7. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – “I’ll think about it tomorrow!”

  8. Bettyeboop says:

    Poor Chloe.  I know from sad experience there is only so much they can do for her back.  Is it her lower back?  You know, an ice pack every afternoon should give her some relief.  It really reduces the swelling and then things are being pressed on so much.  I would love a tiny dose of her weight loss w/o dieting.  One can only dream.Man, we used to love the Wild, Wild West, back in the day.  Pretty campy but lots of fun.  Better go see what my two teenage girls are doing.  Its gotten very quiet in there. ha  They came up from the river just dripping wet and I have to see where they put those sopping wet clothes.I plan to write you an email tomorrow concerning the precious email I received from you today.

  9. Glad mammaw got to go to the doctor and praying we get the results soon! I miss Wild, Wild West SO much! Growing up it was one of our favorite shows! We used to watch every time we went to my great grandma’s house! I was really little when she was alive but I still remember watching it with her!

Leave a Reply

