A Special Day!

Twenty-six years ago, I began praying something similar to the words of this song by Wayne Watson:

Somewhere in the world today
A little girl will go out to play
All dressed up in mama’s clothes
At least the way that I suppose it goes
Somewhere in the world tonight
Before she reaches to turn out the light
She’ll be prayin’ from a tender heart
A simple prayer that’s a work of art

And I don’t even know her name
But I’m prayin’ for her just the same
That the Lord will write His name upon her heart
Cause somewhere in the course of this life 
My little boy will need a godly wife
So hold on to Jesus, baby, wherever you are

Somewhere in the world out there
That little girl’s learnin’ how to care
She’s pickin’ up her mama’s charms
Or maybe, swingin’ around in her daddy’s arms
Somewhere in the world to be
Though the future’s not real clear to me
Theirs could be a tender love
Grounded in eternal love above

 

And I don’t even know her name
But I’m prayin’ for her just the same
That the Lord will write His name upon her heart
Cause somewhere in the course of this life 
My little boy will need a godly wife
So hold on to Jesus, baby, wherever you are.

 

Those prayers were answered, before I even knew it, twenty four years ago today!

 

Happy Birthday, Emily –

Daughter of my heart!

DSC_7227

Love you!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Special Day!

  1. *sniffles* Thanks, Mama. You’re precious. I love you!!

  2. Abbiegirl says:

     wow, you even have ME crying… that is beautiful…

  3. chix0rgirl says:

    Aw, that’s so sweet!! Love it.

  4. ABAHM says:

    OK, I am all teary eyed!  Beautiful! Happy Birthday to Emily!!

  5. jeroland says:

    What special words Mrs. Petty… they blessed my heart!

  6. suezzzque says:

    I listened to that song too. How awesome to share it last fall with my son’s fiance. God is good!

Leave a Reply

