Just trying to win this game!!!!!


I’ve told you how Daddy and I watch the Astros play every evening.  Well, last night was an unbelievable disappointment as we hung with them late – through 13 innings – only to see the Cubs’ Soriano hit a grand slam to win the game.  I don’t blame Chris Sampson, one of my favorite relievers.  I am thinking perhaps the game should have been managed differently, but I am even more certain that they don’t pay me the big coaching bucks for a reason!

Tonight, we are having another emotionally difficult game (do you wonder about a woman who gets this wrapped up in a GAME?!), but as I was writing the first paragraph of this post, we scored 3 more runs, making the score Astros 10, Cubs 6.  The emo part of the game began when Roy Oswalt, our pitching Ace, suffered an injury in the second inning!  We’ve had ups and downs ever since!!  We need to win this game, though!!

When I watch games like this, I miss Nathanael more than ever!  Something totally fun happens, and my first reaction is to call Bo.  When I get mad at the Umpire, I know who will sympathize with me.  And if I don’t understand some play, or the official scorer’s decision, Bo always straightens me out.  But for some reason, they don’t show the Astros in Minneapolis!   So I have to figure this out all by myself! 

Now to change the subject…..

I got on Bill’s laptop to play around while watching the game, and I found a couple of pictures I hadn’t seen before.  The first is from our Pastor’s anniversary at our church.  I just love this pic of Dannye Reigh with A.J.

Random skate park sunrise generator 015a
Aren’t they beautiful?!

These next photos are some that Bill took at my request.  I had a project in mind, but what I saw in my brain was so hard to make anyone understand, I’m not sure I can use them for what I wanted.  But the pictures are so beautiful, I wanted to show you!

Random skate park sunrise generator 255a
This is a cow pasture near our home that just burst forth with Texas Bluebells!
Random skate park sunrise generator 259a
They are some of the most beautiful wild flowers I’ve ever seen.  The blooms are about 3 inches across on plants about 1 – 2 feet tall. 

Random skate park sunrise generator 261a
They are just unbelievably beautiful.

Well, we did it – we won the game!  Final score: Astros 11, Cubs 6.  What a game!

Thanks for sharing the evening with me.

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Just trying to win this game!!!!!

  1. Awe.. what a great post! I’m not that into bassball but I’m so glad the Astros won! Love, love the picture of Dan and A.J. They are BEAUTIFUL!

  2. Bettyeboop says:

    Yay for Astros!  Dan and Ruly are absolutely beautiful.  Love the coy look on Ruly’s face.  I will never be able to call that beautiful girl A.J.  That is such a boy’s name.  (Plus first step father’s name!!)  I feel so stupid that I don’t know about Texas Blue Bells.  I have read yall’s posts before when you talked about them.  How could I have been born in Texas and not know about them.  That field of them is breath-taking.

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I read that the Texas Bluebells are much more rare than other Texas wildflowers, and becoming more rare still.  We have always had them around here, specifically near the dairy where we used to live.  That field was so much more breathtaking in person – it almost glowed purple!  Really indescribable!I only call her A.J. some of the time.  I much prefer Arulai, but Jeanne began calling her A.J., and Nathanael just loves it!  That’s just about all he calls her.  Emily calls her Arulai much of the time, too.  Then, Ruly is used by most of the rest of her loved ones. 

  4. Bettyeboop says:

    Yes, Arulai is such a beautiful name.  Being an Allen, I know we all have to use nicknames.  Its a compulsion. ha  Poor Lola never knows if she’s going to be Lola, Lolly, Lowly, Monkey or Lucy.  But she knows by the tone of my voice if she’s been good or bad!  ha  By the way, my baby is so smart she can bring me her Lamby, Kitty, Snoopy or Baby, depending on which one I tell her to bring.  She will root around in her basket until she gets the right one.  Brilliant!  ha ha

  5. Arulai saw that picture and hollered, “NEEE-NEEE!!! An’ ARRR-LAAI!!! YAAAAYYYY!” It was absolutely precious.We’ve been keeping track of the Astros even from up here—I’m sure this is shocking, knowing your son, haha—and believe me, you’re not the only one who gets all emo with the game’s unfolding. Ohmyword. Nathanael is definitely your son. :)Love and miss you!

  6. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – And sad to say, they lost yesterday 12 – 0!!!  And I love and miss you too – so much!

  7. AuntGen says:

    @Bettyeboop -Several of our little ones at one point or another have been called by their initials by their Gen.  I called Kenny “K.D.,” and still do sometimes, and Pamela is still “Peekers” (P.K.) to me.  I began calling Arulai “A.J.” before she was born, and I guess because her daddy liked it, it just stuck.  I really love the picture of her with her Nee Nee, too. 

  8. Bettyeboop says:

    I knew you were the first one I read who called her A.J.  I still don’t like it. ha ha  I’m not even crazy about guys being called by their initials.  I’m too nosy.  I want to know what those initials stand for. ha  The picture of her and Dan is precious indeed. 

  9. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – You’re too funny, B!  I never thought about not knowing what the initials stood for!

  10. AuntGen says:

    @pettybunch – There’s this annoying episode of M*A*S*H where Hawkeye is hounding B.J. to reveal the name behind his initials.  He is Quite offended and doesn’t believe for a minute B.J.’s explanation that he is named for his mother “Bea” and his father, “Jay”.  Evidently our “B” is like Hawkeye!

  11. pettybunch says:

    @AuntGen – I thought of that very thing!!!

Leave a Reply

