Two Lovely Days!


I have been blessed!  Yesterday, Dannye Reigh and I spent the whole afternoon together.  She met me in town after my workday, and we did my 2 short errands, then went to Olive Garden for lunch.  We both love the cheese ravioli there, although she likes maranara sauce and I like meat sauce on mine.  We also both agree that while O.G.’s breadsticks are yummy, Fazoli’s are better!  But no one beats Olive Garden’s salad!

After lunch, we shopped ’til I dropped!  We had several purposes for our shopping:  My class reunion is tomorrow night, and I wanted some jewelry to go with my outfit; tomorrow afternoon is a bridal shower for a dear friend of the kids’; yesterday was Michael’s birthday; next week is Ruge’s birthday & Dan is babysitting him that day; and next Saturday is a baby shower for another dear friend of our family.  Not only did we have a fun time shopping for all these goodies; we found most things easily, and some were on sale!!  God is good!

I didn’t find any jewelry I wanted, but everything else was fairly easy.  I’m not nervous about the reunion – we see many of my school mates occasionally to often around our area.  And although I wasn’t in the super popular set, I felt and still feel well liked by these folks.  They also love my hubby, possibly even more than they do me!   Bill didn’t go to school here, but owned a business in our small town, and has gone to church with many of these folks in the 23 years we’ve been married.  I’m really excited to see everyone.  We’re doing a dinner cruise, which I’ve never done, and some of our classmates who had a band back then, and are still together, will be playing!  They were good back then – I can’t wait to hear them again.  Good times!

My second lovely day was today.  Bill invited me to go to Austin with him, then swing by and visit my sister in New Braunfels.  We left this morning at 4:30, and got to Austin a little after 7.  The company Bill works for was crane – lifting a huge “thing” up onto the top of a multi-story building, and Bill was there to take pictures of it.  It was really cool, and my sweet hubby had a great time! 

St
Here is the crane, and that little housetop looking thing is what had to be lifted.

St
This is me in Bill’s pickup atop a neighboring parking garage.

St  
Hooking up the “thing”

St
 And up it goes!  See the audience on the top of the building?

St
Clearing the peak…

St
 moving into place…

St
 getting it just right…

St
 And there it is! 

St
Here is our State Capitol (pink granite building to the left).  Bill tried to catch the sun shining on it, but sunshine was rare this morning, and he ws really kept busy with the lift photos.

 

After the “thing” was safely in it’s place, we grabbed some lunch and headed to New Braunfels to see Bettye and Scooter.  We had quite a gab-fest, occasional having to say, “It’s my turn to talk!”  I wasn’t ready to leave, but needed to get back home to Dad and Mama.  Gen and Dannye did a little shift work to care for them during the day so I could have my day out.  I am so thankful for them!!  And we did have a wonderful day together.  We’re both exhausted, but I had to stay up with Dad and the Astros tonight.  I was hoping that one Popsicle would be enough to get a win, but alas, it wasn’t.  We had it until the bottom of the 8th, but lost again!  Vexing!!

Not even the Astros’ loss can damper my wonderful two days with my precious ones.  How gracious God is to give us these times of refreshing!

God bless your day!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Two Lovely Days!

  1. Sounds like you had a great day!  Hope you have fun at the reunion, and I can’t wait to hear how the dinner cruise goes for you all!

  2. Awe… What an awesome two days! God so loves to bless us! : ) Can’t wait to hear how the dinner cruise goes! It sounds like so much fun!

  3. AuntGen says:

    So glad you had such a great couple of days!! I want to hear all the details about the reunion! 

  4. Bettyeboop says:

    You did not mention the dinner cruise!  What fun!  Hope it is cool enough.  I sure enjoyed our visit yesterday.  I don’t get to talk enough with just Scooter here.  ha  He avoids me for some reason.  Duh!  Mr. Gab!  Tell Bill that Kenny W and I are now Facebook friends and I looked at all his photos.  I wish he had captions.  I am sure I know some of those people.  Ask Bill if Kenny or Allen is the oldest.

  5. auntkarl says:

    Nina I think you are losing your mind hun. Tommorrow is my Annver. 21 years of marriage to Dave.. If you have only been marrried to Bill for 23 years how come Nate is 27 and Dan is 25…? Explain that………… If am correct you have been married for at least 28 years. you have lost 5 years some where….maybe the first 5 was to blurry to remember? lol

  6. pettybunch says:

    @auntkarl – I got my marriage number wrong, but you got Nathanael’s age wrong!  Yep, we’ve been married 28 years, and Nathanael is only 26, not 27.  I wonder which 5 years are blurry?  Maybe the ones when I had 3 babies less than 3 years apart!!  lol, I have lost my mind!

  7. @pettybunch – but you’re super cute, so you’re allowed a little mind-losing! 🙂

  8. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I don’t know how cute I am, but if I am cute at all it might help folks put up with my “mind-losing”!

  9. Olive Garden and shopping. Perfectly awesome and awesomely perfect. 🙂

  10. Bettyeboop says:

    You are totally cute!  I can so relate to blur!  I had my four boys in 5 1/2 years and there was a 3 year gap between the first two and the second two.  Whoa!  That’s enough to blur several minds.  Just call me Loopy!  Do you have the information  on your computer that you gleaned from Dad about his life?  If you do, I would love for you to send it to me.  I would like to see what I can add or fill in.  I was filing some stuff in my expanding box yesterday and ended up reading the 2007 Newsletter again.  The one with Uncle Harold’s bio in it.  I would love to get something done about Dad’s.  The main things I would like to know are the years he worked for the post office and for Consolidated.  Love you!

  11. ABAHM says:

    So glad you had TWO awesome days out…they sound fun.  I will have to catch up on other posts.  Blessings! Jenny

Leave a Reply

