Nothing Exciting, but…

it’s a good life! 

My sis and I have been Xanga-ing today about our boring lives, and I told her that I have lots going on, just nothing noteworthy.  Then, I decided that even though I had nothing big to write about, I should still say something!

Last post I mentioned going on a dinner cruise for my high school reunion.  Bill told me I can’t post pictures until he goes through them, and I’m still waiting!  He has been swamped at work, so I’m not fussing.  We did have a great time, though.  I saw friends I haven’t seen for many, many years.  I wish I could have really talked to some of these friends, but being on a cruise boat with a rock band isn’t really condusive for conversation.  Bill and I visited with one of my most treasured friends on one of the decks for quite a while – until they called us for dinner.  I’m going to try to put up pics and more description of our cruise, but suffice it to say Bill and I had a really good evening.

On the home front, Dad and Mama are never the same two days in a row – or two minutes in a row sometimes.  Mama was feeling poorly last week, but in many ways is better this week.  She is having a harder and harder time finding the words she wants to say.  For awhile, we could help her – fill in the words.  Nowadays, she can’t get out enough information to enable us to help her.  She gets so frustrated.  She seems to be more in a dream world, trying to tell us things that didn’t actually happen, or aren’t real, but I’m not completely sure of that because I may not be reading her faulty speech correctly!

We took Mama to the doctor on Tuesday, but she was feeling alot better (physically), so Dr. S basically just got an update.  He was so sweet about it, though, telling us he likes to know what is going on with them.  Part of our most recent issues is that Mama’s pain doctor is out on medical emergency, just after he did  an MRI of her back looking for some answers for her severe pain.  Now we’re not sure what to do, but her pain is a little better right now.  Dr. S. gave us some options if her pain level increases again, which is good to know.

Daddy has been doing very well of late, but last week he developed what we fondly call his “pain in the butt” (and it’s not me!).  We don’t as yet know what the problem is, but we think it’s possibly a pinched nerve or sciatica.  He seems pretty miserable.  He even went to bed tonight before the game was over because he was so uncomfortable sitting up. 

We had an appointment with the VA clinic Thursday.  Daddy has to go at least annually to keep his benefits – a big plus is free prescriptions!  We really like his VA doctor, but only use him for these check-ups because if Dad has to go to the hospital, the closest VA hospital is WAY too far from home.  The VA doctor didn’t really address the pain problem other than to suggest it was sciatica and for Dad to take Tylenol Arthritis.  I’m thinking we need to go see Dr. S next week!

Today we went to a baby shower for a dear friend of our family.  There will be pictures of that later, too, but Dannye hasn’t given them to me!  Such a lovely shower, lots of sweet friends.  I love all these showers for my kids friends.  It is so much fun to see them all growing up, marrying, having babies, etc. 

Well, Dan has gone home, Dad and Mama have gone to bed, and I need to iron clothes for church tomorrow.  I had hoped to have different plans tomorrow, but it didn’t work out, so I need to go get everything ready, and try not to be sad!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Nothing Exciting, but…

  1. Bettyeboop says:

    I’m so glad you wrote something.  And I loved reading it.  I always like to hear what is happening on the home front.  I signed on as Tabitha’s sister’s friend on Facebook today so I could see the pictures she took on their family reunion vacation.  The pictures were really fun to look at, especially the ones that had my boys in them.  There were not a whole lot that they were in but several.  They are so cute.  There was a picture of Tab with her two siblings, her two adopted sibs, her mom and Allen.  Allen towered over all of them.  ha  I hope Dad gets some relief from his “pain in the butt”!  I know how hard it makes sitting.  Some ice packs on his lower left back and hip could help along with the Tylenol.  It would reduce some of the inflamation around that nerve.  Give them both my love.  XOXO

  2. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – Can you “steal” some of those pics and let me see them?  I can get on FB on Bill’s or Dan’s account, but neither of them are friends with Tab’s sis.You know I’ll never be able to get an icepack on Daddy’s butt!

  3. Bettyeboop says:

    The ice pack can go behind him in the chair on his lower left side.  If you have one of those flat ones, just put it behind him as low as possible on the left side.  Fifteen minutes at a time several times a day if he will let you.  I should be able to “share” the pictures from her site.  I share pictures of Clara with Martha and she is not on Facebook.

  4. Can’t wait to see the cruise and shower pictures! Love ya!

  5. 🙂 we’re thinking that the Twins and the Stros both need new bullpens. shall we co-write a petition? :)can you believe that the police don’t want to charge the other driver with drunk driving? seriously. the idiot hit my parked car. he couldn’t even walk or speak, he was so plastered! makes me SO mad. we, of course, have D on our team, so they’re setting an appointment to talk with the police inspector about it. woot for people who network. :)love you!

  6. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I agree that new bullpens might be in order, but it won’t help us ‘Stros if we keep the manager we have!!How can they not charge the driver with DUI???????  What possible purpose can that serve!!!???  My ire just rose almost beyond my ability to control myself to not come up there and “storm the castle”!!!I miss you!  Tomorrow, I will be driving (in the little truck) all by myself to Pensacola – call me when you have time for a long talk!!Love you so much ~ Mama

  7. @pettybunch – i missed this!! i’m so sorry!! I totally could have called you, too. dagnabbit.Nate is lobbying for a coaching change as well. That boy gets SO mad when he watches the highlights these days. (Of which there are few!) I’m for it, as long as nobody gets their feelings hurt!! Haha. I so wish that we could be there longer, but it would have to be a miracle somehow. Nate doesn’t qualify for any vacation time for several more months, and we just can’t afford more than one or two unpaid days off! We’re trying to fine-tune the schedule to eek out as much time as possible, so we’ll probably end up writing down the basics and sending it out just to make it easier for everybody! There are so many people we want to see—-and SO much PACKING to do!!!! Ugh, ugh, ugh. Nay to packing. And unpacking. I vote for beam-me-up-Scotty. *grin*Y’all have a fantastic time in Florida! We so wish we could be with you guys. We’ve been talking about it all weekend! Love you so much!

  8. Oh, and I have no idea wth is going on with the drunk-driving non-charge!! It makes me so mad! We’re wondering if there is some kind of corruption going on, actually. The way the officer handled the entire situation was just confusing and apparently not according to policy. Not happy, Bob. Nate and Mom and Dorothy are going after it, though, so I’m hopeful that they’ll secure justice somewhere. (Not me. I’m watching the toddler. More peaceful that way. Can I claim exemption from the entire situation due to…lack of presence? I wasn’t home!)

  9. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I was actually talking about you and Arulai coming early – I know Bo can’t take off extra days.  See, you and A.J. (and your Mom!) could come, say, Monday, and Bo could come Friday, then y’all could leave Sunday after church and get home Monday.  Bo would only be gone Friday through Monday!  Good plan, right!!??

  10. @pettybunch – haha. well, that would be fun. realistically, it’d be a matter of scratching up enough for a plane ticket AND gas for the big van + trailer for 2500 miles. plus convincing Mom that the family could function without her for a week—which is the BIGGER task! we can pray for all of that, though! i’d be happy with it!

  11. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I’m praying hard!! 

Leave a Reply

