Busy Days…


This has been a busy week, and looks like the busyness will continue!  Yesterday was the first day of catch-up at work after being ill last week.  I got a lot of work done, though, which made today a little easier. 

After work, I went over to the cabin to see if there was anything I could do to help prepare for the kids move this weekend.  Because they don’t know for sure what all they are taking, I can’t really pack anything.  But I did think I might be able to organize some things.  I’ll admit it was just good to wander around among their things, but I did get a little bit done.

Today was more catch-up at work, but no working late because Daddy had an appointment at the orthopedic surgeon for another shot in his hip.  We sure hope this one helps – the last one did NOTHING!  Dad and I had a good trip, though.  It was nice to be just the two of us for a bit. 

Mama often gets agitated when Daddy goes to the doctor, so Jeanne and the rest of the family talked about Dad’s doctor visit alot, and even had me talk to her on our way home to keep her reminded of where we had gone.  She was pretty good when we came in, but another challenge came because we decided to take her desk out of her bedroom.  The desk sticks out, close to her bed, making it difficult for her to get to her bathroom.  She can’t take her walker into her room because of it, so she has to hold onto things to get to the bathroom.  She fell a while back, and hit her head on the desk.  It just seemed to be the right thing to do. 

Well, she just hated it!  It completely frustrated her – even to tears!  She now feels she doesn’t have anything to hold on to, and just feels insecure.  I felt so bad for her, and for Jeanne because she had been the one to get the job done while I was gone with Daddy.  Tomorrow Dave said he would help put the desk back.  I have one that is a bit smaller, but will provide the stability she is looking for.  I told her about it, and she seemed open to the idea.  I guess we should have known, but we really didn’t think it would be such a big deal!

Bill also had a doctor appointment today.  He has “lateral epicondylitis”, better known as tennis elbow.  He got a Cortisone shot in his elbow, which became excruciatingly painful as he drove home, and has to wear a band around his arm until he is better.  He has taken pain meds, and is slightly groggy, but the pain is much better.  He has put off his foot surgery for at least a week.  We just found out his insurance is changing October 1st, so since his original surgery date was September 30th, and he hasn’t applied anything to his 2009 deductible, it makes more sense to move the date back and use up next year’s deductible instead.  He will also be more up for our Annual Allen reunion the first weekend in October.  The new tentative date of surgery is October 7th.  I kind of dread it – he is not an easy patient – but at least I’ll have him around for awhile!!  He won’t be allowed to drive until he gets the “boot” off, which will be a month or more.  He’ll be stir crazy, but maybe I can get someone to take him on drives!

Well, tomorrow is more catch-up at work, then home to make soup for Mama and Daddy’s supper.  I’ve been waiting all week for it to be cool enough for that!  Most folks don’t think upper 70’s and low 80’s is very cool, but for Mama, Daddy, and I it is!

Better go to sleep.  6:30 comes early!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Busy Days…

  1. ABAHM says:

    Blessings to you in all this.  I’m praying all the shots work and bring relief and healing!  

  2. Mommy2Drew says:

    Wow, you’ve got LOTS going on! I hope you have an awesome time with your kids and grandbaby this weekend!! I’m sure you’re planning lots of time with Arulai too!!!

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Mommy2Drew – I told Emily that she, Bo, Dannye, Bill and Sara L. can do all the packing and loading.  My job will be to keep Arulai out of the way!!  A necessary job, and an oh, so sweet one!!!

  4. Compared to some of the days we have had around here, seventies and eighties sound GREAT. I hate the heat, though. But I’m pretty sure I’ve already covered that. Repeatedly. :)I’m sorry your Mom has had such a hard time with the moving of her desk! I guess in her situation she needs a lot of security and routine and that is understandable. Also hopefully your husband’s surgery will go smoothly and easily with a quick recovery.

  5. I hate how hard life can be sometimes. *sigh*But I LOVE how soon we get to see you!!! Less than 48 hours!!!!! *happydance*

  6. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – Oh, me, too!!!!!  Call me while on your trip if you need to.  Love you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

