Should this one be titled…


My Kids Are Gone…?

I don’t have all the pics at my disposal yet, but wanted to verify that Bo, Emily & Arulai have officially moved to Minnesota.  We had a beautiful weekend, although Emily wasn’t feeling her best and they were all really tired when they arrived.  Arulai must be a born road-tripper.  She was exhausted, but the sweetest little thing!  She never even had a melt down until they were leaving yesterday!  She definitely has her Mama’s traveling blood in her!

Friday, as promised, we had chicken and dumplings with Gooey Cake for dessert waiting for their arrival.  It was a hit, with barely any left over!  The kids brought Sara L. and Emily’s brother Jordan along, and after dinner and a little chatting, they went over to “Nee-Nee’s house” for the night.  I know it was rough to walk into that cabin where so much blood, sweat, and tears had been shed, knowing they were really leaving for good this time. 

Saturday was packing/loading day.  I had to stay home to cook breakfast for Dad and Mama, and get them settled, then I went over to “Nee-Nee’s” house to pick up A. J.  We played in “the park” (what Arulai calls Dannye’s playground for her babysitting kids), then came back here for a nap.  Arulai was so good.  She never fussed about the nap at all.  I layed down with her in case she was nervous about her surroundings, but she seemed to remember everything.  She fell asleep in no time! 

When she woke up, we went back over to “Nee-Nee’s” and had a nice visit with the kids.  Jeanne stayed with Mama and Daddy, so I had no worries.  Then I got to bring Arulai back to spend the night with me!  What a joy!  We got up Sunday morning and got ready for church together, and again, she was such a sweetie.  She loves to dress up, loves to have her hair fixed, and wants her turn with the lipstick!  What a girlie-girl Emily and Nathanael have!

We had a wonderful day at church, a scrumptious lunch at Los Cucos, then a nice (though too quick) visit with Bill’s dad and mom.  Emily rode with Bill and I to his folks house, which gave us opportunity to have a nice talk.  I think I miss that as much or more than anything since their move.  Emily and I have always had plenty to talk about!  She is truly my daughter of the heart! 

Arulai had Memaw in awe with those beautiful curls!  Memaw, like my Mama, suffers with dementia.  She loved having the company, and hated to see everyone leave.  The kids went to visit their couple friends while Bill and I came on home.  I was soooooo tired!  Dannye Reigh was to bring Arulai to me for another spend-the-night, so I rested until she came.  A. J. was just about asleep when they arrived, so I popped her into the bed and went to bed myself.

I dreaded Monday, knowing they were leaving and I would feel very empty.  Bo and Em didn’t rush off, though, so Arulai and I had a nice time playing at “the park”, and she willingly gave me all the hugs and kisses I wanted.  Bill was able to take off and be with us, too.  It was such a sweet time.

Finally, it was time to go.  I realized I had forgotten to bring “Wubbies” – Arulai’s blankie – as well as her pack-n-play, so they all loaded up and came here to get it.  This is where things got a little soggy, but I think we all did pretty well.  My heart was heavy, but I am fixing my heart on a (relatively) soon visit up north.  Arulai is becoming more and more verbal, so phone conversations are more rewarding than ever.  They are moving into their new home this weekend, and Emily promised me space for that visit – AND she promised to cook for me, almost as big a draw as seeing them!

I want to post pics with this, but just don’t have them yet.  My next post will probably be just photos with some captions!  Plus, I want to show you all the book I made for Arulai, so I have to figure out how to put it on here.

Life can be so hard.  It isn’t easy to say goodbye to our beloved son, our amazing daughter-in-law, and our precious granddaughter.  But I can truly be grateful for God’s plan in all of our lives, and if I will keep my eyes on Him, I can “count it all joy!”

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Should this one be titled…

  1. Bettyeboop says:

    Bless your heart.  I am so glad you had a wonderful time with your kids, especially with your baby girl.  Aren’t those babies the sweetest things ever.  I know your heart is hurting and I remember from experience that so much of that hurt is purely love.  Who ever knew your heart could “hurt good” but grandchildren cause that phenomemon.  I love you, Sister.

  2. ABAHM says:

    Awww, so glad you had a wonderful time with them.  I know the ache when they move.  Praying for God to give you grace to fill your heart in-between! 

  3. Abbiegirl says:

    Mrs. Petty,            This post brought tears to my eyes… i know the pain of losing those you love, I remember 3 years ago, 10 days after Emily and Nate got married, they packed up, and moved to Texas… so many tears were shed that day, never knowing if they would move back again. It was so bittersweet, being happy, because it was God’s will for them, but also being sad, for we knew they would not be with us anymore… but knowing you would get to love on them every day…        I know the feeling well, and i am so happy to share them with you, i’m sorry this is hard, but im so thankful to have them back home now, and it also means, you Pettys get to come and VISIT us SOON! we love and miss you, and so can’t wait to see you!Love and Prayers,   Abs

  4. AuntGen says:

    What a sweet, sweet visit we had with your “kids”.  Your being able to spend all the time you did with A.J. was just a joy to my heart and I know it was especially precious to your “Nonnie heart”.  I hurt for you when they left, but you received God’s grace like a trooper.  I am in awe of our Savior’s tender love, and the way He showed it both to you and through you.  You’re my hero(ine)!

  5. Bettyeboop says:

    She’s been my hero for years and years.

  6. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I love you, too, Emily!  I hope you’ve been able to get rested after such a long trip.@Bettyeboop – @AuntGen – Y’all are silly!

Leave a Reply

