And the waiting begins…

*************Edit***********

Last update for the night.  We got home around 6 after stopping for his prescriptions.  He was worried that the pain would overwhelm him because he could already feel it, but it never did.  We are getting those pain pills down him right on the 4 hour mark so we can “stay ahead of the pain”.  He settled in the bed with the remote in his hand, Andy Griffith in the DVD player, and his computer in his lap.  He has eaten several times since we got home, so all seems well.  He is sleeping right now, and I think I will join him. 

I truly believe the Lord Jesus answered our prayers and gave him an easy first evening.  I am continuing to pray that his recovery will be miraculously low on pain, and that he will be patient.  We go for a dressing change on Tuesday, then if all is well, we are off to Glen Rose for the rest of the week.  All three of us (me, Bill, and Dannye Reigh) are looking forward to some true family time – just the three of us that make up our little nest, separated though it may be!

I will update more tomorrow, I’m sure, but if there is nothing noteworthy, you may not hear from me until next week!

God bless you with sweet sleep!

***********End Edit***********

 

*************Edit***********

All went well, and Bill is in recovery.  He had two screw type implants and one pad-thing to replace the cartilage that was gone.  He wanted pictures (only Bill!) so the doctor took 2 – just for him!!

Thank you all for your prayers – I’d appreciate continued prayer as he recovers at home.  The doc says if he will be a good boy for the first 3 days, the rest will go much easier for him!  Thanks, again!

***********End Edit***********


The nurse just called Bill back to get ready for his surgery.  I will go back when they get him changed and prepped.  It’s really raining outside, kinda cozy inside, if you can call a Surgery Center waiting room cozy.

I have a bit of a knot in my stomach, but I’m not really nervous.  Actually, I’m more nervous about going home than about the surgery itself.  We’ve been told how painful foot surgery is, and I dread it for him.  I’m hoping for great knock-out drugs – I might give him some, too!

Normally, when any of us have had procedures, whether in or out-patient, we have our own support group in the waiting room.  There have been times we wondered if the hospital thought about running us out – we Allens tend to take over wherever we go!  Our current circumstances prevent this, though.  Jeanne is out of town, and were she here she would need to be with our folks.  As it is, Dave had to take off work to stay with them while I am gone.  Dannye Reigh is at work – it is most difficult to take off when you are a nanny!  My only other partner in crime – Emily – is 1200 miles away, and again, were she here she would have a 2 year old to tend to! 

So, here I sit, just me and the computer.  Well, and you all!  I’m glad you could make it!

I am also grateful that no matter where I go, nor who can or can’t be with me, my Lord is always present.  I have been praying this morning, praying for the surgeon’s hands to be sure, for Bill’s pain to be minimal, and our trip home to be safe.  I am also praying for a friend who just lost her Dad Tuesday; for an elderly couple at church with the husband having had a heart attachk and triple bypass surgery just days after his wife spent time in the ER and hospital; and for my folks as we head into this time of Bill’s recovery.  I am just so glad Jesus is with me today!

Well, they called me back to see him.  He has wires and tubes everywhere, and is so very hungry, but is resting and waiting for the doctor.  I’m going to visit with him while I can.  I’ll keep you posted!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And the waiting begins…

  1. I’m praying for Bill and the surgery and that he has a good recovery with no complications!  If I lived near you ( I have no idea where you live, but I’m sure it’s nowhere near here), I would come to the waiting room and bring you a nice cup of mocha or cappuccino or tea, so picture that while you and your computer sit there alone!  

  2. Dannye_Reigh says:

    Love you Mommy!  I wish I was waiting there with you!  We haven’t (praise the Lord!) had a good Allen’s in the waiting room party for a long time! 

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Dannye_Reigh – You’re right – PTL!!!

  4. ABAHM says:

    I prayed for you and Bill when I awoke this morning.  Thinking of you!My friends who had foot surgery had a type of electrical stimulation device that they used.  It sends a current to the area, kinda helps to give other sensation than pain, also increases blood flow.  Really helped them heal faster ( they both had foot surgery independent of one another).  Might be something to ask about if the pain is bad.

  5. ABAHM says:

    Oh, good to read the updates!  Glad to hear all went well. Praying for a good recovery!

Leave a Reply

