Recuperation


The weekend has been a long, if quiet, one.  Bill alternates between sleeping and dozing.    The pain is steady, but has not been overwhelming.  We have been trying to stay on time with his pain med. doses – I say “we”, but he has done most of it.  I have had to get up a couple of times in the night to re-adjust or help him find something, but for the most part Bill has gotten his own meds and set his alarm for the next dose each time.  He’s not supposed to get up except to go to the bathroom, and he’s been a good boy!  It makes it easier to be a good boy when walking hurts so bad, though.  He has a “moon boot”, but his foot hurts just lowering it to the floor, much less walking on it.  He has been a trooper, though, as I have had to be with Dad and Mom nearly all day each day of his recovery so far.  It’s amazing how little care they need, but how much I need to keep my eye on them!  I think Mama just waits for me to be gone for a minute so she can change the thermostat!  In the words of Boolie, “Mama, your a Doodle!”  [“Driving Miss Daisy”]

I haven’t had time to mention it, but last weekend I took Mama and Daddy to our Allen Family Reunion.  Reunions have been an Allen tradition long before I was born, but this version began shortly after Bill and I got married.  We don’t do a day long event – oh no, it’s a weekend long event.  Our family looks forward to it every year.  As my kids have married and moved off, that has been one of their saddest regrets – missing the Allen Family Reunion.

Last year, Jeanne and I were able to go together and take Daddy.  Mama was still able to stay alone with just a middle of the day check by my sis in law, Karla.  This year, of course, neither Mama nor Daddy could stay home (alone or together) so I decided I would take them both for just the day Saturday.  I knew it would be a bit hard on Mama – traveling in a car is not easy on her arthritis, nor her confusion tendency – but I really thought she would enjoy a change of scenery.  So we got up early and headed north.  It’s just about an hour and a half away from our house, so we were there for the traditional big country breakfast.  Mama was only slightly confused, and Daddy was so glad to be there. 

I really think the trip did them both good.  Mama didn’t enjoy the cool wind that was blowing, but did enjoy visiting with her dear sisters in law, Aunt Blanche, Aunt Jerri, and Aunt Jackie.  Daddy enjoyed visiting with everyone!  He is now the only living brother – the Patriarch of this branch of the Allen family – and the entire family delights in him.  I was so glad we went.  And a special blessing for me was the trip home.  Mama was very chatty going home, which is totally unusual!  It was wonderful!!!!!

Here are a couple of pictures from the reunion.  If you just need to see more, go to Dannye Reigh’s xanga here.

Mamaw 2009 Reunion
My precious Mama – doesn’t she look good!?!?

Daddy talking 2009 reunion
My Daddy – I’m sure there’s a story being told!

Daddy & girls 2009 reunion
This is my Daddy and three of us girls – Bettye, me, and Martha (Dodie or Motts, whichever of us you ask!)  Jeanne was at the deer lease with her hubby.

Well, Mama is lonely – I’d better go back over!  I hope your weekend was blessed, as mine was!

God bless your week!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recuperation

  1. Bettyeboop says:

    That is the greatest picture of Chloe.  Dad was the most handsome man there.  I was so very proud of him.  He appeared to have more vigor than I have seen in a long time.  I told Dan I think Dad and Chloe will both benefit from a field trip on a regular basis.  It really is stimulating for them and I know it is hard to accomplish physically but I think it will be good for them.  That’s why they schedule them in the nursing homes for AZ patients.  Can you believe, they took all of Mom’s bunch on a fishing trip one time.  They were in wheel chairs and they gave them straw hats.  They were so cute.  Martha and Bob were there for it.  I think the difference in location, the new people, the fresh air, all kinds of things are stimulating.  I am so happy Daddy had a good day.  I love how the boys are always finding ways to involve him in the horseshoe tournament.  Makes a body proud. ha.  Thanks for putting the captions on the pictures for me.  Was that dark haired little girl Josh and Lindsey’s Taylor or Ashley’s Arriana?  I’m guessing Taylor but not sure.  Also can’t remember which is Taelor and which is Taylor. haKiss Bill for me and tell him it will get better.  Dr. Neville had this special “cold”machine delivered for me to use for the first three days.  It sat on the floor by the bed and a boot went on my foot.  Cold water circulated through the boot all the time.  He said it would make all the difference in the world and I guess it did.

Leave a Reply

