A Special Gift


My parents were given a special gift from the Lord yesterday.  Mama was in her chair dozing a little after our “church service” with Pastor Ed Young on TV, Dad was in his bedroom hunting a football game on his TV, and I was on the front porch trying to catch up on my Bible Study and visiting with Karla and Missy.  A little car drove up, one we did not recognize.  As I peered into the passenger window, I recognized a precious face from our past.  Mama and Daddy’s former pastor, Dwayne Baird, and his wife Sharon were right there in our driveway!  Pastor Baird and Sharon moved to Tennessee a couple of years ago, and it was a very sad day for my folks.  They truly loved Pastor Baird, and he loved them very much, too.  You don’t often get to be good friends with your pastor – I mean the doing things together, eating together, visiting, praying, planning, dreaming together kind of friends.  But we all were with Pastor Baird.  Even though Bill and I didn’t go to church with them, we were included in that friendship.

Anyway, Dwayne and Sharon were on their way to a nephew’s graduation from bootcamp in San Antonio, and came here for a visit with his old church and some of his old friends.  Mama and Daddy were so deeply touched, they couldn’t stop talking about his visit.  We all sat on the porch and talked and laughed together for the short time they had before they had to go.  I had also called Gen to see if they were back from the deer lease, and she got to come visit for awhile, too. 

VBS July 17 141
Dwayne in a skit during VBS in 2006

My heart is so full – just the love of one for another so tangible, I am so amazed at the little things the Lord gives us that mean so much!

I pray you have seen little touches from God recently.  They are there – you might just have to look for them!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Special Gift

  1. ABAHM says:

    Awww, a blessing indeed!!

  2. AuntGen says:

    I could hardly believe when you told me the Bairds were here @ Mom and Daddy’s house!  It was so, so good to visit with Dwayne and Sharon.  Like a breath of fresh air.  God truly does give us more than we can ever ask or think…or deserve. 

  3. Wow, what a great gift! That is just awesome. Great friends are priceless and seeing them after missing them so is just something you can’t replace.

  4. I was so happy to hear this from you on the phone this morning! What a precious thing.Love you!

  5. Mommy2Drew says:

    I love when God sends things unexpectedly, really makes you stop and thank Him for caring about us in everyway!! 🙂 What a sweet and unselfish thing to stop and visit! So glad it made your parents so happy too! 🙂

  6. aww.. That’s so cool!

  7. momstranz says:

    YEAH!!! Your turn for a surprise special gift.  It has a way of warming us for many days to come, does it not?  So glad you were there when they came!   Much love, pam

  8. Bettyeboop says:

    Praise God for special friends.  What would we do without them.  They have the ability to sooth our feelings, lift our spirits and warm our hearts when no one else can.  It makes me so happy especially for Dad and Chloe that they were able to realize and enjoy this special visit. 

  9. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I was wondering where you were!  Is everything okay, or have you just been busy?  I didn’t think you were coming out today, but hope you get to soon!  Love you!

  10. Bettyeboop says:

    I am here, just kinda droopy for a few days.  I think it is related to thyroid.  Tests showed it was low and my vitamin D was low.  Taking supplement of D now and finally received new prescription in mail for higher dosage of thyroid today.  Maybe that will help perk me up.  Maybe.  I’m just down in the dumps.  But I had an incredible surprise today.  I was delivered a big green box that said Proflowers on the outside.  Inside it was a large vase and a dozen of the most beautiful peach roses you ever saw.  The bouquet included three gorgeous cabbage roses and a variety of supporting greenery stalks.  I mean it is a super nice arrangement.  And it was from JENNIFER!  Martha asked, “Jennifer who?”  ha  When I told her Jennifer Strunk, she asked, “You mean Jennifer Allen?”  I told her yep.  She included the sweetesst note thanking me for “all your hard work and the energy you expend keeping us connected.”  Isn’t that the sweetest thing and extra special because it was so totally unexpected.  I told Martha I think I have gotten roses maybe three  times in my life and the first ones were from Mom when Mark was born.  Matt and Colleen sent me a precious oversized teacup and saucer arrangement of teacup roses for Mother’s Day a few years ago and surely I have gotten them another time during this long life, just can’t remember it.  ha

  11. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – That’s just about the sweetest thing I ever heard!  What a precious gift – even more the thoughts than the roses!  My thyroid is out of whack, too, I think.  The medication I’ve been taking for about 8 years has been taken off the market by the FDA (dumb snoots!) and I had to go back on synthetic thyroid.  But the conversion from the old to the new is difficult, so my dosage isn’t right yet.  I’m to get a blood test next month, but I may go earlier.I hope you feel better quickly – low thyroid is an evil thing!

Leave a Reply

