A Dog


~ Edit Thursday ~

Bill took some pics of Molly last night, so I added them below.

******************************************************************

You may remember that last spring my cocker spaniel of 13 years died.  I wasn’t sure when the time would come that I would want another dog – Ginger was such a good dog for our family, and is a hard act to follow!  I knew, though, that I would one day get another dog because we are just dog people.  We love animals in general, and dogs in particular.  There’s something so comforting in having a pet that loves you no matter what!

Lately, I have been thinking about getting my Mama a dog for company.  Mama has always liked dogs, and even used to raise Poodles when I was a little girl, so I knew she would enjoy having one.  She gets so lonely, and she’s really not able to carry on much of a conversation at all anymore, and what she does say usually has to be pulled out of her word by word!  I thought a sweet, small lap dog would be a great companion for her, and asked Jeanne (she does do most of the house work, you know) and Daddy if I could look into it.  We all seemed to be on the same page (Dad changes pages every once in awhile, but most days he was in agreement) so I began researching what dog breed would be best as a companion for the elderly. 

The Schnauzer was nearly always top on the list.  Cockers and Pugs were also in the top three.  Dannye has a Schnauzer-Cocker mix that is a really good dog, and my sis-in-law has a pure Schnauzer that she says is a good dog.  Add to the mix that they don’t shed, and Jeanne was on board! 

So I began looking at Schnauzer rescues – I did not want a puppy, and the rescue place I was looking at house breaks and crate trains all their out-going dogs.  One problem with the rescue, though, was the cost.  They was $200 – $450 for their animals.  I’m not saying that is too much – they vet and neuter all the animals before adopting them out, and some of the dogs were in really bad shape when they came to the rescue.  The thing is we just don’t have that kind of money to spend on a dog!  Even if we pool our resources it would have been hard.  Bill really had a hard time with the money aspect of this deal. 

The rescue also wanted to come out for a “home visit” before adopting out the dog, which was really daunting to me.  We live in the country, and we’ve never won the “Yard of the Month” award.  We have stuff here and there – especially since my packrat hubby moved over to Mama and Daddy’s with me!  He keeps everything around back, but still, I didn’t know how thorough these people were going to be.  And when the lady began to talk about wild animals getting the dog, or it drowning in Mama’s goldfish pond, I wondered if I were looking in the right place!

I began praying that we could find a dog for Mama on our own.  A small adult female who was house broken, with a pretty calm temperament.  I didn’t know how or where, but that was my prayer.  I didn’t even specify breed, but I kinda wanted a purebred something.

Anyway, yesterday Amy called from her work, The Vintage Garden Tea House, and told Jeanne about a 2 – 3 year old dog that a neighbor of the tea house wanted to get rid of.  Amy went on and on about how cute and sweet this dog was, and did we want to come see it for Mama?  I was really hesitant – there is usually a reason the previous owner wanted to get rid of the animal in question!  But Amy was very persuasive, and Bill was okay with it, so Jeanne and I went.

I’ll admit it wasn’t love at first sight – at least not for me.  Her name is Molly, and she really was cute; but she is a Shih Tzu, and her hair was completely shaven, and she kind of had that bug-eyed look of a Pekingese. 

But for some reason, Molly liked me.  As she was investigating everything, if I called her name, she came quickly at my voice.  She didn’t pay much attention to the other ladies there, but anytime I spoke she would look at me.  It was odd, but sweet!

She was very calm, even meeting new people.  Her previous owner seemed to think she wasn’t adjusting to their recent move into the area, and Molly would dig out of her backyard fence and go visit the neighbors.  She is very social!

Jeanne and I took her home (I knew we would!) and she met everyone.  She really likes Mama and Daddy, and climbed into both their laps occasionally throughout the evening.  Mama loved it, and Daddy didn’t even mind too much.  I think she may be a keeper!  Bill wants to take a picture of her to post, but hasn’t so far.  I found this picture on the internet to show what she will probably look like when I let her hair grow some.  I don’t want it long enough for the ponytails I’ve seen on the show dogs, but I would like her to have a proper Shih Tzu moustache and her ears to be longer.

Black Shih Tzu

As I said, Molly is all shaven now, but she is all black like this one, although Molly’s only white is on two of her feet (I think I’m remembering right).  Her hair is really glossy, too.  The previous owner gave us her shot records and her rabies tag – she just got her shots October 15.  I don’t understand this lady just giving her away! 

Molly 011
This is our Molls.  I was wrong – she does have white on her chest like the sample photo I found!  I can’t wait until her hair grows some, but she is really such a sweetie!

Molly 012

Today, I have done some research on the Shih Tzu breed.  I won’t bore you with all I learned, but one thing that has really given me peace about this acquisition was reading that this breed is often used as therapy dogs for the elderly, and makes a great companion for them.  From what I’ve seen so far, Molly will be just that!

BTW, Molly took her place over night right between Bill and I on our bed.  I don’t know how long that will last, but it was pretty sweet!  Bill seems enamored by her, too!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Dog

  1. redladybug18 says:

    Sounds like such a good dog for you all!  Hope things work out as every adjusts to her.

  2. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – She will be cute when her hair grows some – right now she’s just got a great personalilty!

  3. Mommy2Drew says:

    Aww!! Sounds like she is fitting in well! 🙂

  4. ABAHM says:

    That is neat to read how God works things out.  Hope she is the one. 

  5. Maybe she was just giving her away because God knew you needed her more! Some may think I’m weird for thinking that but like you said you have been asking Him for one and God works in mysterious ways! : ) Just a thought.

  6. momstranz says:

    It looks like a perfect fit!  Very, very cute!

  7. AuntGen says:

    @michaelswoman – We agree, Amy Lynn.  We thought about that and think that she was a gift from God.  I am trying hard to not look a gift horse in the mouth, but like my sister, I do keep wondering what secret fault Molly has that her previous owner isn’t telling us about.  But what ever her quirks, I think she will likely fit right in with this family.  We’re all a little quirkey.

  8. aww, i think she’s really cute! maybe a little yappy, but we’ve seen that before. 🙂

  9. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – You should see her with Dad.  She just loves him.  He takes her for walks while riding the scooter and she loves it!  I think she’s going to work out just fine!

  10. KatieWatt says:

    Aw she’s a cutie! I’m so glad you have a dog again! 😀

  11. Bettyeboop says:

    Well, she is as adorable as can be!  She has the exact same face as that “sample” dog.  She is going to be beautiful when her hair grows out.  And if for any reason you decide you can not keep her, I want her.  She would be perfect for a companion for Lola.  I had been wanting one so much but didn’t want to go through the pain of housebreaking another one.  But I didn’t want an adult.  But I think she would be wonderful.  I think you were wise not to get a Shnauzer.  They are sweet and smart but what a mouth on them.  Talk about yappy dogs.  The majority of them have a very high energy level.  Colleen’s Lenny is the most boisterous dog I ever saw.  We are going to Adam’s tournament game tomorrow afternoon at 4:30.  Its single elimination so it would be great if they could win this game so they can play at least two.  God willing, I would love for us to come out there Tuesday.  I will let you know more definitely by Sunday afternoon.  Scooter almost has the floor done in my craft room.  It is going to be so beautiful!  I’m so excited.

  12. ALDOG1 says:

    Nina, Martha here……..she’s just adorable………looks a lot like my Cookie!  They could be sisters.  How big is she?  I can’t tell from the pictures.  Cookie is short legged & weighs about 9 to 10 pounds.  Depends if Bob’s feeding her his snacks!!  I’m so glad Daddy is taking an interest in her.  They just need something to cuddle & love.  We could never do w/o our babies!!  Send more pictures when you can………love you!!

Leave a Reply

