Busy, but blessed weekend


I always wish I had photos to show you when I’ve been to an event, or something special happens.  Actually, I wish I had photos all the time, whether something big happens, or nothing happens at all!  I guess I really believe that a picture is worth a thousand words – even though I’m sure to add my own thousand words, too!

This weekend was really busy for me.  Saturday I had the opportunity to go to our church’s Ladies Retreat.  It was a real treat to have this day to fellowship with the ladies of my church since it doesn’t happen very often.  Even before I had a more restricted schedule, fellowship is fairly rare due to the distance we all live from each other.  Jeanne and Bill helped out with Mama and Daddy so Dannye and I could attend the retreat.

The theme of this particular retreat was “Organization”.  There were sessions on organization of family, home, closet and appearance, and our spiritual lives, as well as a session on help in the home and the true meaning of hospitality (I loved that one!).  I admit to laughing a whole lot when a speaker gave examples of disorder – by the end of the day, everyone knew she must have been talking about me!  I have always struggled with organization.  If my home were ever truly clean and orderly, it was because I had had victory in my life that day (or someone came and did it for me), not because of anything naturally occurring within myself!  Laziness is not the issue – it is just that I don’t see the problems until they are completely out of hand. 

Orderly people don’t understand this.  My sister comes into a clean room and the first thing she sees is the one stray thread on the floor.  Me, I don’t care one whit about the thread.  I probably don’t even see it.  I’m bee-bopping around talking, visiting, looking at pretty stuff… I don’t know – it’s a sickness with me, I guess!

Well, Dannye Reigh came through this afternoon with some pictures for me, so let them help me tell you about our Ladies Retreat:

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 112.jpg
This is Linda, our Pastor’s wife.  She is one of the most precious women I know.  You can see by her smile what a joyful person she is, and her life hasn’t all been a bed of roses!  Being a pastor’s wife never is!  Linda was our main hostess, and taught the session on Spiritual Organization.  I am always blessed and challenged when Linda teaches.

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 011.jpg
This is Julie, Pastor and Linda’s daughter, wife to Clint, and mother of 4.  Julie taught on organization in our lives as a whole.  Her love for the Lord and her family is inspiring!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 020.jpg
This is Laurie.  She taught on home organization.  Laurie and her hubby adopted twins almost two years ago, so organization in the home is an absolute must for this family!  She gave us practical ways of running our homes more smoothly.

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 054.jpg
Linda volunteered to empty her “junk drawer” and have Laurie help her organize it.  Here, Laurie is asking Linda about this piece of twine…. Linda’s reason for keeping it didn’t pass Laurie’s organization test!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 060.jpg
Just how many loose twist-ties do you need????

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 061.jpg
Brave Linda, for exposing her clutter to Laurie’s scrutiny!!  

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 041.jpg
Cherry taught on hospitality.  She brought out many aspects of the biblical use of this word that are not in use today – things that really opened my eyes to many ways I can show hospitality (a Biblical command) that have nothing to do with throwing a party or having dinner guests!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 081.jpg
This is Jennifer.  Did you ever see a more exquisite creature?  I have been blessed to know Jen for 13 years, and have always called her “My most beautiful girl”.  Jen is a professional seamstress, and is a student of fashion AND the Bible, and showed us ideas for how we can be orderly in our appearance and our closets. 

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 075.jpg
Off the rack clothing can be made modest without looking odd, or homemade.

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 076.jpg
Small, easy alterations can give off the rack clothing that custom fit.

Jen also gave us visual ideas of how to coordinate an outfit; what accessories can dress up or down the same outfit; lessons on what is appropriate seasonally; and much more.  We could probably have listened to her for much longer than her alloted time!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 106.jpg
Then we had a skit….

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 098.jpg
Carolyn & Company were showing us how to manage a home with help…and showing us the extremes we often find ourselves in!  Here, she is the mother who does everything and never calls on her family for help.

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 102.jpg
Here, the kids do all the work because the mother is flitting about doing her own thing.  The skit ended with a balanced approach, and showed the rewards of helping each other!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 025.jpg
 This was our luncheon room.  Seven ladies were asked to decorate a table for 8 guests each.

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 027.jpg
This table was mine and Dannye’s along with the DeSimone ladies.  They had accidently asked one extra table hostess, so we combined our efforts.  It worked out beautifully!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 028.jpg
The ladies seemed amazed that I still had my wedding dishes.  They are Mikasa Blue Daisies, and I love them!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 029.jpg
This was another table – I think the Bogner’s did this one.  They had to leave because their daughter went into labor!  She lives in Louisiana, so off they went, hoping to be there in time to welcome their new grandson!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 030.jpg
I love these dishes!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 031.jpg
A lovely, simple and cozy table.  Makes me want a bowl of soup and warm bread!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 032.jpg
Look at this elegance!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 033.jpg
Isn’t it neat how beautiful it all is, yet so different?!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 034.jpg
So, so nice.  Notice the sign – “Happy Fall, Y’all!” 

For lunch we had soups and salads.  There was a really nice salad bar, and three choices of soup:  homemade chicken noodle, vegetable beef, and potato chowder.  I had the potato chowder, which was absolutely delicious!

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 064.jpg
During an afternoon break we had a chocolate fountain.  I don’t really like them, but they look nice, and most everyone else LOVES it!

SOME OF MY CHURCH FRIENDS:

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 066.jpg
Royce and Joyce

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 071.jpg
This is Ann, a recent widow with 10 precious children.  This woman is an amazing example of “the joy of the Lord is my strength!”

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 086.jpg
Tabitha, who has precious twin baby girls, along with several older children

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 092.jpg
One of the several young ladies who attended – Rachel.  Did you ever see such gorgeous hair!?!?

NBBC Ladies Fall Retreat 2009 070.jpg
And yours truly – just to prove I was really there!

I am so thankful Dannye and I were able to be there and share this time together with our friends.  Because of schedules, I hadn’t been to church the month of October, so it truly was a special treat to have this opportunity of fellowship.  God is so good, and Gen and Bill so sweet to make it happen!

********************************************************************

Just one note before I go for the night.  Mama has not been feeling her best for a couple of days.  Mostly she is very tired, like a wrung out dishcloth!  Mentally she has been about the same, and sometimes even some better, but physically she is completely drained.  Please remember her in prayer if the Lord brings her to mind.

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Busy, but blessed weekend

  1. chix0rgirl says:

    It all looks so fun! Will be praying for your Mama. 

  2. redladybug18 says:

    Looks like a fun times with friends!  Hope you’re mom gets to feeling better!

  3. What a wonderful, wonderful time! Thanks for sharing the pictures—it looks just as fun and relaxing as you described. 🙂 Love you!!

  4. Wow! What a fun, lovely and wonderfully relaxing time I can tell you all had! I’m so glad you and Dan got to go! : )

Leave a Reply

