Not much of interest…


…except knowing the peace of God!

This week has been a nice, peaceful one.  It was really hard to get back to my work week because my weekend didn’t have much rest involved.  I am one of the few people in this world who loves Mondays, but I’ll admit this one was hard to face; but I did it and have almost made it through the whole week. 

Tuesday was a special day.  My sister Bettye and her hubby Scooter came to Mama’s and Daddy’s for a visit Tuesday.  It was so wonderful to see them.  We always laugh when we’re together, and laughter is such good medicine.  We also got to sing on the porch together for a bit, and that was such a sweet thing to me.  When I was a little girl, I remember Bettye having an album (a vinyl record – similar to a CD for you youngsters!) that actually had HER singing on it!  A solo!!  Oh, my, I just knew I was kin to a star!  Back then making an album wasn’t nearly so common as it is nowadays – it was special!  And her voice was the most beautiful thing I’d ever heard.  So Tuesday I got to hear it again, and it is still as beautiful. 

Bettye also brought Lola, her precious  silvery black, Poodle-Maltese mix puppy-dog.  Lola and Molly hit it off so well, and had such a good time!  Lola is pretty excitable, while Molly is more quiet, but Lola is pretty obedient while Molly is still learning who is the “Alpha dog” in her life now.  Their antics made for some fun times. 

Molly really liked having someone her size around that she is actually allowed to play with, since the neighborhood dogs get run off if they come into our yard!  There is a Min Pin, Copper, that lives down the road from us that simply drives us crazy!  He’s a pretty little dog, but his behavior is nasty!  We tried making friends with him at first, but he is so obnoxious we just couldn’t do it!  So, we chase him off anytime he comes over.  Daddy has an old BB gun that we use – it barely shoots, but makes a good pop that scares Copper off.  Don’t worry, dog lovers – we probably couldn’t hit him with a BB if we tried because of the lack of power this thing has, and if we did by some miracle hit him, he probably wouldn’t feel it.  The gun is mostly used for scare tactics!

Yesterday, when I got home from work, I took Molly outside to visit with Bill out in his shop for a bit.  We are just now letting her out without a leash, and she has run down the road a few times, but is getting more and more used to her new home and is some better about coming when called.  She was nosing around the yard, being so good, when I saw Copper wander up.  I groaned, because Molly has a tendency to run after him and follow (or chase) him up the road, and has had to be chased herself.  She didn’t notice Copper at first, but as I started back into the house, she spotted him.  Off she went to meet him, but thankfully they didn’t leave the yard. 

I went to get the BB gun, calmly calling Molly as I went.  I’ve found that if I don’t get stressed over her wanderings, but call cheerfully and sweetly, she is much more likely to come.  She glanced at me, but Copper was far more interesting than I was, so she stayed with him.  Copper, on the other hand, kept his wary eye on me, knowing I was not the friendly type.  I got the gun.  Copper left the yard, but stayed right there on the street.  Molly was still watching Copper, and glancing at me.  I cocked the gun, still calmly calling Molly.  Copper took a few steps toward his own house.  Molly now seems torn – who do I follow?  I’m steadily pumping the gun while calling Molly, and Copper is really wanting to stay with Molly, but knows I am the enemy moving in for the kill, so to speak.  I didn’t want to scare Molly, but I also knew I’d never get her in the house as long as Copper was there.  So I took aim, still cheerfully calling Molls, and fired the BB right at Copper.  Just so you know, the BB probably didn’t get much past the porch, but it made that great popping sound that terrifies Copper, which was the whole point.

Copper tore off toward home, exactly what I wanted.  Molly’s response was what I hadn’t dared hope for, though!  She watched Copper running off, and then turned and came bounding toward me as if to say, “See what I did, Mommy?  I ran him off!!”  It was the cutest thing!  I was so proud of her!  (I realize I’m talking about a dog here, but I’m too old and out of shape to run after anything, much less a dog, and I wasn’t looking forward to chasing Molly down the road!)  Molls and I went happily into the house, where she promptly went to Mama and “told” her all about it. 

All this may really sound trivial and insignificant, but for me it is a huge blessing from the Lord.  This placid, humdrum week with all its ordinary activities has been a gift of peace.  In a previous post I talked about the turmoil my heart has been in, and I knew the Lord wanted to begin healing.  In the “Magic of [These] Ordinary Days”, He is doing just that. 

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not much of interest…

  1. ABAHM says:

    aww, so sweet to read this post and I know that sweetness of the everyday and humdrum, and how healing that is.  Thank you so much for your dear sweet comments and encouragement.  You understand more than most and being a sister in the Lord doubles that!  I called and Grandpa is doing so well, they say he is likely to become ” a favorite”. 

  2. I always enjoy your posts Aunt Nina and I’m SO blessed to know that Molly is working out! : )

  3. i just giggle picturing you with a BB shotgun. :)can’t wait for your visit!

  4. ALDOG1 says:

    I love reading your posts,too. Don’t worry about the dog talk. Other dog owners understand completely and those others will never understand anyway. HaI’m happy she is improving in coming back to you. Is she on heartworm pills? I forgot to ask. I use Sentinal. One pill a month takes care of heart worms,reg.worms and fleas.I think we pay $65 for six months worth.

  5. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – I am going to call her vet next week to see what she’s been taking.  Her previous owner said she was taking one and it was time for the next pill, but I haven’t followed up on that yet.  I really want her to be on the heartworm med, so I will definitely ask about Sentinal.

  6. pettybunch says:

    @ALDOG1 – Is this B or Martha?  I just realized it was Aldog, not bettyboop!

  7. Bettyeboop says:

    This is B.  I don’t even know why it logged me in as aldog.  Weird.  If you go beyond the time for her pill, the vet probably won’t prescribe for her without a heartworm test.  If they gave her the meds and she already had heartworms the pill could kill her.  You should call the previous owner and ask the name.  She should have given you her shot records anyway or at least the name of the vet she used.  Did she give you her rabies certificate?  Her vet will have that on record, too.

  8. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – She gave me her last vet visit and rabies certificate, but I couldn’t read the vet’s writing on what he gave her – it was a monthly pill, just not sure what.  So I am going to call her vet, hopefully Monday.  He is fairly near here, so we will probably continue using him.

  9. I loved hearing your recollection of being “akin to a star.” šŸ™‚ It is amazing how we revere our family members, isn’t it? Especially in youth.I hope your week is a great one! It is another Monday now so I hope this one is nice for you. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

