A New Week Begins…


Well, another Monday has begun, and I’m just as tired as I was last Monday.  It’s my fault completely, though.  Last night I just didn’t feel like going to bed.  I stayed up and watched 3 movies until close to 2:00 a.m. (Two were on at the same time, and since I’d seen both before, I just flipped back and forth during commercials.)  Don’t tell me how dumb I am – I know, I know!  Oh, and Bill told me that when I came to bed, so I REALLY know I’m not the sharpest knife in the drawer.  He did say he understood, though, when I told him I just didn’t feel like getting up out of the chair and getting ready for bed.  I don’t do that often anymore, but I used to more than just occasionally! 

Yesterday was a wonderful day at church.  Dan and I sang a beautiful song called “My Heart is Filled With Thankfulness”, written by Keith Getty.  One of our dear friends announced their daughter’s engagement, and the couple, joined by their siblings, sang a wonderful song before Pastor’s sermon.  And he really preached it, too!  I was convicted and blessed by turn!

When Dannye and I were preparing to sing for church, I emailed the young lady referred to above (Tara) and asked if she could play for us.  I knew her fella was going to be in town – even suspected the special occasion for which he was here – so I wasn’t sure Tara would be able to fit us in.  I didn’t hear from her all week, but the song is fairly simple, so I hoped she could just pick it up and play it. 

When she got to church sporting a beautiful new engagement ring, I figured she would be too “la-la” to play for us, but she agreed to help us out.  We went to the piano to practice before church, and she suddenly asked, “Would you let my future father-in-law play it for you?  He’s the best pianist in the world!”  (You’d have to know our precious Tara to understand how she can make even mopping the floor sound like the most exciting, pleasurable event in one’s day, so I was a little nervous about agreeing, but I did.)  Tara was close to right though – Mr. C was AMAZING!!!!!  Evidently he is a music minister.  He helped our choir during afternoon practice for our Christmas special, and he also arranged the beautiful song his three sons sang at the end of the morning service.  He truly is gifted, and Tara is going to have a blast learning from him, as she is greatly gifted herself!

After morning worship, lunch, and choir practice, the Petty family left in two cars since I needed to get home while Bill and Dannye went to do a photo shoot of my sister’s grandkids.  It went so well for them, and I can’t wait to show you some of the pics.

Mama and Daddy were well when I got home.  Mama has really been tired lately, and I’m not sure what to do about that.  We are in the process of buying a “Sit and Be Fit” DVD to try to build her up some.  I hope she will cooperate, and that it will help her.  She was enjoying Molly when I came in yesterday.  She sure loves that dog!

 Dad had been watching football all day.  He roots for the Texans and Colts to win, and for the Cowboys to lose.  The Texans have a bye week, but the Colts won and the Cowboys lost, so he went to bed happy! 

I’m a little sad today.  My sweet hubby is heading to the deer lease with his Cuz some time today.  He may even be gone when I get home from work.  I’m trying not to let it get me down.  He really enjoys doing things with Mike, and they will be at the deer lease alone most of the week.  Mike & Bill will both be shooting: Mike with his gun, and Bill with his Nikon. Both of them will have a wonderful respite,  but I will miss Bill profoundly.  I may have to pull out my Scarlett O’Hara attitude, and “…think about it tomorrow.”  That way I can just miss him one day at a time, and not think about the whole week without him!

I’m ready to go home now, so I will post this and shut down my computer for the afternoon.  I hope you all have a good one!

God bless your day!

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A New Week Begins…

  1. ABAHM says:

    Blessings to you.  Hope you get some rest and the Lord fills in that time alone.  It is wonderful to enjoy our husband’s company.  Hope your mom will enjoy the exercise.  They say Grandpa is walking around the facility a lot, and loves the garden courtyard, so he is getting a lot more exercise and sleeping well. The singing sounds wonderful! 

  2. Mommy2Drew says:

    Hope your week passes quickly and that you find some fun things to do to take your mind off missing your hubby! Maybe a Starbucks run or maybe a new book?? 🙂

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Mommy2Drew – I think I will try to sew some this week.  I don’t sleep real well without Bill there beside me, so maybe I can stay up a little later and get some of my sewing done.  Sounds like a plan, anyway!

  4. Pictures! Pictures!!!! I have been waaaaiting for this announcement. :)by the way, have you seen that silly stocking project of mine laying around at Mamaw’s somewhere? I thought it came with us, but it’s not to be found, and we’re Christmas stockingless. 😦 if you see it, would you let me know?

  5. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I have it right here waiting for you to finish it!  No, seriously, I will dig it up – it’s close to the top because I set it aside relatively recently – and will mail it to you asap.Can you believe we have no pictures of the announcement?!  Steve had Neal take a video, but neither Bill or Dan had their cameras with them.  I really wish you could have met Steven’s dad.  He was (is) an unbelievable musician, and you’d have so appreciated his guidance during choir practice.  Truly, Tara is so marrying into the right family!

  6. Bettyeboop says:

    I know yoiu will miss Bill, but occasional separation is good.  It makes you gain greater appreciation for each other.  Now, don’t start staying up late every night sewing while he is gone.  You still have to work the next morning, you know.  You and I both have a tendency to want to stay up all night.  I remember years ago when I was painting tee shirts, Scooter would go to bed about 10 and when he got up the next morning there would be sometimes three completely finished tee shirts spread around on tables drying.  I used to say I never got inspired before midnight. ha  I can’t wait to see the photographs.  Jessica, Miss Instant Gratification, said she needs to see them N O W!  HA  Dan and Bill were so patient.  And Dan made us laugh.  one of the kids asked if they were supposed to be looking at her or Bill.  Dan said, “You are always supposed to be looking at me unless I say otherwise.”  ha ha  She takes charge when she is in her element.  By the way, she looked so beautiful that day.  Love you.

  7. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I always felt like him going to work everyday was more than enough separation!  I have always been a night owl, and have done my greatest work burning the midnight (mostly all night) oil!  I got a sneak peak at the pics – they are fabulous!  Of course, I got the “before” version, and she has since begun the post processing.  I know you will all be pleased!

Leave a Reply

