My Heart Is Filled With Thankfulness


I mentioned on my last post that Dannye and I sang this past Sunday for morning worship.  I thought you might enjoy hearing the song.  It’s not Dannye and I singing, but Kristyn Getty.  She is amazing, and I love to hear her sing this or any of their great songs.  Just before we sang, Bill read a portion of the latest newsletter from our Florida kids.  Will and Pamela try to send out a newsletter monthly to keep in touch with family and friends.  It is so much fun to read.  This one ended with a thought about Thanksgiving that I’d also like to share:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Psalm 107:1 reads:  “O give thanks unto the LORD,  for he is good:  for his mercy endureth forever.

What a truly magnificent thing!  So magnificent in fact that this exact phrase is found over forty times in the Bible.  There is a foundation for thanksgiving, and that foundation is in the mercy of God.  The fact of the matter is this:  if you have never experienced the mercy of God, you have never experienced thanksgiving.

No greater example has ever been given of God’s mercy than the example of Calvary, for as Jesus was nailed to the cross for the sins of all mankind, he cried out, “Father forgive them.”

What great love and vast mercy!  Praise be to God for the gift of His Son!  Praise be to Christ for the gift of Himself!  Praise Him that “by the righteousness of one the free gift came upon all men unto justification of life!”  Have you received His gift?  Have you experienced thanksgiving?”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I was so blessed from reading this, then saw how closely it lined up with the song we were singing in church.  It was perfect! 

 

Please listen when you have time – I know you’ll be blessed!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Heart Is Filled With Thankfulness

  1. ABAHM says:

    Beautiful song!  What a wonder to read that phrase is there over 40 times.  I believe it as I think it is underlined a number of times in my Bible.  

  2. Mommy2Drew says:

    She has a GORGEOUS voice and you can feel the love and praise she has for the Lord! 🙂

  3. pettybunch says:

    @Mommy2Drew – Oh, I know!!  One of my favorite things is to hear her read Scripture.  She and her husband are Irish, and her accent (along with the passion she has for the Lord) touch my heart in an amazing way through Scripture.

  4. I had never heard this song before and I really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing!It is so ironic that you post Psalm 107:1. It has been going over and over in my mind for the past few days and someone read it at my church last night, too, then I see it here. :)I hope you have a great Thursday! One week till Thanksgiving!

  5. How great is our God! Thanks for posting this! : )

  6. oh, how lovely! i would have SO enjoyed hearing y’all sing that. :)ps. i am having trouble finding enough long johns to have on hand for your visit! how many do you plan to bring? i think we’ll need half a dozen or so to keep you from turning into an icicle. 🙂

  7. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – There ARE NOT enough long johns in the entire northland to keep me from turning into an icicle!     But my joy at seeing my beloved children and grandbabies (yes, I am looking forward to seeing this new little one even in the womb) will keep me plenty warm!  I’ll find some electric socks!

Leave a Reply

