Crash!

When I walked into the office this morning, my boss greeted me with, “Hey, Crash!”  Why, you say?  Well, lemme tell ya!

Van crash small 350

Friday, after a VERY long day of Christmas shopping, I was finally on my way home.  It was dusk, and I was driving down the fairly congested highway toward Wal-mart, a quicky stop to pick up necessary items for peanut butter cookies to be made when I got home.  A fellow in a beat up white-ish pickup wanted into my lane, and after several indecisive attempts, I simply slowed down to let him in.  We drove on for a couple of miles when, with no warning NOR brake lights, he stopped right in front of me!  I veered to miss him, but didn’t miss.  No, I just plowed right into the back of him.  As I gathered my wits about me, thinking he would be getting out to yell at me or something, he sped away – I mean, like he was going to a fire or something!  I was left sitting there in the middle of a 3 lane highway with no evidence of an accident (or his lack of brake lights, by the way) except a crunched front end and a busted radiator!  I was able to get the van off the road, called Bill, who told me to call 911, which I did.  It took a little while for the Trooper to get there because there were several accidents at the same time as mine.  I was pretty amazed that not one person around the accident stopped!  Not one!  Thankfully, no one else was involved but me and the disappearing man, but you’d have thought someone would have check it out! 

Just so you know, I’m just fine.  A little stiff in the neck and shoulder blade, but very little.  The air bag didn’t even deploy, which I thought was kinda weird, but I’m glad it didn’t.  We are grateful that we have full coverage on the van, and I am able to get a rent car for a little while.  We don’t know how bad the van is, but Bill is taking it today to our local body shop for a look-see.  The door was a little hard to open, and the radiator is busted, and Bill said something about the core support, whatever that is.  But what we don’t know is if there is also damage to any air conditioning parts, or other components important for driving in this part of Texas.  (I have always told Bill that I don’t care what I drive as long as it has air conditioning and an FM radio!  Heat comes standard!)

The next day was our annual Bill Allen descendents Christmas gathering.  Neither Dad nor Mama really wanted to go, not because they don’t love their family, but because going anywhere is hard work!  Having to go in a different vehicle than their own was disturbing to them, Mama especially.  We all had a good time, though, and I know they are glad they went.  This is the occasion we nearly always get all my Dad’s children together at one time.  That is a rare feat! 

Strader Christmas (4)a small
Top:  Martha, Greta, Jeanne, Dave
Bottom:  Bettye, Daddy, Mama, Yours Truly 

My brother’s widow Greta came with my nephew, Chris.  Bubba and Greta’s youngest daughter was able to come with her hubby, too!  My two older sisters were there, and with me, Jeanne, and brother Dave, that made all of us!  We had to take a picture of all us “kids” with Daddy and Mama.  Greta is truly counted a sibling, as all my “in-laws” are, but she always stands in Bubba’s place when we take this family pic.  I wish we’d gotten a pic with us and our spouses, but K wasn’t prepared to be in pics (they had to get out early that day for other necessary errands and were just able to stop by for a little while) and 2 of the other spouses weren’t there.  We did get a pic of the grandkids that were there, though.  Daddy has 15 grandchildren and 17 great grands with one on the way!  It will be rare indeed to get all that bunch together at one time!

Strader Christmas (11)a small
Daddy’s Grandkids (a little more than half of them):  Standing – Dannye, Phillip (Jennifer’s hubby), Jennifer, Mike, Chris, Matt, Amy (Michael’s wifey), Michael, Marty
Seated – Mark (the oldest grandchild), Daddy, Mama, & Missy (the youngest grandchild)

Sunday was a wonderful, blessed day at church.  We had our annual Christmas dinner, plus the annual Family Christmas Sing, but we also had a very special event take place.  We ordained two new elders for our church.  It has been a long time in coming, and was made more urgent since our two elders besides our Pastor both moved away.  Anyway, we are truly blessed by the men who will be taking on this responsibility, and the service was beautiful and deeply moving.  It is an awesome responsibility to be an Elder to the Body of Christ, and it was truly borne upon us as a congregation to be in continual prayer for these men.  One of our former elders, Mr. Meyer, came all the way from Montana to preach the message and be a part in the ordination service.  The entire day was a genuine blessing.

I am back at work today, but not much going on here.  It is a gray, dreary day in our part of Texas, and I’m ready to go home, wrap gifts, and visit with my Mama & Gen.  It seems I hardly saw Mama this weekend, even though I was with her all day Saturday, and all last evening!  She will enjoy wrapping gifts, though.  Mama sure loves Christmas!

God bless your day!

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Crash!

  1. Oh, no!  Glad you weren’t hurt!  

  2. AuntGen says:

    I am so glad we had that picture taken and am SO thankful that you and Dave weren’t hurt in your respective accidents.  Our God is truly good to us and we are truly blessed by His watchful care.  Who are we that the God of the universe is mindful of us?  (I feel safe saying this to you because you know what I mean and won’t think I think God is distant and doesn’t care for us.  Quite the opposite.)  I can’t tell you how excited I am for your church body to have these “new” elders.  They will be in my prayers, as well as your pastor.  Love you and I’m waiting for you to come home so I can help or watch you wrap presents!  (And Jesus really is the best gift of all.)

  3. ABAHM says:

    So glad you are alright!  

  4. Abbiegirl says:

       So glad your ok! rental cars are always fun to drive

  5. Bettyeboop says:

    Didn’t we all look pretty! LOL. I am so happy you posted these pictures. I am so grateful to Matt for hosting our party. It would have been nicer if the weather had cooperated and we could have spread outside. Naturally my bunch did anyway. It always amazes me what smokers will endure to indulge in their habit. I am so thankful both you and Dave were spared any serious harm but I know how devastating awreck can be. I truly don’t know if I will ever get over mine from last year. I stll relive it sometimes in my thoughts with no warning and sometimes ambrought to tears God was so good to me that day. Enjoy your day, Sis, and get lots of presents wrapped. Love you bunches.

  6. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – It is so odd to me that this wreck has not affected me yet as the last one I was in did.  I had a really hard time riding or driving for awhile after the bad wreck and as you say, I would relive it in my thoughts; but this time I haven’t noticed much.  I’m not even very sore this go ’round.  I’m so thankful for that!

  7. Mama, I wonder if it hasn’t been overwhelming to you because of your last, horrible wreck—maybe anything less than that will just feel like small peas in comparison! I’m so glad you’re alright—and thanks for posting pictures from the family gathering! Everybody looks lovely. 🙂

  8. Bettyeboop says:

    I only remember one other collision I ever had and Mark was in second grade so that was a long time ago.  It made me mad at the time but in the one I had last summer I truly thought for a few seconds (which seemed like minutes) that I was going to die andas  I hit that ditch and then trees I was praying to God not to let me die.  I can still bawl thinking about it.  Most wrecks happen so fast but that time I was out of control going down a winding road.  Yuck!  Awful to think about.    God was so very good to me that day.  By the way, I just finished posting my photos from the Christmas party on Facebook.Love you, Sis.  I’m so glad you were not hurt!!!!!

  9. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I thought we looked lovely, too!  The day went by far too quickly.  Everyone asked about you and Bo, and of course, Arulai.  They are all excited about the baby, too!

  10. maryhurlbut says:

    Oh dear, what a thing to happen during Christmas. So glad you are alright

Leave a Reply

