A Memorial


Today we gathered with many, many friends and strangers to remember a precious man who went home to be with Jesus this past Saturday.  Our family has only known Mr. Gregg for a little over 12 years, but I dearly loved this quiet, Godly gentleman. 

I’m not sure I can explain why I loved Mr. Gregg so.  He was indeed a Godly man, but I know many Godly men – yet he was special.  I wonder if it might be because of our common background.  You see, our church is filled with wonderful people who have come from many different denominational backgrounds.  Some were Catholics, some Methodists, some Church of Christ, some Lutheran.  As a matter of fact, even though we are a Baptist church (albeit an unusual one!), not many of our members came from a Baptist background.  That is where Mr. Gregg and I were on common ground.  He had been a Baptist always, and I have been a Baptist always. 

Now, lest anyone think I suppose Baptists to be  better than any other denomination, let me assure you that I don’t.  Since I have been old enough to understand what denominations are, I have wished there were no such thing. Our pastor says the only reason our church has “Baptist” on the sign is to let people know 2 things about our doctrine – we believe and preach security of the Believer, and baptism by submersion.  Other than that, we’re not like any Baptist church I have ever belonged to!

My point here is simply that the fact is that I have always been Baptist, and Mr. Gregg had always been Baptist.  I always felt he understood me, perhaps knew me even better than some of the others I was much closer to.  Mr. Gregg sang hymns with gusto, and he not only knew all the words – he knew the original words!!  When we sang “At the Cross”, I knew he wasn’t going to sing what the hymnal said – “…Would He devote that sacred head for sinners such as I”.  No, he was going to sing it as it was originally written – “…Would He devote that sacred head for such a worm as I?”

Mr. Gregg also looked like a Baptist.  Well, not just any Baptist – he looked like a Baptist Deacon!  He had silver hair that he combed straight back – Bill calls that look “Evangelist hair”.  He always wore a suit and tie to church, too!  He was a good Texas Baptist, too – he wore cowboy boots with that suit!

Mr. Gregg didn’t just look nice.  He was one of the nicest men I’ve ever known.  He was kind, and he loved to meet and greet people.  He held out his hand in fellowship to those he knew, and to those he’d never seen before.  No one ever felt left out – he loved everyone!

Mr. Gregg developed colon cancer 11+ years ago.  He fought and beat that, and was cancer free for 5 years.  When the cancer came back, it was in his lungs.  He fought and beat it a second time.  When it happened the third time, it was growing all over.  He fought for a long time, but finally, Christmas night, he asked Jesus to bring him home.  He did, about 2 hours later, early on December 26th.  He was 66 years old.

I am truly going to miss him, have been missing him during his time of illness.  He was simply a good man, and deeply loved by our church family, and if the crowd gathered there today is any indication, loved by a good many other folks as well!  As the young people sang today, he is now in a place where there is “No more night, no more pain, no more tears, never dying again…”  God be praised!

I will catch everyone up on our wonderful Christmas later this week, but tonight, I just want to remember and honor Mr. Donnard Gregg.  He is already missed so much by so many.

May God bless your day…..

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Memorial

  1. AuntGen says:

    I’m sad that I never knew Mr. Greg, but look forward to meeting him in heaven.  I am also sad for you, my sweet sister for your loss.  It is your unique loving nature that makes you love so fully and mourn so deeply and I am so glad that our heavenly Father made you this way. 

  2. ABAHM says:

    Lord bless you my dear in this time loss.  A blessing to read of this dear man and his faith in the Lord. 

  3. I wish I could have been there. I loved Mr. Gregg so much. He was my absolute favorite children’s Sunday school teacher ever. I still remember and use the things that he taught me through the years! Such a precious man! I will miss him but can’t help but smile as think of the wonderful time he and Jesus are having together! Can’t you just see it!

  4. Bettyeboop says:

    Your new background is gorgeous.  I loved reading your beautiful tribute to your friend.  He sounds like a wonderful Godly man.  I am sure many people were blessed over the years by his presence.  I was picturing this older man in my mind as I read and finally got to his age, 66.  Three years younger than me!  Wow!  Did that ever shock!  I love you and look forward to hearing about your Christmas and seeing the pictures that go with the telling.  Unfortunately, I woke up this morning with what I assume is a cold.  I am very sad because I have been so happy that neither of us has been sick for a very long time.  Now Scooter will probably get it and we will shut down completely. ha  Love you so much!

  5. we were so sad to be so far from the family this week! i would have loved to attend the service and hug Mr. Gregg’s grandgirls. thanks for being there!

  6. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I am so sorry you are feeling yucky!  I, too, have escaped being ill – I haven’t had anything since my big one after the wedding!  This front is messing with my allergies, but other than sneezing, I’m fine.  Pray for Daddy, though.  He is becoming more congested than usual, and we are trying to hold him steady until after the long weekend for an appointment.  We are giving him inhaler treatments, breathing therapy, and lots of fluids – I hope it is enough.I love you, too, and am praying you will fight this cold off very quickly!

  7. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I thought about you the whole time as I talked with Megan, Haley, and Savannah.  They each expressed missing you and Bo.  Misti, also.I love you!

  8. MegletTX says:

    Mrs P I just want you to know how I wept as I read your beautiful post about my Pappaw.  I used to wonder about how people felt when they lost someone dear and people talked about them.  Did it make them sad?  Did it hurt?  Well now I know…it is the most wonderful feeling in the world to listen to others share their memories.  I don’t think I can get enough of hearing how he was a blessing to so many people!  Some of the things people say are so precious because I can just see or hear him in my head doing those things.  Oh how bittersweet his passing is!!  I am so happy that he is no longer in pain, it has been such a long hard journey and that he is now singing praises to our Savior face to face (or perhaps whistling them!!)…but I am sooo very sad because I miss him so very much!!!  I feel so blessed to have had these extra eleven years since his first diagnosis and I have no regrets but like that country song…”one more day, one more time, one more sunset maybe I’d be satisfied…but then again I know what it would do–leave me wishing still for one more day with you”.

  9. momstranz says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. 

Leave a Reply

