Catching up…



I finally uploaded some pics of our Christmas season, so while many are posting their New Year’s Resolutions and/or plans for a better 2010, I will be looking at Christmas Past!

Christmas 09 235.jpg
I mentioned in an earlier post that we had our annual “Family Sing” at church – so we did!  This was when we sang “Lo, How a Rose E’re Blooming”, which is one of my favorites, but with our dwindling family, we didn’t feel we did the song justice.

Christmas 09 370.jpg
This precious young lady from our church won Fourth in her division in the National Bible Bee by memorizing close to 2000 Scripture verses (and the “addresses” of each).  She gave us a sampling of her work by quoting random Scriptures for about 20 minutes.  She has a desire to memorize the entire Bible!

Christmas 09 355.jpg
Since Pamela and Will were with us the Sunday after the Family Sing, we asked if we could sing that day – and they let us!  This time we sang “Who is He in Yonder Stall”, which is another of our favorites, and it really sounded so much better with some of the missing parts there!  We had been asked to sing at my sister’s church that evening, which is always a joy.  Gen, Karla, and Missy sang with us that time.  The sound gets even better!

Moving along to Christmas Eve…

Christmas 09 485.jpg
My sweet son in law – he’s a camera buff like Bill and Dan!

Christmas 09 488.jpg
The Newlyweds!

Growing up in our family, we always opened gifts from each other on Christmas Eve, then had “Santa Claus” on Christmas morning.  Although Bill and I were very careful to explain the real story of St. Nicholas, and that there really was no jolly old elf in a red suit, we did decide to play the game of Santa just for the fun of it.  So, even at 23 and 25, my girls expect Santa to come calling on Christmas night.  So the girls and Will all spent the night with us Christmas Eve and we opened our personal gifts then.

Christmas 09 486.jpg
Dannye Reigh helping Mama with her gifts.

Christmas 09 489.jpg
Mama so enjoys presents – especially if it is clothing!  Even at 81, she loves to dress!

Christmas 09 490.jpg
Bo and Emily sent their gifts by mail, and we had SUCH  a good time opening them!  Emily had made cards for each package that pertained to the enclosed gift.  It was really cool because since she is in Loss Prevention, all her cards began “To prevent the loss of…”  Mine said “To prevent the loss of HEAT (because you need all the help you can get!   Inside were a beautiful red shawl/wrap and gloves, and the movie “New In Town”, in preparation for my trip next week to Minnesota!  (More about that next time!)  Dannye’s tag said “To prevent the loss of Style (as if THAT could ever happen!)  She received the most gorgeous jewelry!!  Bill’s tag read, “To prevent the loss of energy”, and he was really glad to receive a container of Spark, a healthy energy supplement that Emily got him hooked on!

Christmas 09 498.jpg
Will really wanted and needed this book for his education and future library.

Christmas 09 499.jpg
My beautiful Dannye Reigh asked for home decor related gifts since she is working so hard on making the Cabin her home now.

Christmas 09 500.jpg
Pamela and Will got her these beautiful wall sconces

Christmas 09 502.jpg
One of our Christmas traditions is Christmas jammies from me.  All my kids, inlaws or distant, got jammies this year.  I even sent some to Arulai!

Christmas 09 478.jpg   Christmas 09 504.jpg
“Over the river and through the woods to grandmother’s house we go,” was true for the Davises and Allens this year – this is our local creek out of it’s banks Christmas morning, which is right in the path to Mama’s.

Christmas 09 505.jpg  Christmas 09 508.jpg
Bill went to check it out before they drove all that way only to find it impassable.  It was pretty high, and having to go around the other way adds about 30 minutes to the trip that is normally only 20 minutes!  Bill’s pickup will drive through deeper water than some of our other vehicles, of course, so some came through it, others went around it.

Santa had been there Christmas mirning when we all got up, but I don’t have photos of that – I told Bill a long time ago that no one needs to see me that early in the morning!

Christmas 09 510.jpg
Christmas Day we waited for Dave to get home from work, then read the Christmas story.  Dannye and Pamela quoted with me as I read, and Missy remembered quite a bit as well.  I was blessed so much to hear my Mama quoting along with us.  There is simply something beautiful about hearing your 81 year old Mother quoting Scripture, especially when she can’t remember so many other parts of her past.

Christmas 09 512.jpg
Our precious Daddy smiling over a gift he will probably rarely use, but is always so grateful for the thoughts and love put into the giving.  Daddy shows gratefulness better than just about anyone I know.

Christmas 09 514.jpg
My sweet brother Dave – the kids call him “Kunkel Daze”, stemming from one of their mispronunciations in the past.  Pamela and Dannye Reigh made him some wonderful cookies – and he didn’t share, either!!

Christmas 09 515.jpg
Missy received 2 Breyer Horse sets, one from the Petty Bunch and one from Mamaw & Granddad.  I have no idea what was going on with me here!

Christmas 09 518.jpg
Christmas Dinner – all the young adults sat in the living room.  I don’t know why Pam and Will aren’t in this one – maybe they are still filling their plates.  Dannye is up front, then Amy and Michael (Jeanne’s son and daughter-in-law), and at the back table are Missy and Kenny (Dave and Karla’s kids).  We are so blessed by our children.  And we missed Bo, Emily and Arulai all the more as we sat down to eat!  Family meals are precious fellowship time!

Well, since this post is already quite long, I will save the rest of the Christmas festivities for the next one.  I will try to post it before the weekend – we’ll have to see if that actually happens!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Catching up…

  1. Looks like you all had a wonderful Christmas!  I love to see a family all making memories together!

  2. redladybug18 says:

    wow looks like fun!   I had no idea that there was flooding down there, y’all must have gotten quite a bit of rain!Blessings on the New year!

  3. maryhurlbut says:

    OH THAT WAS FUN!  I don’t know if I’ll ever get your family all figured out, with who is who, but the smiles and love are all that I really need to see

  4. Mommy2Drew says:

    Looks like lots of sweet memories were made!! Can’t wait to hear more details of your upcoming trip to Minnesota!! HAVE FUN!!!!!!!! šŸ™‚

  5. ABAHM says:

    I loved being part of your Christmas when reading this post.  I can tell you all love each other and love the Lord!  So sweet seeing your parents opening gifts and reading your comments.  Today someone posted about needing to be patient when sitting with her little preschooler and not multitasking…I thought how that happens with our parents too.  Needing to take the time sometimes to give them our attention.  Looking forward to more!

  6. Awww, how fun! Thanks for posting pictures. We sure missed all of you SO MUCH!!

  7. Abbiegirl says:

       CUTE PICTURES! I can’t wait to see you NEXT week!         

  8. AuntGen says:

    I especially enjoyed the pictures of Mama and Daddy, as well as the ones of our kids… and for much the same reason.  It is going to be harder and harder to have them with us for these special occasions, and so these times are becoming more and more precious.  It really was as fun and wonderful as it looks, wasn’t it?

  9. Bettyeboop says:

    Beautiful pictures of part of my beautiful family.  I got tickled when I read the comment about how hard it is to figure out our family . LOL  I can imagine it must seem like a big conundrum to other people. ha  Hey, we have people in our family who can’t keep us straight. I enjoyed sharing your Christmas through these pictures.  I almost feel like I was crammed in there in the middle of you all.  ha  I was thrilled to see Daddy wearing the red shirt we gave him.  He looked so handsome.  I wish he would actually hold up his gifts he opens at the big family party.  He always seems self conscious when opening his gifts.  Like he doesn’t feel like he deserves them or something.  Love you, Sis and look forward to seeing more pictures.

  10. AuntGen says:

    I forgot to mention that I loved the part about the young lady memorizing Scripture.  I am determined to make Scripture memorization and meditation a part of my life again, and am so encouraged and “inspired” by her efforts.  Thanks for sharing that!

Leave a Reply

