The Last of our Christmas Festivities

My last post was of Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, so now we move to Saturday, the 26th.  We were so very blessed to be able to have Christmas with Bill’s family – all of us together.  What I mean is that often nowadays Bill goes to his folks alone because I need to stay with mine.  It was so nice to be together at his family Christmas!  This year Bill’s niece hosted.  She has a lovely home that is large enough for all of us Pettys!  Pamela and Will were still here at that time, so it really made for a nice visit.  All that was missing were Bo, Em, and Arulai!  Oh, and my nephew’s family couldn’t make it so came to visit Memaw and Pawpaw earlier. 

One thing that made this visit unique was the Wii.  We don’t have one, but I had heard alot about them.  It was great fun learning more about it, and watching even adults have a great time with it!

Christmas 09 525.jpg
Our great-niece Haven takes her turn at Wii bowling.

Christmas 09 526.jpg
Now it’s her Daddy’s turn!

Christmas 09 528.jpg
The audience – this is our great, great nephew!  He’s a pistol, but oh, so cute!

Christmas 09 529.jpg
Now we’re playing Family Feud – what fun that was, and we all got to play!  Believe me when I say your mind goes completely blank when it’s your turn to give an answer!

Christmas 09 530.jpg
We got one right!!!  The girl in pink is our niece, Mandy.  She is soooo much fun.  Even though she is several years older than our kids, they absolutely LOVED/LOVE being with her.

After games, we had our Chinese gift exchange.  We enjoy this so much, and there is very little cost to any one person.  We do real or “White Elephant” gifts, so you never know what you will pick!

Christmas 09 531.jpg
Case in point:  here I have picked a lazy Susan made by my brother-in-law, Curtis.  As you can see, he used a veggie tray and mounted it on a water pump.  At least he cleaned up the water pump!

Christmas 09 532.jpg
An up-close view

Christmas 09 533.jpg
Curtis was busy this year – here is a nut cracker made with an emergency brake handle.

Christmas 09 534.jpg
He even gave his certificate of authenticity with this gift!

Christmas 09 535.jpg
A closer look, cuz I know you all want to make one of these!

Christmas 09 536.jpg
And here is the inventor himself – Curtis ^

Christmas 09 538.jpg
This is my precious Mom-in-law & Dad-in-law, along with one of their great-grands and their daughter-in-law, Brenda.  Brenda has the dubious distinction of being Curtis’ wife!

Christmas 09 540.jpg
Curtis records the event

Christmas 09 541.jpg
Shelley, Kristi and Jay’s daughter, receives a nice gift

Christmas 09 544.jpg
Bill’s brother-in-law Doug

Christmas 09 546.jpg
Brenda got a couple of really cute scrapbook kits

Christmas 09 548.jpg
Dannye Reigh got the gift of the day – a Starbucks cup and gift card!

Christmas 09 553.jpg
Then her mean sister stole it when it was her turn!!!

Christmas 09 554.jpg
So what does Dan get?  A Thermos!!  What a letdown!!!!

Christmas 09 557.jpg
Our hostess, Kristi

Christmas 09 558.jpg
Bill’s sister, Carroll, and her hubby Doug

Christmas 09 571.jpg
After gifts were opened, we were treated to a drum concert by Kristi and Jay’s 5 year old son, Renner.  He was a Ninja Drummer!

Christmas 09 575.jpg 
He is very intense!

Christmas 09 577.jpg
And quite amazing!

Christmas 09 580.jpg 
After we visited with the Petty Family, the Bill Petty’s & Michael Davises went out to dinner at Red Lobster.  The kids
 had all gotten gift cards, so we took advantage of some more intimate time with Pamela and Will before they left the next day.  This was when I really missed Bo and Emily, because this is what they love doing most – fellowshipping with their “peeps”!! 

Well, there are no pictures of Pam & Will’s goodbyes – which is fortunate, since I wasn’t very picturesque!  But that ended our Christmas season!  It was wonderful, even though empty places were felt, and goodbyes were difficult.  I am continually grateful, though, for the grace and good gifts God has given me!

Shadow Play Christmas 09 409a.jpg
Shadow play done to “Mary Did You Know” at Dacus Baptist Church – very beautiful and and meaningful. 

God bless your day!


 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Last of our Christmas Festivities

  1. ABAHM says:

    So full of warmth and humor!  Happy for the good time you had…goes too quick I know! 

  2. WE MISSED Y’ALL TOO!!! Thanks for all the pictures. Roo’s been shouting people-identification. 🙂 We cannot WAIT to see you!!

  3. maryhurlbut says:

    Happy times and great idea with the shadow play!

  4. Bettyeboop says:

    More great pictures.  Your gathering with Bill’s family looks like it was so much fun.  I got lots of laughs from Curtis’ creations.  Was Family Feud a box game?  I have really been thinking about getting a Wii.  Seems like all my old school friends have them.  Most of them have the Wii Fit, but I don’t want anything in the house called Fit. ha  I am depressed enough.  LOL  I’d like to have one to keep the kids entertained, plus to watch them play.  Love you, Sis.

  5. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – The Family Feud was on the Wii – it was really fun!  You had to swing the hand piece down like you were hitting the button on the real game.  I think it would be a wonderful thing to have – really gets the kids moving even while they are playing computer games!  I want one, but they are too expensive for me right now.  I want the Wii Fit because I think it would work with our small area here.  I can’t do any other stuff because of space!

  6. Bettyeboop says:

    Many of my school FB friends have Wii Fits and talk about working out on them all the time.  All kinds of different ways. 

  7. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – Don’t you know Mama and Daddy would get a kick out of me working out in their living room!!??

  8. Bettyeboop says:

    I think you would get more than your share of critiquing.  ha

  9. Great pictures, wonderful memories! I’m so glad we got to meet up with y’all! We had such a wonderful time! I

  10. momstranz says:

    That nutcracker is hysterical!  I hope someone is really using it!  Our kids would be fighting over it!    Kuddos to Curtis for ingenuity! 

Leave a Reply

