Eagles and Cinderella


I’m home now – have been since last Tuesday evening – but haven’t been able to get back on schedule yet!  Catch up at work has been a bit overwhelming and I still haven’t been able to get my trip photos uploaded at home.  I downloaded all my Minnesota pictures on my work computer, Bill’s computer, and Dannye Reigh’s computer, but not my home computer!  So, anyway, I am going to take a moment when I really should be working to give you a glimpse at one of our outings while I was up with the kids.

On Saturday, Nathanael and Emily both had the day off so we loaded up and went to the National Eagle Center in Wabasha, Minnesota.  We could not have ordered a more beautiful day for the drive down, and we were all anxious and excited to get going. 

I’m not sure why, but from the time Nathanael was a very small child, he has LOVED the bald eagle.  He would draw them, collect photos and figurines of them, read books about them – if it involved a bald eagle, he was interested.  He and Emily took some time to drive toward Wabasha a few months ago and he was able to spot a few eagles on that trip.  So we were all eager to see what we could see, and Nathanael’s excitment was really contagious, especially to Arulai.  We hardly got on the road before she was pointing out the window and saying excitedly, “I see him, I see him!!!!!”  Of course, she had no idea yet what she was looking for, but she knew it was supposed to be wonderful and wanted to be ready for whatever it was!!!

On the way to Wabasha, we passed through a little town called Redwing.  It was one of the prettiest little towns I’ve ever seen, and it marked the beginning of the eagle trail.  Emily saw our first one (unless Arulai really did “see him” and we just couldn’t see what she saw!)  After Emily spotted the first, we all began seeing them here and there, then more and more. 

I normally resist using the word “awesome” for anything exept to describe God Almighty, but I felt completely awed by the sight of these birds!  I can’t even begin to tell you how awe inspiring it was.  I told Bo and Em that these birds were acting as if they were COMMON!!!  We were all completely enthralled, even Arulai, who had finally realized what we were seeing!  Truly an amazing and beautiful sight! 

I’m going to post the photos now, but I need to tell you a couple of things first:  #1, there were NO true photographers with us on that trip, although Bo and Em do really well with what they have available.  #2, what they had available was one of Bill’s cameras, but very little in the way of a lense.  There was no telephoto shooting at all, so I cropped some of the images just so you could tell what we were shooting, and some you will simply have to take my word for it!  Here we go:

Minnesota 052
One of our first sightings.  Nathanael took the camera and followed this one for several minutes.  I have almost innumerable photos of this one bird!

Minnesota 061
Here we stopped beside the road to watch an area with several eagles fishing.  You can’t see them, but there are several on the ice beside the open water, and you can see the one in the air with the snow as his background.  We were actually closer to them than this photo indicates, but because the lens was a wide angle, the eagles appear much further away than they were.

Minnesota 064
It was so amazing to see them in flight!

Minnesota 073

Minnesota 097
 I love the way the sun caught the white head and tail.

Minnesota 126
Soaring

Minnesota 139
At the Center, they allowed photo opportunities with the actual eagles on site.  Here, Arulai and Bo are posing with Columbia – a bird with a mind of her own.  Note Bo holding A.J.’s hands to prevent her from reaching out to the bird!

Minnesota 142
This was taken during a short lecture (the lady wasn’t very well prepared, but this was an extra, last-minute lecture she was asked to do, so we gave grace! )  She is holding an immature eagle named Was’aka’.  He was adorable, and even ate some rabbit while he was with us.

Minnesota 152
Arulai and Nonnie (me) enjoying the talk.  Arulai was unbelievably good this whole day, but I was amazed at her attention during the lecture!  She listened and watched every minute!

Minnesota 157
This is Donald, their only Golden Eagle.

Minnesota 172
He is beautiful!!  Golden Eagles have the same sized eyes as Bald Eagles, but smaller heads, giving the appearance of really large eyes.  Donald is rather new to the center, having been transferred from California after the treatments for his wing injury were unsuccessful, indicating he will never be able to fly again.  He was injured in a vehicular accident – who’d have thought?

Minnesota 242
He’s a little flighty, but oh so beautiful!

Minnesota 161
This is the aforementioned Columbia.  She was also injured when hit by a vehicle (eating road kill!) but her bio says her injury may have saved her life.  The veterinarians found lead poisoning in her blood when they were treating her, but were able to save her.  Like Donald, her injury rendered her unable to fly.  She is also quite an active bird, and must be watched rather carefully around the people.

Minnesota 162
I’m not sure she wants to go with him!

Minnesota 168
She is QUITE large!

Minnesota 170

 Minnesota 214
My three eagles!

Minnesota 247
Arulai and I at the craft table while Bo and Em toured the Center and went outside to see the eagles on the river behind the facility.

Minnesota 196
If you look real hard, you can see two dots on the far shore – those are eagles!

 Minnesota 249
Now we are on our way home, and this is what we saw all along the way!  Scads of eagles anywhere there was open water!

Minnesota 257
Some would fly out, others would fly in – we could have watched until dark if it hadn’t been so cold!

Minnesota 273
They are amazing!

Minnesota 322
This is some of the beautiful scenery we saw – the sun was beginning to set on the hills beyond the river.

Minnesota 327
This was another of my favorite sightings – ice fishing huts!!!!!  People were just driving right out and parking on the river!  I couldn’t believe it!

After we got home and settled in, I had an encounter with Cinderella!

Cinderella Arulai 2
She is indeed the fairest of the fair!

Arulai and Baby
“Nonnie, take a pitcher of my baby sitting in a chair.”  The chair was Cinderella’s little crown!

Cinderella Arulai
Isn’t she lovely!?!  I could just kiss those cheeks right now!!

There are more events and more photos to show, but it will have to wait until the next post.  I really need to get back to work!  I am still so grateful for the time I had to be with my Minnesota kids and their family and friends up there.  I miss them very much, but this trip really did show me that a flight is very doable, and can make a short trip seem longer because it is not all taken up with the drive.  We will be driving up there early this summer to see our NEW grandbaby, who will be arriving sometime in May!  I can’t wait!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eagles and Cinderella

  1. i love your commentary almost as much as reliving the trip with you!! how DO you remember all of those details? you’re amazing. (but not awesome. hahahaha.) 😉 we are anxiously awaiting your next visit, and Ruly is already storing up things to show you when you come! just yesterday, when her new valance arrived (thank you!!), she ran around with it, yelling, “NONNIE! SANK YOU, NONNIE! Mama, AJ peese show Nonnie my curtwane?’ 🙂 she misses you more than a little bit, i think.love you!

  2. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I remembered some of these facts from the lecture and reading, but not all.  For example, I knew at least one of the eagles was injured from being hit by a car, but not which one(s)!  I filled in the rest  of the details from the NEC website.  I’m so glad Arulai’s valance came, and especially that she enjoyed it.  Look for another package that she will love even more in the next couple of days!!!!  I love and miss y’all so much!!!

  3. Bettyeboop says:

    I enjoyed your visit so much. ha  Really, I know exactly what Emily is talking about.  Your commentaries are like being there.  How exciting it would have been to see those eagles.  I love seeing God’s creatures in the wild.  It’s “awesome”.  lol  If only Bill had been there with the good old zoom lens.  But just seeing them was great.  I love the pictures near the end where they were all fishing.  Must have been a dozen of them in one picture.  And those ice shacks.  Don’t think I could ever get the nerve to drive out on that ice.  I loved your 3 little eagles, by the way.  What a cute picture.Roo’s dress was delightful!  You know how I love my fairy tales and dress up clothes.  That dress is just gorgeous.  I’m so glad she is a girly girl!  By the way, next time we can get together, I cleaned out the kids’ books when I was doing my craft room and I have a boxful for you.  You can take any you want on up to Roo in May.  There are a lot of good ones.  I kept the ones that were the most special to me or to the g’kids.Would love to see you.  So happy your trip was so good for you.

Leave a Reply

