A Detour from My Minnesota Trip Memoirs


I had hoped to post about the last part of my trip by now, but again I am home and my pics are on my work computer.  I’ve been needing to give a life update anyway, so I’ll do that now.

Things settled back to normal pretty much as soon as I got back home.  Mama had become fairly confused before I came home, but everything was fine once we all went back to our places! 

I had a pretty hard time leaving my kiddoes – Arulai took it in stride when the actual goodbyes were said, because she was surrounded by her Aunties and Uncles and wanted to play.  Me, Bo, Em, and Em’s mom Pam were slightly more emotional than that, but I continually reminded myself of the words I used to tell Nathanael and Pamela back when they and their “loveys” were many states apart:  “…sorrow not, even as others which have no hope.” (I Thessalonians 4:13, referencing, of course to the death of loved ones, but if you’d have seen my son everytime he and Emily parted, you would understand how this applies!)  How can I behave as one who has no hope when my hope is truly in the Lord?  Do I trust Him, and believe that His guiding hand has brought us to this place?  Then I must behave like I do!!!  This was my speech to myself all the way home, and I am thankful that my true Hope was with me all the way.  I was able to stop crying before I boarded the plane!

Here at home there have been some challenges and some times of ease.  There is something to be said for familiarity, and it was pretty easy to slip right back into it.  I’ve said before, “The Magic of Ordinary Days” have healing in them.  Work has been really busy, and I’ve had to work over my four hours several days.  I’m not sure we’re caught up yet, and the jobs keep coming in!  That’s a good thing, though.

Daddy seems to be back in a pattern of sleeping all day again.  We’re not real sure why – he says he just can’t wake up!  I heard him awake at 3:00 this morning, and he was up and down the rest of the morning.  The weird thing is that he hasn’t slept as much today as he has been!  Maybe he has caught up a little.

Another issue we have seen with Dad is his hearing.  A while back – I can’t remember how long ago, but it was more than a year ago – Dad was fitted with hearing aids.  His memory was bad enough at the time to cause him to forget how to care for them, and he didn’t like using them at all, so he hasn’t used them in quite awhile.  Anyway, during the holidays Dad began noticing he wasn’t able to hear at all in his right ear.  We notice that he turns his head to hear, and that we are having to repeat ourselves even more than normal – in a very LOUD voice!  So this coming Friday we have an appointment for Dad to see the VA audiologist.  We’re not sure we agree that this healthcare route is the best one to take for this problem, but it is the only one we were offered by his doctor.  Gen and I were thinking there might be a physical problem – you know, wax blockage, fluid on his eardrum, something like that.  Seeing the audiologist sounds more like they are wanting to go the hearing aid route again, which will be totally fruitless because he won’t wear them!  So, if you think about us over the next few days, pray for wisdom for the doctors and patience for Dad.  He dreads this trip to the VA hospital, which is a two and a half hour drive each way, and often gets weary of all the effort.

Mama seems to be the same as usual with the exception of her pain level.  Her back seems to be hurting worse and worse.  She can’t have another pain blocker shot for awhile, so we are doing some home physical therapy.  The therapy won’t help her back pain, but we are hoping to build up her leg muscles and perhaps some endurance.  The longer we can keep her mobile, the better!  It’s hard to see her in such pain, though, and we hope we can do something for her soon.  It’s also hard to hear her in this condition, because my Mama is a moaner!!  I asked her the other day why she was moaning, and she said her back was really hurting.  I wanted to ask her if moaning helped the pain any, but she doesn’t understand teasing very well anymore and I wouldn’t want to hurt her feelings, so I kept my mouth shut! 

I am doing fairly well in the weight-loss venture.  I have lost 13 pounds in the past 4 weeks, which is on track for the program I am on.  I have good days and bad days, but I’ve stayed real close to the rules most of the time.  I enjoy this diet, especially because I see results so quickly, but self pity seems so close to the surface lately!  “Poor Nina can’t have what everyone else is having…”  But I am trying to stick to the program motto:  “Nothing tastes as good as being thin feels!”  I truly need to feel better in order to care for my family the way I should be!!

Well, this is way too long, and I need to go to bed.  Tomorrow will be a very full day with services at our church, then singing at the 5th Sunday Sing at Dave’s (my brother) family’s church tomorrow evening.  And it’s Dave’s birthday, too!!  Before I go, though, I need to leave you with one precious picture of my grandbaby!

Minnesota 596a (867 x 1300)

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Detour from My Minnesota Trip Memoirs

  1. Neither one of my parents would wear hearing aids and it was so difficult to communicate with them near the end.  Shouting didn’t help, as they just really couldn’t hear.  Very frustrating.  Glad to hear you had such a nice time with your family!  Even if you did have to leave them eventually!

  2. ligsar says:

    Great post, Nina!Love your encouragement about Hope.  So beautiful!!  (Do you know that if I have been there, I would have been emotional too?!  When we pulled away from your parents’ home in Texas in September, I remember saying to Nate & Em, “gosh, I’M crying tooooo!!!!”  )I’m proud of your weight loss!  I was so impressed by your dedication to it while you were up here, even in the dinner we had together…. and NO ice cream… ?!  Girl!  Happy Sunday!  Aren’t they the best??? 

  3. chix0rgirl says:

    I’m very sorry to hear about your parents – it’s always frustrating to see those little losses, isn’t it? When nothing’s really drastically wrong, but every day is just slightly worse. So hard. You’re such a good daughter to be there for them long-term like you are. ๐Ÿ™‚ Roo is so adorable in that yellow dress. Precious picture!I wanted stop by and mention specifically that you’re an extremely wise mom to give that kind of parting/farewell advice to your kids in love! That’s just a great perspective, and I needed that today. Thanks much.

  4. i am SO proud of you for sticking with QWL!! i know how much better you will feel, and the extent to which your life will be affected by the change, and i’m excited for you. :)and also, we miss you!! it’s February, though, which means June is THAT much closer!! much love. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – It will indeed fly by, I know!  I am looking forward to spring time in Minnesota!!

  6. LOL—ME TOO!! we have three or four inches of fresh, beautiful snow, but i’m suddenly craving GREEN! grass, leaves, trees, and no parkas outside! (to make up for the lack-greenage-thereof, I made fresh guacamole tonight…haha.)

  7. pettybunch says:

    Wow, I could eat some of your guac!  I’m eating a VERY slimmed down version of your fresh chicken salad.  Not too bad!

  8. AuntGen says:

    I am also very proud of you for your dedication to this weight loss plan.  I know it is not easy and that it could be easy to be discouraged by little “set-backs” but you are persevering.  Big thumbs.  Like you said, I am skeptical of this audiology appointment for Dad, but am praying for the best.  I don’t know what to do about Mom’s pain, but I think she is elligible for the pain/steriod shots this month.  Dr. A just wanted to try to work on some muscle tone in the mean time.  I think we should order the “Sit and Be Fit” dvd so we can work with her after Tina is finished.  Love you, and love the pic of AJ (and Curious George?).

  9. Bettyeboop says:

    I don’t know how I missed this post but I did. As always I enjoyed your post so much. You have a gift for beautifuexpressive narrative. Your trip sounds like such a blessing to all involved. I love you, Sis.

Leave a Reply

