Heavenly Sunshine!


We have had a couple of days of sunshine, and while the temperatures weren’t exactly warm, it has been much better than just about the entire month of February so far!  Or January for that matter!  Our area is usually in the mid-60s at this time of year, but we have barely gotten into the high 50s much of this season.  I am not big on cold weather, although I like it for Thanksgiving through New Year’s Day.  Then I am ready for my Texas heat to return, albeit not necessarily the 100+ heat, but more like the 85 – 90 heat.

Living with Mama and Daddy, I’ve had another reason to yearn for the warmer weather – thermostat wars!!  For awhile, our “enemy” in this war included both Mama and Daddy.  We’ve evidently tamed Mama, or more likely she simply can’t remember how to change the thermostat.  Now we battle Daddy alone.  The battle is mostly a silent one – he gets up from his chair, supposedly to go to the bathroom.  He stops at the thermostat, checks to see if we are looking, then flips the sucker up to about 85 – 90 (my perfect outdoor temperature, but in the house, that temperature leaves no breathing air!).  While he is in the bathroom, I tiptoe over to the hallway, check the temp, and pull it back down to about 76.  Then I try to be back in the other room, looking as though I never got up! 

Sometimes, Daddy will flip up the thermostat on his way into his room to watch his TV.  If that is the case, he can see me coming to change it back.  So I try to think of something I might need out of the back pantry, turn on the hall light, and surreptitiously change the temp while grabbing a canister of Peach Tea or something!

Then we have the “other hand”.  After Dad gets the temperature up, he is very likely to forget he ever changed it, then gets hot, so he goes back in the hallway to flip the thermostat down to about 50!  Mama is always cold, & she begins to complain before the actual temperature has gotten down to 75, so I pull up her electric lap blanket and tell her it’s not cold, she is, and the heater will be coming back on in a minute.  Then I notice that it is getting colder and colder in the house, so I go check.  Sure enough, the Thermostat Bandit has struck, only this time it’s off rather than on. 

Another fun time is bedtime.  Daddy quietly changes the temp while I get Mama ready for bed, and since it is dark in the house, I can’t see the thermostat in order to set it correctly.  Because I don’t want him to know I’ve changed it (he’d likely get up after I’ve gone to my house and change it again) I can’t turn the light on.  So now, I carry my cell phone with me, open it right at the thermostat so the light glows on it, fix it, hoping Dad isn’t realizing I am doing so. 

And the battle goes on and on!

Bill is hoping to get another thermostat, possibly a digital one, to see if we can call a cease fire.  These $600.00 electric bills are killing us!  We’ll have to see!

In the meantime, on this sunny day yesterday, Jeanne talked Mama and Daddy into going outside for a bit.  It was a little later in the afternoon by the time we got them out there, but they did come sit in the sun for a few minutes.  I was already out trying to get pictures of Molly because she went to the doggy beauty parlor on Wednesday.  Here are a few pics of our sweet little Molly, and my cute parents braving the “cold” to appease their fussy daughters!

Molly 001
Our little Molly Coddle – isn’t she adorable???

Molly 002
They put a pink bandana on her, and I had already bought her a purple heart tag for identification.

When we first got her she looked like this:

Molly 012
I thought she looked so buggeyed and Pekingese-y.

Between then and her beauty shop appointment, I had let her hair get very long because I wanted to have options.  During that time she definitely developed Chrysanthemum face (as one of the Shih Tzu names conveys) because her eyes were completely hidden by the hair on top of her nose, which grows straight up!

Molly 006
She really has the cutest face.  This was just what I envisioned for her cut.  A little more on top, a little more eyebrow, and keeping her moustache.  It lets me see her eyes without making me think they are fixin’ to jump out at me!

Molly 009
Missy’s Border Collie puppy, Max, comes over every Thursday to play with Molls.  Tom, the cat, watches their antics, and makes sure Max doesn’t get too rough.  If Tom hears Molly cry, he comes running to give Max “what-for”!

Molly 013
I had a hard time getting her to hold still with Max out wanting to play!

Molly 017
She and Max swapped this stick back and forth all afternoon.

Molly 023
Here’s the Walker Brigade.  Mama looks like she is ready for the blizzard, but it was actually around 60 degrees at the time.

Molly 024
Jeanne brought this hat and scarf out to help keep Mama a little warm.  The hat was way too big, but I think Mama kinda liked it.  She sure loves Molly, and we have been so thankful to have her in the family.  Often Mama can talk to Molly when she can’t get the words out to anyone else!  She worries about her too much, but I really think Molly has been good for Mama.  I know she’s been good for me.  I hadn’t realized how much I missed having a dog until we got Molly Coddle.  I enjoy all animals, but I have to say I like dogs as pets much more than cats.  My feelings about that remind me of the scene in “The Sound of Music” where the Baroness is realizing that Captain von Trapp is not going to marry her after all, but is in love with Maria.  The Baroness says, “Gayorg, you are far too independent.  You see, I want a man that needs me, or at least needs my money…”  Cats are far too independent – I like a pet that needs me!

Well, enough ramblings.  I hope your weekend is marvelous!

BTW, I am 18 pounds down – just 2 more to hit the 20 pound milestone!  I am soooo grateful!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Heavenly Sunshine!

  1. i’m so glad you posted! the thermostat wars still make me laugh, while totally understanding the frustration & complication they create. what happened to the fake thermostat idea? i still vote for that one! :)and re: !1!8! pounds! WAY TO GO (again!) I am *so* proud of you. πŸ™‚ ((hug))

  2. ABAHM says:

    The fake thermostat is a good idea.  Though you do have to somehow have a real one to control.  I so understand this.  Just last year, before Nana died, we used to go stay and care for them every 2-4 weeks, and the heat in the house was so difficult.  We ended up sleeping with the door into our room closed and the windows open.  Of course every time we went by the thermostat we would turn it down…but Nana and Grandpa were both cold all the time.  I guess the circulation is not so great when you are old.  I know mine isn’t so great though and I always thought it too hot.  They did take to wearing long underware under their clothes and that helped a lot! Way to go with the weight loss!

  3. MissyAllen says:

    Sweet Molly and my Maxy!! πŸ˜€ Tell Gen we need to plan to bake next time! Haha! Love to bake!

  4. I had to smile at your depiction of the thermostat wars… but I’m sure it becomes exhausting after so much of it.I am glad you are getting some sunshine! I’m ready for spring, but dreading summer (and yet looking forward to July for some reason! :).

  5. pettybunch says:

    @ABAHM – I wish my Dad would wear warmer clothing, but he won’t even put on long sleeves!  Before he got old and cold, he would fuss at Mama to put on a sweater when she complained about being cold (she’s always had this problem – thyroid issues) but he gets offended if we tell him to put on a long-sleeved shirt!  “I shouldn’t have to wear a jacket in my own house!”  Old age is funny…

  6. Bettyeboop says:

    Molly is gorgeous!  Just beautiful!  You don’t have to sell me on the merits of having a dog as a pet.  Our Lola is our heart of hearts.  We laugh at her continuously every day.  If she gets any smarter we are in big trouble.  I laughed at your depiction of the Thermostat wars.  I can just see you sneaking around behind Daddy.  Too funny!  We are all four still such little girls when it comes to our Daddy.  Great news on your weight loss.  I am really happy for you.  I laughed out loud at the picture of Dad and Chloe outside.  Looks like they might be in Minnesota or some place.  Chloe’s hat is adorable.  She is starting to do like Scooter’s mom did, shrink steadily.  She looks so tiny sitting there.

  7. AuntGen says:

    I loved your description of the TW also, but I’m in the trenches with you and can attest to the fact that it is no laughing matter, especially when the bill comes due!  Mom looks so cute in her hat and scarf…I just wish I’d gotten her out there an hour earlier.  Molly is precious, and such a friend to Mom.  She was definitely a “God-send”!  And her new “do” is be-utiful!  So encouraged and inspired by your QWL success!  Love you, sisterfriend! 

Leave a Reply

