Great Weekend!


I only have a minute, but I thought I’d share my weekend with you!  It wasn’t anything big, just a bit of respite with some fun thrown in.

But first…I’ve lost my medicine!  I picked it up from the pharmacy on Friday (I’m pretty sure it was Friday!) but absolutely cannot remember what I did with it!  I have searched the car, Mama and Dad’s part of the house, my part of the house – my hubby even went through the trash bag he had already tied up for disposal!  I didn’t need the new bottle until today, so I began looking yesterday morning.  I have tried to reconstruct the day Friday, but my memory is sketchy at best!  I do know that Mama’s therapist was there when I got home, but that doesn’t help me remember where I laid down my package!  I could seriously use some prayer here – it is my thyroid medication I’ve misplaced, and I’m one of those people who can tell right away when it’s time to take another dose – skipping this med hasn’t ever been an option for me!!!

Anyway, back to my weekend – before I knew I’d lost my medicine!  Saturday, I hoped to go weigh in, but just didn’t feel like the hour drive just for that, so I slept in!  That was really nice!  Bill can’t sleep in past 7:00; most mornings he can’t sleep past 5:00.  That has never been a problem with me, although my teenage sleeping in meant 1:00 in the afternoon, and now I usually wake up around 9:00 and lay there drowsily until around 10:00. 

While I was laying there, I heard Daddy and Mama up and could hear Dad getting his breakfast.  He has begun fixing enough for Mama to have one or two pieces of bacon, which she likes wrapped in a piece of bread along with her morning yogurt and orange juice.  When I heard him getting stuff for her, I knew I didn’t have to hurry to get her breakfast.  Usually, Jeanne fixes Mama oatmeal to go along with her bacon fold-over, but since I was going to be home, I knew we could have lunch at a decent time, so I just let her eat what Daddy fixed her.

In the meantime, I took a BATH!  I rarely get to do this because the water heater for Bill and I is really small, so I try to save the hot water for his evening shower.  I even put bubbles in the bath – man it was nice! 

By the time I got myself ready to face the day, Mama and Daddy were both ready for lunch, so I got their lunch, my breakfast, and since Bill had come home in the meantime, I got his lunch for him as well.  Bill decided to stay home and work on our porch project, so I was able to run off to Walmart to pick up a few things for supper Saturday night and lunch Sunday morning. 

By the time I got home, Bill had gotten so much done on the porch!  Bill had been given several large pieces of decking from a job his company was working on, so he kept one for a porch on our part of the house, and the rest he will use for Dannye’s house (with one given in payment for LOTS of work done on the cabin by my amazing nephew and niece, Michael and Amy!)  Bill had our portion propped up in the general vicinity it was going to be attached, but had not had opportunity to attach it or roof it – until Saturday!  Now we have a lovely little outdoor sitting area right outside the back door of our part of the house.  I am so excited about that!  Now if the weather will ever get warm enough to sit out there!  Can you believe we are expecting snow tomorrow?????  “Snow accumulation up to 2 inches.”  Unbelievable!

While I was at Walmart, I received a call from Dannye Reigh.  She and Michael and Amy were going out for Amy’s birthday for dinner and to see a play at the Crighton Theater, and Dannye had forgotten part of her outfit at home.  (She had been house sitting for her employer for several days.)  I was so tickled to take it to her because I got to see the three of them all dressed up in their evening clothes!  They were beautiful!

Mel's Birthday 081.jpg
 (Try to remember I am the photographer, so the pics aren’t that great!  Luckily the subjects are gorgeous!

Back at home, I fixed dinner, which was really good, and Mama and Daddy both enjoyed it!  That is fairly rare, and I was so blessed!

Sunday didn’t turn out as planned – Dannye’s late night out caused a relapse of her very bad cold, so she wasn’t able to go to church, and Bill woke up with a bad headache just waiting to turn migraine with the slightest provocation, so he stayed home, too.  I went to church by myself, which isn’t terrible – just different!  The sermons were so wonderful, though, and because Bill was home with the folks, I was able to go to a wedding shower after the afternoon service!  I was so blessed!  Bill and I don’t stay for afternoon service any more because Mama and Daddy just don’t need to be alone very long at a time, so having the opportunity to stay for the service and go to the shower was a double blessing!  The young lady getting “showered” was one I have watched grow up from a baseball lovin’ tomboy to a beautiful young woman, so the shower was especially fun.  Plus, I was at a table with many church friends and we had such a wonderful time fellowshipping together!

The evening did have to end, but the folks were in good moods when I got home, so we had a nice closing to a wonderful weekend.  The work week has begun, but I feel up to the task now (other than the fact that I NEED MY MEDICINE!!!)

More later…

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Great Weekend!

  1. chix0rgirl says:

    I just had to point out how gorgeous your family is! 🙂 They should model. 

  2. pettybunch says:

    @chix0rgirl – You are so sweet.  Of course, I think they are gorgeous, too! 

  3. Dannye_Reigh says:

    I love happy posts!  I wish I could have gone to church with you! I missed you sooo much!  I am glad you had such a nice weekend!  Love you lots!

  4. they are just lovely! thanks for sharing your weekend. wish we could have spent part of it together! 🙂

  5. wondering04 says:

    Praying you find your medicine, and glad you got some time for yourself this weekend.Heather

  6. pettybunch says:

    @chix0rgirl – @Dannye_Reigh – @sunshinejoy717 – @wondering04 – I found it!!  It wasn’t until 6:00 this evening, but I looked (for the fourth or fifth time) in the cabinet I keep all my meds, and it was hiding behind the door frame of the cabinet door.  I had taken  all the meds out of that cabinet twice, and the stuff out of the adjoining cabinet as well!  I don’t know how I missed it, but praise the Lord, after lots of prayer, and y’alls prayers, I found it.  I am so grateful.  I already feel better, just in the 3 hours since I took my day’s dose.

  7. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I felt like we did get to be together a little since I got to talk to you!  I’m so glad you call me so often!!!!

  8. wondering04 says:

    Praise God for that great news!

  9. chix0rgirl says:

    Glad you found it! Whew. 

  10. So glad you found your meds! Dinner and the play was WONDERFUL!!! (I was born for the Theater!) : ) It was so much fun to get all dressed up! My husband is SO GORGEOUS! Sigh….. : ) I need a copy of this picture!I’m so glad you had such a wonderful weekend! Wish I could have gone to Katie’s shower! I heard it was so nice! Can’t wait ’til the wedding!

  11. I love that picture but I want to see the one where he has his arms around both of us and is lifting his eyebrow! : )

  12. pettybunch says:

    @michaelswoman – Dan told me all the others were blurry – I haven’t seen them.  I’m just not a good photographer!!

Leave a Reply

