A Trend, Perhaps????


Saturday could become my favorite day of the week if it keeps this up!!

I can’t begin to describe the beauty of this day.  Bill awakened early, as is his habit, and it was overcast and cold.  I was allowed to sleep in (again!!) until he came in with freezing cold hands and crawled back in bed!  He had to show me what he’d been up to in the earlier hours, so I sat up to look at pictures.  Here are the ones I loved the best:

birds 006a sm

birds 007csc

The cloudy skies had not lasted long, and the morning progressed into a lovely, almost warm, picture perfect day! Bill and I lollygagged in our house, uploading photos to our Petty Family Photography Facebook Page, talking together, and simply enjoying the moment!  Hunger did finally take over, so Bill got his Eggos while I got ready for the day with the folks.  Mom and Dad slept in a bit, too, so there was no rush. 

We have all now breakfasted and lunched.  I am sitting on our new back porch (Bill’s last Saturday project) listening to the birds singing along with Bill’s radio.  Bill is continuing his work on the porch.  The completed project will be the old porch and new porch connected, and both porches roofed.  We have thought about putting a ramp on the old porch, although Dad and Mom rarely (as in never anymore) come out here; however, when the weather gets warm we think they might enjoy sitting out here with us sometime.  They might still not need the ramp, but it would be there if Mama wanted to go down.

The sky has been the most gorgeous blue today.  I enjoy a little more warmth from the sun than we have yet, but this 60 degrees has been so nice that you won’t hear a hint of a complaint from me.  I’m even barefoot!!  Bill is cutting boards, and the smell of it always flings me back to my childhood when my Daddy was always building something!  The pine smell also reminds me of my little girlies “cooking” outside while their Daddy worked.  They always had pinecones and pine chips simmering on Bill’s wood burning stove.  They made more “Pine Perfume” during those little girl years than could ever be bottled! 

I keep looking for signs of Spring, although I know it’s still too early.  Even the goldfinches haven’t gotten their bright yellows yet.

birds 017cs sm

birds 015cs sm

Jeanne cut the roses back this week – that tells me Spring is coming eventually!  Our ground is still so wet that Bill can’t even mulch up the leaves with the mower, so the grass is still hidden.  This gorgeous day gives hope, though!!  We have a couple of days of rain next week, beginning tomorrow,  and the rains usually mean colder temperatures, but I won’t think about that!  I am simply going to embrace this gift God has given me today!!!!!

I’m guessing it’s time for me to go sit with the folks for a bit.  I hate to leave Mama all alone too long.  Dad sits with her, but he can’t hear her if she talks to him, so she still gets kinda lonely.  I pray you all are having sunshine today – if not outward, at least in your spirits!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Trend, Perhaps????

  1. ABAHM says:

    Lovely day.  So happy to read of these simple blessings.  The birdies are beautiful. I ran out between rain storms this morning, and enjoyed the bursts of sunshine and green things growing.  This afternoon the rain is back, but a good time to rest here at home. 

  2. Hutch5 says:

    what pretty shots of the cardinals~ i’m always struck by the details of nature.. the little bit of black around it’s beak. just one of those things that God didn’t have to stick there.. but He did. 🙂 i like that.looking forward to spring too… i was in a home decor store today and loved all the easter stuff and fun pastel colors everywhere. pretty soon we’ll be living barefoot every day!! 🙂 yay~

  3. oh, that sunshine and greenery and those pretty birds make me REALLY want to come for a little visit. 🙂 spring needs to come SOON!!

  4. pettybunch says:

    @Hutch5 – So funny you should mention the cardinal – I used to tell my kids almost those very words when they were little about this beautiful bird.  I have always been amazed that those feathers know which ones should be red and which black!  Such detail!@sunshinejoy717 – Oh that we could have a little visit!  I know life well enough to know that the 3 months until our trip up will fly past, but it sure seems far!  Just know that although it is not near as cold as y’all are, it is still pretty doggone cold and more rainy than it has been in awhile.  Spring will tease us for at least a month before warmth settles in!Love you!!

  5. Bettyeboop says:

    The birds are so beautiful.  We get more blue jays at the river but occasionally we see a cardinal flashing around and they are just so gorgeous.  Sort of royal. Remember the pictures of the mama blue bird I sent you summer before last that was raising a fat baby black bird that was twice as big as she was.  lol  He worked her so hard; she could not feed him fast enough.  He just hollered non-stop.  Dad Bluejay ha disappeared so we figured as soon as he took one look at what came out of that egg, he told her he was out of there. ha ha

  6. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I laughed out loud when I read your take on Dad Bluejay!  We have a male cardinal here that is bald on his head – just black skin, no crest, no mask, nothing!  He was a baby last year, but we’ve already seen him this year at the feeders.  I think he has even mated, because we’ve seen him feeding other babies!  He’s ugly, but we call him our own!

  7. Ahhh, the beautiful blessing of sunny days after this frigid winter! I will admit freely that it has seemed to be the longest one of my life!I’m glad you were able to enjoy a nice day. Yesterday was lovely for us and I was so thankful. I felt like my heart was soaring, driving around with my windows down and the radio on!

  8. Bettyeboop says:

    All I can say is your bald bird must have a great personality. lol

Leave a Reply

