And a Lovely Sunday!


The loveliness of the weekend didn’t end with Saturday.  Sunday woke us with mildish temperatures and a glowing sky.  Bill again got up early to grab some shots of the moon setting and the sunrise.  I stayed in to get ready for church while enjoying praise and worship music from my Live365 radio.  It was indeed a lovely morning.

Dannye had requested the color of the day to be pink since our Valentine’s Day wear had to be postponed for my beautiful weekend escape.  So The Pettys showed up at church in the brightest of pinks (Bill wore a pink tie – he doesn’t wear pink shirts unless Nathanael is here!).  One of our dear friends kept telling me he needed shades to tone our brightness down!

Our pastor brought one of the best sermons I’ve heard him preach – and I love most all of his sermons!  I’m sure he was not any more articulate than usual.  I was more likely particularly needing this sermon!  At any rate, I was touched, and pray I will be changed by the preaching of the Word of God, and not simply stirred with emotion!

After morning service, Bill, Dannye Reigh, and I went out to lunch with our favorite lunch partner, Rick.  I’ve mentioned our Sunday lunch dates with him before – he is Bill’s lifelong friend, and a precious friend to our whole family.  The pastor and his family sat at the table next to us, and I wonder if they could hear each other talk as our table laughed uproariously through the entire meal!!  What a fun time.

Bill had a meeting at 2:00, so Dan and I visited with some church friends until they were done.  Afterward, we headed home and had an hour of wonderful conversation between the three of us.  That doesn’t happen all that often anymore because of the separate directions in which we are often going, so I cherish it all the more!  Since Dannye had ridden with us to church, we dropped her off at her house and I had the opportunity to see the completed bathtub/shower tile project in the Cabin.  I also saw Dannye’s bedroom for the first time with her beautiful drapes installed.  As it has been for almost 3 years, Cabin construction is going pretty slowly, it is nice to see each accomplishment, no matter how small.

Mama doesn’t seem to be feeling her best lately.  Nothing we can really put our finger on, and nothing really big; she just seems a little “off her groove”.  Saturday, after I finished blogging and went in to visit with them, we had a wonderful time of real conversation between the three of us.  Daddy and Mama were remembering people and places together, which was so delightful to listen to!  Yesterday, Mama just seemed tired.  As a matter of fact, she got her night clothes on at 7:00 and laid down in her room.  I sat with her a bit, and she seemed alright mentally, so I went on to “my house” and began preparing for the week ahead.  I haven’t seen Mama today, but Jeanne said she has already had therapy.  I hope it is a good day for her!

I’d better get off.  It’s time for me to go weigh in.  I always dread it, but I don’t know why – I really am losing weight consistently, so there should be nothing to fear, right? 

Here is some of the fruit of Bill’s early morning efforts:

sunrise for xanga

waterway 025sm  

I guess I didn’t upload the moon pics, but these sunrises are amazing!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And a Lovely Sunday!

  1. ABAHM says:

    Glad your weekend continued so lovely.  Those sunrises are gorgeous!! 

  2. oh, that first one makes me want to jump inside it! how absolutely breathtaking.thanks for talking earlier—i’m much less worried about everything!oh, and ps. did i tell you that roo is asking for it to be her birthday? oh my gosh. so funny. i’ll take a video when she gets up and send it to dad. 🙂

  3. billseye says:

    Actually, Both of those shots are sunsets. I’ll put up some sunrises for ya, if you talk real nice to me.  /;^}

  4. pettybunch says:

    @billseye – Vexing!  Why didn’t you tell me that last night???

  5. momstranz says:

    Just winding down from a long weekend and the drive today.  Sitting in a hotel and came across your posting and Bill’s pictures.  So beautiful!!  He has a gift, indeed!!  And a blizzard in Texas is C-R-A-Z-Y!!  It looked very beautiful!!  Hope it doesn’t stay too long and that the magnolia still blooms.  Would Bill take a picture for me of a magnolia in bloom?  I’ve been told it’s gorgeous, but I’ve never seen it!

Leave a Reply

