Two Events of Epoch Proportions!


This was another of those sweet weekends – slow, nice weather, good company, a few accomplishments.  I didn’t even try to blog about it because it seemed redundant!  As the weekend wound down to a close, though, there were two epoch events that I thought my Xanga friends would love to hear about!

 

The first, and by far the most epoch, is that my grandbaby is no longer a baby!  This weekend she began wearing Big Girl panties, and is using the potty chair like a pro!  Saturday morning I received a text from Emily (they had tried to call, but cell reception at Mama’s house is iffy, at best) that said, “Guess who is so big that she went…[both]… in the potty chair…in the SAME MORNING!!!!!  Happy Mama Dance!!”  A few minutes later, my phone actually rang, so I ran outside to answer it.  Arulai’s sweet voice told me, “Nonnie, I’m a big gwirl.  I potty in my potty chair!”  She also told Papa, and Emily said she told anyone who would listen that she is “a BIG gwirl!”  Sunday morning, I received another text that Arulai actually woke her mommy up (in a bone dry diaper) calling, “Mama, I go potty wike big gwirl, pweese?  I haf go potty!” 

 

As silly as this sounds as I’m writing it down – after all, I am a serious adult here – it was truly a HUGE thing to me.  First, potty training can be such a daunting task, as well as really frustrating!  Second, even though I am 1200 miles away, I was made a part of this gigantic step in my granddaughter’s life!  Well, also in Emily and Nathanael’s lives!  I had 2 babies in diapers at one time – twice!  I know how difficult that can be both physically and financially!  So here she is – my Big Gwirl Granddaughter with her Big Gwirl panties!

 

 Arulai and her big girl panties

 

The second epoch event of the weekend happened Sunday morning.  (Church is always epoch as a corporate meeting with our Lord, but this event happened before we left the house.)  I was just about ready for church when I heard Molly scratching hysterically on the door, wanting back in.  It’s not necessarily unusual for her to become hysterical if I didn’t hear her the first time she scratches – she’s very impatient!  So I came down the hall, opened to door, and there’s my sweet little lady-dog…………..

 

WITH A DEAD RABBIT IN HER MOUTH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

I’d have given anything to have gotten a picture of her holding that rabbit up to me like a prize of some sort, but after I screamed loud and long, she dropped it!  I quickly shut the door – I mean, she wanted to bring the thing into the house! – and called for Bill.  “Come see what your dog just brought to the door!”  He said, “My dog???”  I told him that when he saw what she had, he would know why she was his dog at that moment!   Bless my sweet hubby’s heart, he cleaned up the rabbit and Molly, thankfully before he had his breakfast or he might have lost it, and we went off to church.  I told Bill not to scold her – she was so proud of herself!  So now we call her our Little Rabbit Dog, and I think her head is held a little higher and her step a little bouncier!

Molly 001

God bless your day!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Two Events of Epoch Proportions!

  1. ABAHM says:

    Arulai is a big girl!  It is a big event.  My husband threatened to throw a party.  Oh my, I can see why your little hunter became Bill’s dog!  I did lol.

  2. Aw, go little Ruly!!! I am happy for them that it seems to be coming easily for her.And also… I had to laugh at your dog/dead rabbit story… because I would have screamed too! LOL even though a dead rabbit is no serious threat, still… something about a sweet little pet with a dead anything in its mouth is startling!

  3. I’m so glad you posted!! i have an unfinished, saved-on-private-setting post about our happy transition, and there has just NOT been time to update at ALL!! argh. she’s so big, isn’t she? i love that she’s just DECIDED that she’s a big girl now—and i cannot believe how easy this transition was. unreal.thanks for lending your daughter for this coming week—though truth be told, we’ve have stolen her anyway, even if you hadn’t been so happily willing to send her our direction. 😉 miss you!

  4. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I hope it’s okay that I jumped the gun!

  5. AuntGen says:

    I have thought AJ was a big gwirl for a long time, but this is certainly a wonderful new developement.  Big girl panties are somtimes tough to put on….  I know!  She is growing up so fast, it seems.  I’m especially blessed that you and your kids are so involved with each other that you were naturally included in this big step in AJ’s life.  As for Molls, you know her Gen is proud and would have had a hard time not letting her bring her trophy in the house.  I might have had it mounted!

  6. Bettyeboop says:

    I had not read this post until this minute.  Don’t know how i missed the notification!  It is wonderful news about Roo and her potty smarts.  She is such a big girl by nature, I think it was meant to be this way.  She just wanted to be a big girl so did what it took to be one.  Good for her.  I love your story about Molly.  Many years ago my precious Bridgette brought me the back half of a gopher!!!!!  Never saw the front half!  It sure made me sick to think about it.  Yuckie!!!  She was also the best mouser in Fairfield.  And had to make each one a gift for me.  Talk about screaming a lot.  If my sweet Miss Lola did something like that I would take a fit.  She had a baby squirrel cornered one day and Scooter said he didn’t know what she might have done eventually but she just kept poking at it with her paw and rolling it over and such.  Meanwhile mama and daddy squirrel were running in and out hollering at her and trying to distract her.  She would make a half hearted run at them and run right back to the baby before it could get away.  Scooter was afraid of what she might do so he went out and picked up the baby and put it on the tree and up it went.  Lola is such a submissive she probably figured she had a playmate.

  7. Hutch5 says:

    potty training IS epoch!!! for both mommy and child.. i remember calling my mom so many times during and wondering if it was really going to work. she would assure me that no one had ever went to their wedding day wearing a diaper! 😉 so neat you got to feel a part and share in the happy dance, even though hundreds of miles away. that made me smile realizing how our mom’s are right there with us – always!and your dog!! oh my goodness. it looks like a rabbit would be nearly as big as she is!!! i’d say there’s cause for a little strutting on her part~ that’s quite the accomplishment. :)have a great sunday~ .

Leave a Reply

