Cedar and Waxwing


I absolutely don’t have time to do this, but I just have to! 

Many years ago, my kids and I were avid bird watchers!  We loved every kind of bird we’d ever seen, and many we’d not had the opportunity to see yet!  My father-in-law even taught us to love the ugly buzzard because he keeps the road kill cleaned up!

When the girls were little, someone (I can’t remember who) gave my girls some simple marionettes that were funny looking birds with long necks and legs.  Being the avid birders they were, they immediately named their puppets “Cedar” and “Waxwing”.  Those girls played with those puppets until they simply fell apart!  Fun, fun times!

Well, yesterday, my Dannye Reigh had the rare opportunity to bring her babysitting kids to her house for the day.  While she was there she spotted a lone Cedar Waxwing in the Nandina bushes eating berries.  This bird was quite a ham, almost posing for his portrait to be taken.  He didn’t show any fear of Dan at all, and she got some amazing shots of him! 

He does have a marked flaw – his bottom beak is broken.  He seemed to be eating well enough, though!  Here are some shots of this beautiful bird – I am only posting a few of the 300+ she took!!!!!

Cedar Waxwing 17 
In this first one, Dannye fixed his little beak for him – I wish it were that easy in real life!

Cedar Waxwing 16
If you look closely, you can see the broken part bent down.

 

Cedar Waxwing 14

Cedar Waxwing 13
No problem eating, though!

Cedar Waxwing 11

Cedar Waxwing 10
Isn’t he a beautiful bird???

Cedar Waxwing 9

Cedar Waxwing 8

Cedar Waxwing 7

Cedar Waxwing 6

Cedar Waxwing 5

Cedar Waxwing 4

Cedar Waxwing 3

Cedar Waxwing 2
Here his little “flaw” is quite noticeable, but he’s gorgeous, anyway!

I’d better get off here.  Hope you enjoyed Mr. Cedar Waxwing!!

God bless your day!

 

  

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cedar and Waxwing

  1. thejbub says:

    Ohhh I love these shots! what a beautiful bird!!!! I love the bright colors! So springy and happy!!

  2. what a pretty bird! love the colors.

  3. Bettyeboop says:

    Beautiful bird and Dan’sphotos are like art.

  4. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I know, right?  Are you home?? 

  5. Bettyeboop says:

    Mo haven’t left yet. Later today.

  6. ABAHM says:

    Thanks for sharing. He is such a beautiful bird.  So glad he is able to eat alright. 

Leave a Reply

