Guess What?


Tomorrow is my birthday!! 

I’m pretty excited about this birthday.  I will be 50 years old tomorrow.  It feels pretty odd, this turning 50 when I feel verly little different than I did when I was turning 30, or 40.  As I am continuing to lose weight, I even feel very little difference physically than I did ten years ago! 

I was hoping to mark this birthday in an unusual way for me, but, alas, it may not work out.  You see, I have a nephew who is turning 50 today – he is one day older than I.  Mark and I have always felt a kind of kinship because of this.  We joke about being twins from different mothers – he is my oldest sister’s oldest son.  Mark is a really neat person, very special in my book!  He is quite layed-back in personality, very sensitive and loving.  He and I didn’t have the opportunity to grow up together since he is a Marine “brat” and they were stationed all over the country including Hawaii during his young life.  That didn’t stop us from enjoying each other when we did get together, though!!  And I think more now than ever we feel that kindred spirit – seems growing older does that to people!!  Mark lives only an hour away now, but we both have work and family, plus having the dubious pleasure of being born very near Easter, which always adds events to the calendar!  Mark is celebrating his 50th birthday in a really fun way – he and his brothers’ rock band (I don’t know if they call them that anymore) will be playing together at one of their favorite venues.  He always says he is the oldest rocker there besides his Mom!

Strader Christmas (11)a small
Mark is sitting next to my Daddy – he is the oldest grandchild.

My family has planned a small gathering for me tomorrow evening.  Other than my desire for Mark and I to share our big birthday, I really wanted to have my family and my two dearest friends, Lori and Terri, here.  I’m not sure if both friends can come, and I’m pretty sure my sister, Bettye is not going to be able to come, but my local family are coming.  I will miss the ones that aren’t able to come, but I am so blessed to have so much family near me, and I know we will have so much fun!  Of course, ideal conditions would have my two out of state kids and their families, too, but I will be grateful for the amazing blessings I have right here!

It’s time to get Mama and Daddy some supper – they ate lunch very late, so Bill and I ate a little earlier – I’d better get off here.

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Guess What?

  1. Happy, Happy, Happy Birthday!  Have a great day!

  2. Mommy2Drew says:

    Have a fabulous birthday!! πŸ™‚

  3. ABAHM says:

    May the Lord bless you with a wonderful Birthday!  Hugs! Jenny

  4. AuntGen says:

    Happy Birthday… and MANY more!  I love you “big sis”!

  5. thejbub says:

    Happy HAPPY birthday to YOU!!!! Hope your day is full of blessings!! love to you!sb~

  6. happy happy happy happy happy HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! ((hugs)) from all of us. i wish we could celebrate with you tonight!!ps. AJ *finally* sang “Happy Birthday to Nonnie”—with great gusto and feeling and expression—aaaafffter we hung up the phone. har. har. πŸ™‚

  7. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – Well, of course she did!  At least she wanted to give me a zerbert!!  And wanted me to blow out my candles!  I so wish you could be here, too.  I am thankful, though, that I have a time frame pretty settled when we will see each other!!

  8. @pettybunch – oh, me too!! i about died when they set nate’s work trip for THAT week. ugh. SO glad it’s going to work for y’all to come right afterwards. hopefully i won’t be too much of a basketcase by that point! πŸ™‚

  9. Abbiegirl says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY (A DAY LATE) MRS. PETTY! I LOVE YOU, I HOPE IT WAS WONDERFUL!

  10. pettybunch says:

    @piecedtreasures – @Mommy2Drew – @ABAHM – @thejbub – @Crazy4Photos – Thank you all for the birthday wishes!  I was so blessed by all the well wishes, and I really did have the happiest of birthdays!@AuntGen – Thank you for all you did for my birthday.  You think you didn’t do much, but so much wouldn’t have gotten done without you!  There is alot to be said for organizing and delegating. And perhaps a little “pushing”?  I love you!@sunshinejoy717 – Again, thank you for the phone call and the Happy Birthday song by you and Bo!  You are indeed cooler than “she” is!

  11. pettybunch says:

    @Abbiegirl – Thank you, Abbie!  I saw your birthday wishes on Dan’s FB! 

  12. Bettyeboop says:

    You are so right.  I have been neglecting to comment and I am so sorry.  My brain is so full all the time of one thing or another.  I read your posts while checking my email.  I get the entire post so don’t go to the website at that time.  I always plan to do it when I finish checking my mail.  Then you know what happens.  A butterfly flits by.  Not really, but I feel like the typical ADHD person who can’t focus for more than a few seconds at a time.  Plus, some of the time I post comments to Bill’s and Dannye’s posts on FB and in my mind I have replied to The Petty’s in general.  We leave for the river next Wednesday and I have been calling and cancelling stuff and setting up more stuff and seeing doctors and mailing off prescriptions.  Gack!  On top of everything else, Dr. Kerschenbaum has disappeared!  I’m sure someone knows where he is but Sadler Clinic sure won’t tell anyone.  Dirty rotten people.  I called his office Monday a week ago and found out they had just been notified that he was no longer with Sadler.  I finally made an appointment for both of us to see the doctor taking his cases since there are some prescrips I have to have before we leave.  We see him next Monday and then I have a pain epidural on Tuesday before we leave on Wednesday.  Brain overload!!!!!!!!  Sunday we are celebrating Jessi’s 17th birthday (can you believe it) but not sure how yet.  Mark is trying to get things lined out with her.  Well, I hope I have caught you up a little on my crazy life.  Plus I am still dieting (32 lbs now) and I borrowed Mikey’s treadmill until we leave and am trying to build up my stamina a tiny bit before we leave.  I love you all and will call before we leave.

  13. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I didn’t know you were dieting!  I’m down 30 lbs., too!  I love it, although sometimes I just want a nice bowl of Chicken & Dumplings!!  I knew you were on overload, but since I hadn’t seen footprints I thought you weren’t seeing my posts at all.  At least I know you’re getting them.  It’s okay if you don’t comment – although I miss you so much.  FB just isn’t enough for me – I need more than a status!!I wish we could see y’all before you go, but maybe we will get over to the river sometime this summer.  We loved it so last time we came.  Hope all is well with the check-ups and shots.  I hope your shot works wonderfully.  Mom’s didn’t seem to make a dent – she is suffering terribly right now.Love you bunches!Nina

  14. Bettyeboop says:

    I’m sorry, I thought I told you a while back that I was trying to lose some weight.  I told someone.  lol  Maybe it was Greta.  I have not heard from her since she and her sister-in-law got back from their cruise.  I would love a bowl of chicken and dumplings, too.  ha  But I can’t complain.  This is the best plan I ever set up for myself.  I knew the first thing I had to get rid of was my worst failings, sweets and ice cream.  Then sodas.  I found an app for my iphone where I can record a food diary daily and it has all the resourses to look up just about everything I eat either by catagory or brand.  Even fast food.  Did you know a Burger King mustard whopper junior only has 260 calories!!!  Add mayo and it adds 80 calories!!!  Crazy.  I realized since I have a small stomach it should not be hard to eat several small meals a day and not be hungry.  So I probably eat about five times a day, sometimes only being a bowl of grapes or a cup of yogurt.  I eat a total of less than a 1000 calories a day.  Usually around 900 or a litte less.  For drinks I have either tomato juice, skim milk or orange juice and Perrier, mixed 50/50.  I love that.  Sometimes I just have a bottle of Perrier.  So that’s kind of it in a nutshell.  I have been doing this since the 7th of March, I think.  Keep me in your prayers.  My worst problem is how long I always have to be on a diet.  I get so tired of it. 

  15. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – I think recording my diet is probably the main thing that causes me to stick to this diet.  It’s hard to escape what’s written in black and white!  I also hate to write down my bad decisions, so knowing I have to turn in that sheet makes me really think about those decisions!Glad you’re doing well with the diet – and you’re right, it does get tiring.  But I really, really want to get rid of this extra weight.  I just need to!

  16. Bettyeboop says:

    I don’t have to give anyone my food list.  I wouldn’t like that. ha  But it does help me keep up with my calories during the day and there is not too much I can not find in the search portion of the program.  Being able to look up fast food restaurants is great.  I’ve been stuck on 32 lbs. for about 3 days and that always frustrates me, especially when I know I am only eating 8 or 900 calories a day.  We took Jessi to Johnny Rockett’s today for her birthday and I would have given anything for a good old fashioned malt!!  But I had water with lemon instead.  And a grilled chicken green salad.  Very good.  Of course I had to watch Scooter eat one of their wonderful big messy chili dogs.  ha

Leave a Reply

