“Seniors” and Bluebonnets


Today was a glorious day!  It didn’t begin that way – cloudy, drizzly, and a little cold.  I had an idea for a few pictures I wanted to take, but since I am in the EARLY learning stages of photography I needed Bill’s help.  He had so much to do today, but so graciously went with me as “Teacher”.  We arrived at the appointed place and Bill realized his camera battery was just about dead.  It was okay, though, since I had my camera.  He was showing me something about lighting – I have no clue what it was because as I shot the second picture, my camera battery died, too!  I felt so bad, taking him away from his plans for naught!  Again, my loving hubby kept telling me it wasn’t for nothing because we got to spend the morning together!

My BIG plans for the day was to take Daddy and Mama out looking at the wildflowers.  Oh, the highways and byways are covered with so many colors of wildflowers right now!  Yellow definitely seems to be the most profuse this year, but there are masses of Bluebonnets (the Texas State Flower) and Indian Paintbrushes, as well.  We headed west toward Brenham, our ultimate destination to be K-Bobs for a late lunch/early dinner.

Bill charged my camera battery, then Daddy, Mama, and I loaded up in the van to head out for the day.  We had such a good day!  Mama was feeling fairly well, and Daddy was in a pretty “up” mood.  I was so happy to get out in the sunshine, which had finally decided to stay around for the remainder of the day.  We talked and ooohhhed and aaaahhhhed over the roadside beauty.  Mama kept her head even better than some of her days at home lately.  She chatted about the flowers, the little towns we went through, her past, and all kinds of things.  She has been having so much trouble with her speech lately, but not quite as much today.  It was so nice, and I just bet even nicer for her than for me!

Daddy had to sit in the back seat, from which is hard enough to hear what’s going on when you have good hearing.  Daddy can’t hear thunder, so he really can’t hear what’s going on from back there!  Daddy is also legally blind, but we are so thankful his vision problem (macular degeneration) only causes partial loss of vision – he has peripheral vision only.  But even with his poor vision, he offered occasional commentary on particularly outstanding fields of color.  He also told a story or two, which is my favorite part of riding around with Daddy.  His stories are the greatest!  It is truly a miracle he and his four brothers made it into adulthood after all the stunts they pulled as youngsters!  What fun they had, though!

Well, I’m going to show you a few pictures of our day.  Again, remember what a novice I am with a camera. 

Flower tour April 2010 001a 
One of the two shots I took this morning – not great, but the field is totally amazing!

Flower tour April 2010 003a
Bill had told me about this huge field of Bluebonnets – oh, WOW! 

Flower tour April 2010 004a 
It just went on and on…

Flower tour April 2010 005b 
I love it when there are a few Paintbrushes thrown in!

Flower tour April 2010 006b  
Up close and personal!

Flower tour April 2010 008a
More fields of Bluebonnets

Flower tour April 2010 009a

Flower tour April 2010 013a
My sweet parents

Flower tour April 2010 016a
I know – I almost cut Mama out of the photo!

Flower tour April 2010 014a  
Mama is easily distracted, but she was so sweet about getting out of the van and climbing over those flowers for these pictures!

After a great lunch/dinner at K-Bobs, Dad and Mama were ready to head for the house.  Sometimes I forget that Daddy is nearly 90 years old (this June); he is really spry for 90!!  Bless his heart, though, he fell asleep as soon as he sat down in his chair!  Mama isn’t spry for any age, so I knew she was tired!  They both said they had a really good time, though.  I know I did!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “Seniors” and Bluebonnets

  1. chix0rgirl says:

    You’re such a sweet daughter and wife… and obviously, mama and sister too but that really shines through in this post! Lovely pictures – you’ll be a pro in no time. ๐Ÿ™‚ 

  2. I love that, not only did you take your parents out for this drive, but you ENJOYED IT!!  Many times, it’s easy to do the right thing, but it so obviously came from your heart!  I know.  My grandma lived with us for about the last 12 years of her life.God bless you for serving from your heart!

  3. My husband and I enjoyed seeing your pictures!  We lived in the Houston area for 2 years, and we love bluebonnets!  Haven’t seen them like that since we moved in 1988, so thank you for showing them to us!!!

  4. pettybunch says:

    @piecedtreasures – They say that because of our very wet Fall and Winter, this should be the best year for bluebonnets in over a decade.  They are truly gorgeous!!

  5. ohhhh. bluuuuebonnnets.i’ll be right there. ๐Ÿ™‚ i am so thrilled that Mamaw & Granddad went with you! you’re amazing. i bet they loved those gorgeous flowers!ps. i *really* miss you this weekend—I’ve been making baby-preparation headway, and NOBODY wants to sit and ohh & ahh over the tiny diapers and assortment of baby clothes I’ve collected! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ want to join me for an afternoon? love you.

  6. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – I’ll be right there!!  Yes, I’d love to ooohhh and aaahhh with you – you should have heard Dad and me over your stroller this morning – I was showing it to him.  Just think – in about 2 weeks or so, you’ll have a new baby to cuddle.  And in about 6 weeks, I will be there in person to cuddle both of you!

  7. ABAHM says:

    Those fields are so beautiful!  I was a teary eyed by the end of the post thinking of you all out together.  I know how it is to take that enjoyment.  I think you Daddy looks so cute in those overalls with the flowers!  That is special that they went out to pose for you.  

  8. We are having such a breath taking Spring this year! Flowers, flowers everywhere! Bright green grass and trees! Pretty blue skies and big white puffy clouds! God’s creation is just amazing! So glad y’all got to get out and enjoy it! Great pictures! Love you! : )

  9. AuntGen says:

    I think you are a pretty good photographer!  I loved the bluebonnets, but expected to see Mama and Daddy smiling.  Why so solomn, I wonder?  They both told me what a good day they had, and seemed even enthusiastic about it.  I’m glad you all enjoyed your outing.  It is one that I wish we could have done together.  I love you, Gen

  10. pettybunch says:

    @AuntGen – Neither of them smile for pics anymore.  Mama has to be reminded continually – she just forgets.  Dad just doesn’t – I don’t know why!!  We did have a great day – I promise!!

  11. AuntGen says:

    I knew you did, but Mom smiles so much otherwise, I expected smiles in the pictures.  Dad wouldn’t even on command?

  12. pettybunch says:

    @AuntGen – Didn’t try – I was just trying to get the picture sothey could get back in the van – they were already tired!

  13. Bettyeboop says:

    The pictures are beautiful.  The fields of bluebonnets are amazing, especially that one that just goes on and on.  God is truly artistic, isn’t He?  The ones of Dad and Chloe are very special.  As I read, I was picturing you driving along, just chatting away with them.  Wouldn’t it be so wonderful if Dad could still hear.  I just hate that for him.  And for us, too.  LOL  I am ready to hear one of Dad’s stories.  He’s the greatest.  So are you!

  14. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – About 2 – 3 weeks ago, we received Dad’s hearing aids back from VA where we had sent them to be repaired.  He began wearing the left one, and now wears it just about all the time.  His right ear is almost totally deaf, and until we go to the VA appt. next month, that won’t change.  Anyway, while his hearing isn’t good, it is so much better with the hearing aid – even just one!!  He still tells a few stories, although he goes in cycles of telling the same few over and over, then a new few.Love you, and it is so good to hear from you!!

  15. Bettyeboop says:

    That’s wonderful news about the hearing aid.  I don’t know if you were old enough to remember but I am sure you have heard many times that Big Daddy was already telling the same stories over and over at a much younger age than Daddy is.  I think Big Daddy just loved to tell stories so much he didn’t care if they were the same stories all the time.  LOL  Hey, no one was going to correct him.  We just smiled and listened.  ha

Leave a Reply

