Sweet Mama


“Nina, are you going to keep this okra?”  Mama asked as I began cleaning up the kitchen after supper.  “No, Mama, it won’t be eaten again.” 

Mama always helps me clean up after supper.  She doesn’t think she helps much, but she usually scrapes the plates and puts away the condiments.

“Nina, are you going to keep this okra?”  Now I am loading the dishwasher with the preparation dishes.  “No, Mama, I don’t think we’ll keep it.”  She begins putting some of the scraps in the okra bowl.

The last couple of days Mama has had a harder time with her “job” after supper.  She has begun picking up each individual crumb off her plate with her fork or spoon, then puts it in a napkin, or sometimes another plate that she has designated the scrap plate.

“Nina, are you going to keep this okra?”  I look at the okra bowl with the obvious supper remains on top of the okra.  “No, Mama, you didn’t like that okra – we won’t keep it.”

Mama frets about not helping me more.  “I feel lazy,” she says.  She is not lazy at all – never could she have been accused of being lazy!  Tonight I watched her trying to pick up each crumb; she hadn’t even noticed the other dirty plates that needed to be scraped.  You know, part of me really does want to say, “Mama, don’t worry about those crumbs!  Scrape the other plates!”  Tonight, though, I kept seeing my Mama trying so hard to help me, perhaps as Dannye Reigh and Pamela did when they were very small, and my heart just swelled with love for her.  She is so sweet, so humble in her weakness right now.  I am blessed to serve her in any way I can.

“Nina, are you going to keep this okra?”  “No, Mama, let’s just throw that right into the garbage!”

Don’t miss the blessings staring you right in the face….

Mamaw 2009 Reunion

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sweet Mama

  1. I really enjoyed this post, and what truth. I don’t know your Mama but her sweetness shines so clearly through your stories!

  2. Your perspective is always so lovely, Mama. Thanks for allowing Christ to love through you!!Loves and miss-you’s from up here. 🙂

  3. Mottsngbury says:

    Nina, that was so sweet & reminded me of the start of Mom’s Alz. Whenever I was there to cook a meal for them, she tried to help as well. It saddened me to see that she had forgotten how to set the table & worked so hard to get it “right”.  She rearranged it & would ask if that was “right”. I’d have to reassure her that it was perfect even if one had 4 forks & another might have the 4 spoons.  Like you said, your heart is so full of love and PAIN I just wanted to cry. But, I’d just hold her & hug her & tell her how pretty she’d made the table. Our sweet mamas……like you said, what a blessing they are. Love you, Nina!

  4. pettybunch says:

    @Mottsngbury – I think of you and your Mama just about daily as we go through our routines around here.  Everything has to be just right, or Mama can’t go on to the next thing.  Often, though, it never gets just right to her – she keeps working on it and working on it.  Jeanne and I try to hug and pat both Mama and Daddy more each day – they both really love the touch, and it seems to encourage Mama so much.  Love you, Motts!

  5. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – Thank you for A.J.’s call this morning!  And for “your turn”!!!!  Loves and miss-you’s right back atcha!

  6. Mottsngbury says:

    Even laying in that hospital bed not knowing anything else, my mama can still give kisses!!  I love to snuzzle her neck over & over when I’m there & give her lots of kisses.  Sometimes I’ll just half lay on the bed w/her & hold her……..now I’m weepy…….sorry……….love you!

  7. Bettyeboop says:

    I love that picture of Chloe.  I can’t remember when it was taken but I remember seeing it before.  Your beautiful post reminded me of visiting Mom at Cartmell when she was still being taken to the dining room in her wheel chair and the aides would put these big wonderful bibs on the patients and one or two aides would sit at each table.  Some could still eat fairly unassisted but Mom had reached the point of being fed.  She was just like a baby.  I always liked to visit during lunch so I could feed her and feel like there was some kind of connection that way.  Sometimes Mom would clench her mouth shut and refuse a bite of some food or another.  So I would give her something she liked better and then a couple of bites later offer her the refused food again and she would take it.  She had forgotten that she didn’t want to eat that.  I remember she loved drinking her iced tea.  It was scary because she could get strangled.  Now she has a feeding tube and I don’t even like to think about that!

  8. pettybunch says:

    @Bettyeboop – Mama sometimes gets strangled on her drink, or occasionally her night time pills.  Sad to think of your Mom on a feeding tube – I can’t imagine!That pic of Mama is from the reunion – I guess this past year, but maybe 3 years ago.  She didn’t go 2 years ago.

  9. billseye says:

    Did we ask the blessing?I love you Nina

  10. pettybunch says:

    @billseye – I love you, too, Baby!

  11. *snif snif* Your post made me cry! Thank you for taking such good care of Mamaw! Love you!

Leave a Reply

