AWOL


Wow, has it been a long week!  So much has happened, I hardly know how to write it all down.  I think I’ll begin with last Friday, and see what comes out!

Well, actually, I think this saga began before Friday.  Mama’s pain management doctor recently changed her pain medication from Darvoset to Methadone.  We were a little apprehensive, but she was in so much pain we thought it would be worth a try.  There seems to have been a miscommunication as to the dosage.  (Jeanne and I seemed to be on the same page, but the doctor was evidently in another book!!)  All this to say Mama was over medicated, and soon became completely out of it! 

Another issue we had was one of the side effects of years of taking pain meds – and believe me, you don’t want a detailed description!  Let’s just say that Mama’s digestive tract was working pretty good at the beginning, but seemed to shut down in the “end”!!!  This was the problem that sent us to the Emergency Room last Friday.  I don’t really want to describe all that they found, nor all that they did for Mama, but in the treating, they discovered quite a bit of blood (old blood!) in her colon/intestines.  This lead to a 4 day hospital stay, several tests, and by Monday, a very confused Mama!  Jeanne and I stayed with her Friday night, during which Jeanne go NO sleep at all.  I got very little, but I don’t think she even dozed!!  I sent Jeanne home Saturday evening because she really needed some rest, and I stayed for the duration.

Sunday Mama and I had visitors!  Bill, Dannye, Dave and Karla all came up to the hospital for Mother’s Day.  It really brightened Mama’s day!  (Didn’t do me any harm, either!!!)  Bill brought me a sweet photo album of my kids and grandkids, and Dannye brought a sweet little teapot and cup, and a notepad with a scripture on it.  She also made Mama and me a beautiful corsage for Mother’s Day.  She usually makes one for all of us to wear to church on Mother’s Day, but since we weren’t able to go to church, we had our beautiful flowers to brighten up our hospital room!  It was a beautiful day!!

The doctors wanted to do some tests, but weren’t sure she could withstand some of the more intrusive ones.  She did have an upper GI, but was not able to complete the lower, nor the X-ray with barium contrast enema.  These tests were done (or attempted) Saturday, Sunday, and Monday, over which time Mama’s bleeding slowed, then pretty much stopped.  She was also becoming increasingly confused being away from home.  Mama’s primary care physician was not on call over the weekend, but came in on Monday.  We love him!!!  After another day of attempted and failed testing, he came in Monday evening and told us we were going home!  Oh, how happy we were!!!!!

Coming home presented its own set of problems, but each day Mama gets better and better.  Any change of venue confuses her – she thought at first we were still at the hospital.  Then she wanted to go home, but knew she was at home, but not her real home…  At first, she didn’t remember how to do anything, even the simplest things.  She was also very scared of being alone and of the dark.  Now, though, we are back to our normal.  She still forgets lots of things, but seems settled back into our regular lives here at home.  I am thankful for that, I have to say!!!  Even though our normal isn’t really normal, it is better than our last few days’ experiences!

And now I have to go.  Bill and I have been watching a movie on this rainy Saturday morning, but it’s over and I need to get Mama’s breakfast ready.  She is awake, but wasn’t ready to get up.  She’ll smell the bacon and be ready, though!!!

I really hope to get on here more often – I miss my Xanga friends!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to AWOL

  1. ABAHM says:

    Oh my, what a week you have had.  I am glad that your mama is home again and so are you!  Praying she settles in again.  Bacon sounds good! 

  2. maryhurlbut says:

    Even though you are in another state and we’ve never met in person, I feel so close. We have shared simple joys and those trials of life…through it all I feel great affection for you and yours. Praying for you mom, and so glad you had a sweet, unexpected Mother’s Day 

  3. my heart feels so sad for poor Mamaw! so glad she has y’all to so ably care for her.love you. 26 days!

  4. pettybunch says:

    @maryhurlbut – I am so glad you wrote that sentiment – I feel the same way for you and Jenny, and am so thankful for my faraway friends!  And I do consider y’all friends!@sunshinejoy717 – Twenty six days sounds so wonderful to me – twenty five will sound better, but 5,4,3,2,1 will have me beside myself!!

  5. Oh your poor Mama! I’m so sorry for all of you that you had to go through this. It can be so worrisome when your parents or grandparents are in such a physical state. I’m so glad things are lining out again. Bless her heart, it must be traumatic for her to go through all of that. Praying for continued recovery!

Leave a Reply

