A Hard Day’s Night!


Wow!  That’s all I have to say!!!  Our friend Rick told Pastor that if he had a video camera on the Petty family, no one else in the church would think they had any problems! 

Mama has had good and bad days – good and bad moments actually – since she’s been home from the hospital.  For some reason she is often afraid to be alone.    It really breaks my heart for her.  She seems like a lost little girl.  She has also decided that she can’t do some things on her own now, like get up out of her chair.  She really can, but for some reason doesn’t think she can.  I get a little frustrated with her about it, but I learned a long time ago that venting frustration at her only makes things worse.  So I try to keep my grip and just talk her through things.  Most of the time I am successful.  I am also learning that diversion is so very helpful.  If I even slightly divert the conversation when she is whiny or fussy, her attitude can change in an instant!  This is good!

One of our recent issues since being home from the hospital had nothing at all to do with Mama.  This past Saturday I had been in the house with the folks, watching baseball, sticking close to Mama during her clingy times, etc.  I began to have a bit of a headache, and thought maybe some fresh air would do me some good.  Molly had not been feeling well lately – worms, we suspect – so I took her out with me to go on a bike ride.  She LOVES running alongside me as I ride.  (This is a new adventure for me – I haven’t ridden a bicycle in YEARS!!!)  Well, anyway, Bill and I got on the bikes and rode a few trips just up and down the road in front of the house, not going too far either way.  Our neighbor yelled, “You didn’t go very far!”  To which I replied, “When you start out doing this at 50 years old, you don’t go very far!!”  It was fun, but my knees were telling me it was time to get off.  So I veered into the driveway while Bill made one more pass.  Molly came with me – she isn’t in great shape, either, although she’s not anywhere near 50!  I headed to the back of the house to put my bike away while Molly headed straight for Mama’s goldfish pond to get a drink. 

All of a sudden, I heard Molly screaming – that’s the only way to describe the sounds she was making – and screaming!  I ran to the pond, certain I would find a snake or something.  Molly was IN the pond, trying to get out, but falling back in each time.  She was drowning, and I couldn’t see why!  The pond is not deeper than Molly is tall around the sides, which is where she was trying to climb out.  I wondered if she was having some kind of seizure or something!!I ran over and reached in to grab her… and I began to be electrocuted!!!!!!!!!

Somehow the pond pump for the fountain was electrifying the pond!  It was only a matter of seconds, but it sure seemed like a LONG time as I jumped back and thought to unplug the pump.  I really give God the credit for giving me that thought – I don’t know how I realized I needed to unplug the pump.  When I got it unplugged, I was able to get Molly out of the pond.  She got away from me and ran under the house, but came obediently when I called her.  For the rest of the evening, I not only had a clingy Mama.  Molly wanted to stay in my lap all night long! 

I know this sounds funny to many of you – my Dannye Reigh can’t even hear the word “pond” now without going into paroxysms of laughter – but it was very traumatic for me!  I told Bill that it wasn’t just the thought of losing a beloved pet – it was the thought of having to stand by and watch her die, not being able to do anything about it!  I had the hardest time sleeping that night because I kept seeing her going under the water. 

You know the darnedest thing?  The goldfish and bullfrog in the pond were just swimming around as though nothing were wrong!!  Isn’t that weird??

Molly 001

Today I took Molls to the vet – we already had the appointment because of the suspected worms.  She checked out fine, none the worse for her traumatic experience.  We also found out the most wonderful news… Molly is already spayed!!  YAY!!  Another bit of good news is that her heartworm test was negative – unheard of for a 3 year old dog around here – and now she is on preventative.  Good job, Molls!!

After taking Molly to work with me, then leaving early to get her to her vet appointment, I had to get on home to pick up Daddy for his dermatologist appoint.  Did I tell you Daddy has this skin condition on his head?  Anyway, it has a name that I can’t pronounce, but cause itchy places, which he scratches until it is raw.  He gets steroid injections in each lesion once a month.  It is getting better, although he still scratches it all the time.  Dad and I had a long afternoon since after the appointment was a pharmacy stop and then a Walmart stop.  We were both tired when we got home!  Jeanne stayed with me a little while after we came home, which was so nice.  Since we kinda do shift work, we don’t get to spend a lot of time together!

I better go to bed now.  Bill is on the way home from Laredo, so I’m solo tonight.  I hope I’ve got him talked into stopping somewhere to sleep.  He can be stubborn, but I’m hoping common sense will override stubbornness!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Hard Day’s Night!

  1. ABAHM says:

    Lord bless you in the midst of all this!  Goodness.  so glad that your Molly is alright.  I hope Mama settles down for you again.  You are right about the distraction. That is one of the most used techniques we have seen at Grandpa’s home.  One lunch a bunch of the ladies were complaining away at their table, until one of the workers changed the subject to something upbeat, and they all went that way instead! 

  2. Abbiegirl says:

    Mrs. Petty, wow you had a lot tough few days, I’m sorry about the dog, and I’m glad she and you are doing ok.     can’t wait to see you next month!  

  3. Oh, my goodness – YOU could have been killed!  Praise the Lord that He led you to unplug the pump!  Oh, my – I’m sort of in horror over here at the potentially disasterous ending that could have been instead of the happy one it was!

  4. good grief, Mama! it just doesn’t end, does it?? i’m so grateful for the Father’s protection on all of you. let’s plan for uneventfulness from here on out, okay? :)ps. AJ said, “Can I have dose flow-ers? I wike dem! Dey so pwetty! Can I have dem? pweese?”

  5. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – These flowers are pretty, aren’t they, Arulai??  You should get Mama to let you color some flowers like these!!  Yeah, I agree, uneventfulness sounds pretty good right now!

  6. Oh my goodness! How traumatic! I would have been just as scared and upset. How horrible to have to see your pet suffer like that! I’m glad you were there to save her! I hope she is back to normal quickly and doesn’t have too much lasting trauma from the event. Bless her little heart. I’m glad you’re both okay.

  7. pettybunch says:

    @ABAHM – @Abbiegirl – @piecedtreasures – @sunshinejoy717 – @PrincessOfSeptember – Thank you all for your sweet concern.  I am blessed by your comments!I thought I should clarify about Dannye laughing at our traumatic experience.  Dan isn’t cruel – she wasn’t there, only heard about it second hand, and the situation just hit her funny bone just right!  I can just see a little smile tugging at Emily, too!  And Nathanael may have had to be picked up off the floor after hearing about it!  My kids have an extra-sensitive funny bone, I guess!!

  8. @pettybunch – heehee…well, only a leeeeetle one. a leeetle bitty one. :)okay, so i thought it was funny, too. it’s because i’ve been hanging around your son for so long. 🙂

  9. pettybunch says:

    @sunshinejoy717 – Besides that, can’t you just see your mom-in-law grabbing a wet dog from the pond and getting the shock of my life????  Bill told Rick my hair wasn’t curly before that!!

  10. @pettybunch – yep. i can see it…and HEAR it. and that is the funniest mental sound of life. 🙂

  11. billseye says:

    After NIna had her last trafic accident, her boss started calling her “Crash”. So guess what her new nickname is….SPARKYI love you Sparky!  /;^}

  12. pettybunch says:

    @billseye – I love you, too, Sleepy! 

  13. chix0rgirl says:

    Goodness, you’re quite the hero! That’s so very dangerous about the pond. I’m glad you’re both OK. 

  14. AuntGen says:

    You failed to mention that your husband has since removed the offending pump aparatus from the pond and is doing a thorough investigation to see why all this occurred.  Yay for sweet, protective husbands who know how to fix ANYTHING!

Leave a Reply

