Better Days…And Nights!


I hope last night is the beginning of a trend toward restful nights.  Tuesday night was a little better than Monday night, and last night was much better than Tuesday night.  Maybe we are on an upward swing!  Tuesday night, Mama had a minor melt down that was calmed relatively quickly.  I just wish we could get these incidents to happen – if they have to happen at all! – a little earlier in the evening! 

Yesterday I got home relatively early from work so Jeanne could go to her job.  Mama seemed much better than Tuesday, so I was hopeful right from the start!  She did have a good day, and we all napped a bit, which I needed badly.  At bedtime, Mama was ready to go, but is a slow-mover when it comes to getting ready for bed.  I got her in bed around 9:30, but I was watching the Astros (who finally won a game!!) and doing some computer work, so I stayed up another hour.  When I got ready to go to my room, Mama told me she didn’t want to go to bed.  Just moments before she was so sleepy she could scarcely keep her eyes open, but now she was up and not wanting to go to bed!  I just told her I had to go to bed, and that she would definitely go to sleep if she would go ahead and lay down.  Well, she did!  I heard her on the intercom quietly talking to herself, but in a quick moment she was quiet, and I was able to go to sleep!  NICE!!!!

No on to the reason I am living these days!!!!  In 3 short weeks, Bill and I are going to Minnesota to meet our new grandbaby, see our kids, and spoil Arulai!!!!  I am so excited about this trip because there are several things very special about it.  Of course, there’s the obvious – I cannot wait to meet Titus and see Arulai, Bo, and Emily.  

Bo and Titus Em and Titus

Em, AJ, and Titus  AJ, and Titus   

But one of the aspects of this trip that is so exciting to me is that Bill and I are traveling the 1200 miles up there ALONE!!!!!  Dannye is flying up the Sunday before to be with Emily while Nathanael is out of town on a business trip.  Bill and I will make the two day trip alone together. 

That thought is simply too wonderful for me to express right now!  This trip comes just 2 weeks after our 29th wedding anniversary, which of course is on Memorial Day weekend and can never be celebrated by just the two of us!  Boy, were we dumb to pick Memorial Day for our wedding day!  We’ve lived with it for all these years, but I still get frustrated when someone plans a family or important event for that weekend, and our anniversary gets put on the back burner once again!  Nobody’s fault but our own, though!

THANKSGIVING!!!! 125.jpg  

This year our anniversary weekend will be used preparing for another VERY important event in our lives – my Daddy’s 90th birthday!!  We are having a big shindig for Daddy – inviting family and friends to come to “Allen’s Acres” and honor this most special man on this amazing milestone in his life.  I am trying to get everything on my list done, and Jeanne, Dave, and Bill are working on their lists.  Amy is baking/decorating the cake, which will be incredible!  I have also gotten aid from my big sis who is too far away to help physically, but she simply can’t be beat for organizing an event!  Her advice in invaluable.  And this will be quite an event, as we are expecting around a hundred people. 

My brother-in-law, Mike, will be doing the BBQ, which we think is the BEST EVER!  He builds his own pits, and although the one he is building right now is not big enough for this job, he has one available that he previously built.  It is amazing – more like an outdoor kitchen than a BBQ pit! 

Rehersal and dinner 332.jpg 

For the next few posts, I am going to write stories that Daddy has been telling us for years and years.  I want them written down for “posterity”, and I’d also like my Xanga friends to know what an amazing man we have for our Daddy.  I have asked Daddy’s kids and grandkids to send me their favorite of Daddy’s stories to jog my memory, since there are so, so many.  So, stay tuned!

CD's for Pam & Watts 034   

I guess that better be all for today.  I have many errands to run after work – this has been a very slow day, hallelujah, so I was able to get on for a minute.  But it is almost time to leave and I need to close up shop.  Y’all have a blessed day, and just know that even the readers who never comment, but leave sweet footprints behind of their visit  are a blessing to me.  The comments are major “icing on the cake!”

God bless your day!!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Better Days…And Nights!

  1. maryhurlbut says:

    Praise God for simple and grand blessings! Your mom sleeping, your daddy’s  90th birthday and being married to your wonderful Bill for 29 years!

  2. AuntGen says:

    I am looking forward to reading your posts of Daddy’s stories, getting ready for his party, and the party itself.  I’m so glad you and Bill are going to have some alone time on your trip, and in the mean time, I’m praying for more “good nights” for you and Mama. (I thought this post needed some “icing”)  I love you!

  3. Bettyeboop says:

    I am so excited about Daddy’s party. Kim and family visited yesterday and I learned of their plans to attend. How great is that. Going to have one super family picture! By the way, I have done nothing but make a couple of suggestions and provided addresses. You, Jeanne and Dave are doing all the work. Oh, plus Mike, of course. Can’t forget the man who’s going to feed us. I love you and can’t wait to see everyone.

  4. It sounds like you have a lot of good things going on! I know you have to be *so* excited for your trip. How exciting to get to meet your little grandson!I hope the party for your dad is wonderful!

  5. ABAHM says:

    So glad to hear of Mama’s sleeping.  That was a great idea to just redirect her to go back to bed. Happy Anniversary coming up!  Yet another thing in common.  Our Anniversary is May 27th, coming up this week on Thursday.  We too often run into memorial day plans What a wonderful trip you have planned. Sounds like an exciting BIG birthday…I too look forward to your stories.

  6. auntkarl says:

    Yeah can you imagine having a Birthday on Memorial Day.HUMMMMMMM wonder who that was.?Can’t have a party cause everyone is out of town or something… Been that way for 21 years…poor kid.If I could do it again I either have him early or later not on that weekend both my kids were born on a holiday weekend. what a cruel joke………

  7. pettybunch says:

    @auntkarl – I think Missy”s date is worse than Kenny’s.  Most of the time, folks are just celebrating a day off on Memorial Day and love a reason to have a BBQ, but New Year’s Eve is not only a party night in itself, but it’s also so close to Christmas that it almost makes her birthday an afterthought!    I bet if y’all planned a big party, you’d have bunches of folks come to either of their days!  I kinow I would be there with bells on!

Leave a Reply

