Daddy’s 90th Birthday Party


The day we have been working toward for 6 weeks finally arrived this past Saturday!  My Daddy’s 90th Birthday Party!  Our family has been planning and working so hard to give Daddy a wonderful party for this very special birthday.  I am hoping to have more detailed pictures when I get Dannye’s, but I do have Bill’s photos.  Bill has begun visiting more than shooting lately at family events, so a few folks are missing from his camera.  He was probably visiting with them rather than taking their pictures!!  He loves our family, though, and they love him!

Anyway, Daddy was not very excited about the party at first.  He doesn’t enjoy being the center of attention, and I think he kinda dreaded it!  As the day came nearer, though, and more people began to RSVP, he began to be more and more excited!  Many family members committed to attending, and quite a few friends and neighbors as well.  When Jeanne made a final list after the party was over, she counted 75 folks!

Grandads party 016.jpg
Jeanne’s hubby Mike, did the cooking!

Grandads party 038.jpg

Grandads party 049.jpg
Jessi, my great-niece

Grandads party 113.jpg
Ava, another Great-niece!

Grandads party 065.jpg

 Grandads party 079.jpg

Grandads party 081.jpg

 Grandads party 110.jpg
Daddy’s “Old as dirt” Birthday Cake

Daddy was blessed by EVERYONE who attended, but one guest in particular simply made his day.   Daddy’s cousin Grayson, one of only 4 of Daddy’s generation remaining, was able to come out for the day!  Daddy was absolutely thrilled! 

Grandads party 068.jpg

Grandads party 072.jpg

Grandads party 075.jpg

There were also several surprise guests on Saturday.  The biggest one for me was my Tater and Will showing up from Florida!!  They just came walking into the house, Will saying, “We heard there was a party here!”  My heart nearly exploded!

Grandads party 050.jpg
Pamela and her Uncle Mike

Another surprise was my niece, Jennifer.  We had no idea she was coming!  Such a wonderful blessing.

The day ended with a last surprise guest – my cousin, Angelia and her hubby Lee.  They were the only representatives from my Mama’s side of the family – most of her family live in West Texas, many hours away from us.  I haven’t seen Angie in many, years.  What a JOY to see her come driving up!

I really want to speak of every one of Daddy’s guests, but just don’t have the time tonight.  I am hoping to write more when I get Dannye’s photos later this week.  Just know that the love and admiration shown to my Daddy at his birthday has my heart so full of joy and the blessing of seeing my Daddy “known in the gates.”  God is so good to us!

Pamela and Will had to drive home Sunday, but we were able to go to the airport together to drop Dannye off, then they had lunch with us.  I will get to see her at least one more time this summer, possibly 2!!!

Grandads party 159.jpg

Dan has gone to stay with Emily and the kids while Bo is on a business trip in California.  Bill and I will drive up on Thursday/Friday, and enjoy our kids and grandkids for a little more than a week!  We can’t wait!

I need to get off – Daddy can’t make his TV work! 

God bless your day!!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daddy’s 90th Birthday Party

  1. Abbiegirl says:

    We can’t wait to see you guys! we’re SO glad Dannye’s here!

  2. Everything was so wonderful! Can’t wait to see more pictures! : )

  3. ligsar says:

    It’s fun to say ‘grandkids’ plurally, huh?  Looking forward to seeing you all. 

  4. AuntGen says:

    What a wonderful day!  Like Amy, I can’t wait to see more pictures. 

  5. what a wonderful party!! i’m so glad Pam & Will were so creatively surprising. 🙂 such a highlight!!love you—can’t wait to see you!! three daaaaayys!!

Leave a Reply

