Sap Warning!!!!


The long trip home has begun.  Saying goodbye doesn’t get any easier just because I saw them in January, and will most likely see them again in August.  My heart aches every time.  I think I really identify with Sam in “Sleepless in Seattle” when asked what he is going to do [as he grieves the loss of his wife]:  Well, I’m gonna get out of bed every morning… breathe in and out all day long. Then, after a while I won’t have to remind myself to get out of bed every morning and breathe in and out…

I know it sounds silly, but the heartache is a bit like that.  Leaving them is so very hard, knowing how much Titus will change, even before August; how much of Arulai’s daily life I will miss; how many times Emily and I love to talk, even though we disagree occasionally, and how difficult it is to do that over the phone; how much joy I receive just by Nathanael walking in the door in the mornings or evenings.  That boy has the ability of making everyone feel absolutely special!

I guess most of my tears were cried last night after saying goodbye to Bo.  I hated to say goodbye to him – we didn’t see him as much as we did the rest of the family.  He had to work many days we were there, and he also had to be at work at 6:45 this morning. 

We had hoped to leave around that time, but it was obvious pretty quickly that our departure was going to be much later!!  The wonderful thing about our morning was the time spent with the babies.  Arulai thinks Nonnie, Papa, and Nee Nee are wonderful, and though Titus isn’t sure what to think about us, he did favor me with lots of smiles this morning.  He is the cutest thing! 

Arulai and I were able to get in a quick game of croquet this morning.  Dan took some pictures for me, but it will be a day or two before I get them up.  She doesn’t know how to play yet, but that’s okay – I’ve forgotten how to play myself!!  After lots of hugs and kisses, we said our final goodbyes and hit the road for home.  We did make a quick stop to say goodbye to Emily’s precious family – we love them so much! – as well as a stop for a non-teary hug for Nathanael at his workplace.

We are now in Iowa, looking out at the beautiful farmland, taking pictures out the window, and listening to Bill’s MP3 playlist.  Dan is reading, and I am trying to get my brain in gear for life back home.  We will arrive sometime tomorrow evening if all goes well.  I have missed Mama and Daddy, worried about Gen, and I think part of me will be glad to get back into my familiar routine.  There is something comfortable about familiarity, even if the familiar is difficult!

I think I will leave you with some photos of our day at the Como Park Zoo.  The ones I picked were of us on the beautiful carousel there, and a few others.  I didn’t upload any of just the animals because Arulai is more adorable than even the mustached monkeys we saw!!  There will be plenty of Titus soon, so no worries about favoritism here.  Titus just sleeps more than A.J. does!

mn zoo 009.jpg
When we first arrived at the zoo, Arulai, Emily, and Dannye (Nee Nee) rode the carousel.  It was soooo cute!

mn zoo 064.jpg
Nee Nee and Arulai looking at some animal – not sure which one.

mn zoo 072.jpg
Arulai loves to climb!  She really loved looking at the animals – here it was Zebras.

mn zoo 074.jpg
Such a cutie!

mn zoo 083.jpg
Emily looking after Titus – he was such a good baby all day!

mn zoo 113.jpg
At the end of our day, we went back to the carousel.  This time, Nonnie and Papa rode with Arulai.

mn zoo 188.jpg
What every proud Mama does when her adorable little girl is riding the carousel – video it for Daddy at work!

mn zoo 225.jpg
It’s time to get off – how sad!

mn zoo 250.jpg
Arulai found some pretty “lellow” flowers on the way out of the Zoo.

We are getting ready to stop for the night, just south of Kansas City.  God has kept us safe on our travels thus far, and we are ready for some rest.  Tomorrow is a bit longer drive, and none of us are looking forward to that part of it; but now that we’re this far, we are all ready to be home!  I hope your evening is a pleasant one!

God bless your day!

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sap Warning!!!!

  1. Mommy2Drew says:

    I hate the goodbyes. I live in MI and my family in GA and it is always so hard to leave and even harder for them because I take their only 2 grandbabies with me! Praying for a smooth return to familiarity and time to fly so you can see your babies again soon! πŸ™‚

  2. pettybunch says:

    @Mommy2Drew – You’re so sweet – thank you!

  3. I must admit, we went inside after y’all drove away and I cried my little heart out. It was so, SO wonderful to have y’all here. I miss you already!! Much, much love—and we’ll see you soon!!

  4. ABAHM says:

    Aww, so glad you had that sweet sweet time…but the parting is hard.  I am looking forward to Grandbabies, but I am hearing the difficulty of saying good-bye to them!  Our Heidi says she wants to be near me to have and raise them, so we will see what happens there. Love the pics with you and your girl on the carousel!  So fun to share the wonder and joy with them.

  5. SO, SO glad you got to go visit!!!! Can’t wait to hear all about it and see all the pictures! Love you!

  6. momstranz says:

    Nina, I’m sad WITH you.   No one here will EVER take the special place you hold in Arulai’s (and soon, Titus’s)heart.  She has a perfect “Nonny” and “Nee Nee” and “Poppa” nitch that can only be filled by you three. That will be true for Titus as well.   I think THAT love, among all else, was ABOVE AND BEYOND OBVIOUS!!!     OH, HOW SHE LOVES EACH OF YOU!!!  It is so beautiful to watch!  I’m so glad that you are her Nonnie.  May the days before your next visit ( or theirs ) feel short and sweet. I love you !           Pam

  7. pettybunch says:

    @momstranz – The amazing thing is the same is obvious about you and “D-Daddy” – Arulai just beams with excitment at the thought that Grandmommy is on her way!  I think that is the one thing that makes it even possible to drive away!  We are truly blessed to not only have the most precious grandchildren in the world, but we are so blessed to have each other!!Sometimes it is so hard to think about the future – it stretches before me with such uncertainty.  I have learned to just look as far as today, maybe tomorrow!  It helps…

  8. chix0rgirl says:

    Aw, you’re all such a sweet extended family, you make me sappy. πŸ™‚ The pictures are so adorable. Arulai’s hair got super duper long! Mrs. Petty, you’re looking very fit and glowing these days!

  9. pettybunch says:

    @chix0rgirl – Kat, thank you for noticing.  I’m 40 lbs. down, 25 more to go!  I’m really excited, but it has been slower than I’d like!  You ought to see Arulai’s hair, especially when wet – it goes way down her back!!  She is the prettiest thing, and oh, such a little performer!  I don’t like to say Drama Queen because her “drama” isn’t only when she is in trouble, or hurting – she’s a little performer all the time!  It’s GREAT!!!

Leave a Reply

