Now for a few details…


Life has been a bit of a whirlwind since coming home from Bo and Em’s house in Minnesota, so I haven’t had much time to write.  I am feeling so blessed in so many aspects of my life and I wanted to tell a bit about our trip, and about being back at home.

Bill and I were hoping to head out for the first leg of our trip early Thursday morning, but alas, my packing didn’t happen until REALLY late Wednesday night so we left a couple of hours later than we’d hoped.  We decided that we were simply going to enjoy our time together, and not get agitated about the hour.

MN trip

The trip up was BEAUTIFUL!  We had such a good time, and really did enjoy every mile together!  We stopped for gas at a small town in Iowa on the second day of our journey and realized it was the place where the Bridges of Madison County was filmed.  We only took time to see one bridge, but we did stop a a beautiful church turned welcome center/antique store to stretch our legs.  I found something I just had to have – an old wooden fruit crate!  There’s a story behind that, but it will have to wait for another time.  If you just can’t wait, watch the Andy Griffith Show.  You will eventually see my orange crate!

It seems we always see the most unusual things on our trips.  This trip we saw, among other things, a huge statue of David and Goliath being transported up north, and this…

MN trip 2

I was driving when we passed this truck, and I just laughed out loud.  I wish Bill had taken a view of the whole side – there were pig snouts poking out everywhere!

MN trip 0

We arrived in Minneapolis around dinner time Friday evening.  Arulai met us at the curb and flew into my arms!  Oh what joy!!!!!

 MN trip 3

When we got indoors, Emily came directly to me and put Baby Titus right into my arms!  What a precious moment that was! 

Nonnie and Ty.jpg

I know I said this before, but he is absolutely wonderful!  Seriously, I didn’t know for sure if I could contain myself!

Bo and Emily have some very sweet friends who live caddy-corner across the street from them – the same home where Bo lived while he and Emily were courting.  This couple had gone on vacation for a couple of weeks, and opened their home to us during our entire visit!  They have a lovely home, and we enjoyed it very much.  Since their home is just across and two doors down from the kids’ house, we walked back and forth.  It was so much fun!  I told Bill I almost felt like we were in Mayberry!  Arulai got a bit confused and thought we lived there, but we are pretty sure we got her straightened out before we left.  It was fun to pretend while we were there though.

I hope to tell a bit more about our stay, but it’s late and I really need some sleep.  I am going to leave you with some photos that Bill took in Minneapolis.  That was his vacation – taking a photojournal of the city!

MN trip 4
The Basilica of St. Mary

MN trip 5
The Mill Ruins

MN trip 7
The beautiful Stone Arch Bridge – my favorite, and I think Bill’s as well!

MN trip 6
View of the Lock and Dam from underneath the Stone Arch Bridge

MN trip 8
The Hennepin Avenue Bridge

MN trip 9
Another church – not sure of the name

MN Car Show 2
Bill also went to the Minnesota Street Rod Association “Back to the 50s” Car Show.  The above car is FABULOUS!!!!

MN Car Show
And since our granddaughter is all “pink with pink sparkles”, Bill had to take a picture of this car for her!  Isn’t it cute??

There will be more photos and stories of our trip forthcoming, but it’s nearly midnight and I hear Mama stirring in her room.  I’d better go check it out!

God bless your day!

 

 

 

About pettybunch

I am loved with God's everlasting love, and underneath are His everlasting arms - and I haven't gotten over it yet! I am also blessed to be married for over 36 years to the man of my dreams, and have 3 incredible adult children, an amazing son-in-law, a wonderful daughter-in-law, and SEVEN grandchildren: four precious granddaughters, three handsome grandsons - so far. I am a retired Home Educator, and loved every moment of it! We are empty nesters, and are endeavoring to embrace this new phase of life. God is so good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Now for a few details…

  1. Abbiegirl says:

    Sounds likea FUN trip here, we miss you guys already!  next time we would LOVE to spend more time with you, hope all is well at home! ❤ you

  2. Mommy2Drew says:

    What fun pictures!! I love the pig snout!! Too cute! Cant wait to hear more about your trip!! 🙂

  3. ABAHM says:

    Sounds like you had the sweetest time, and laughter too…pig snouts, oh my!  How wonderful to be able to live the small neighborhood life and enjoy your family.  Heidi said,” I just need to be near you when I have a baby”…so everyone was making jokes about that, you know it made me happy. We will see. Bill took some beautiful shots.  I love seeing new areas!

  4. AuntGen says:

    Though I may have already heard all the stories, I will love seeing the photo-log of your trip and adventures.  I’m so glad you and Bil had this chance to do what y’all do so well–just enjoy each other. 

  5. Bettyeboop says:

    So enjoyed your sweet post. You Ll Re ahead of me. I am stll waiting to see the pictures from Dad’s party. That was such a grand day for him. I’m so proud of the turnout. So happy you all had a great trip.lthe pics I’ve seen are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

